Game Over…Or Is It?

I’ve been the subject of great sport this week, but I’m still hanging on.  No, I haven’t been playing sports, but I found out what it’s like to be played.  By God, that is.

I always figured God had a sense of humor, but I never gave much thought as to what he did for fun.  Well, when I was young child, I knew God loved bowling – the frequent thunderstorms were God making strikes, I had been told.  I found out this week that His tastes in entertainment have changed.  In fact, if I weren’t so tired, I’d be laughing right now.

A couple weeks ago, I wrote about the “hard press” to get volunteers to lead a Cub Scout den.  On Wednesday, we had the Cub Scout Den meeting for this new, leaderless den (led by the dynamic duo of Trainer and Pack Coordinator).  Prior to the meeting, I had decided to volunteer, IF no one else took on the responsibility.  I prayed about it and came to the conclusion that any emotional damage I inadvertently do to these ten-year-olds  can be fixed with a few years of good therapy 🙂

Still, I was relieved when another mom began asking questions about the leader’s responsibilities.  I heaved a silent sigh of relief because I could still spend selfish hours making up stuff, er, I mean, writing stories and keeping up with my blog posts and reading.  I felt bad for this mom because once she nibbled on the high-pressure bait, they reeled her in fast.

Within thirty seconds, the two Scout volunteers handed her a scarf slide and began rattling off a bunch of stuff that needed to get done.  Poor woman never stood a chance. She looked a bit overwhelmed and I didn’t want her to bolt, like a frightened fawn would dart into the woods.  I told her I could co-lead with her so it wasn’t all on her.  I hoped this was enough to ease the burden enough for her to stay.

In retrospect, this could be where I went wrong.  Or rather, this is where God decided to have a little fun.

The next day, I received an email from her asking me to lead because she couldn’t work many of the activities around her job.  She offered to be the co-leader.  I had to have read it wrong; she wasn’t backing out.  I scanned the email again; yes, she was.

My heart fell:  Buyer’s remorse, I thought.  You know, like that feeling you have when you wake up the next day and wonder why in the world you bought that Christmas sweater that looked just like your great-grandmother’s afghan?

Oh.  You’ve never done that?  Well, uh, me neither.  Nope, I’ve never bought an ugly stitch of clothing in my life.  I was only kidding.  Ha.

I’ve learned two things this week:

1)     My poor son doesn’t have enough sense to know that he should be worried, not happy, that I am leading the den; and

2)    I’m not good sport; God really should get a Wii instead.

What about you – do you ever feel like life changes just to keep you on your toes?

24 thoughts on “Game Over…Or Is It?

  1. Carl D'Agostino September 18, 2011 / 1:13 AM

    It is an exhausting job. Never enough time. They all have problems. Mothers will let you down. You won’t have enough family or personal time. And in time you will enjoy it and be glad you did it.

    • jannatwrites September 18, 2011 / 10:02 PM

      I sure hope so, Carl. The only reason I’m doing it is because my son is so excited about the experience. I’m still working on accepting that my novel story writing is most likely on hold, but I still have hope that I can keep up with blog posting/reading. Am I optimistic? A little. Delusional? Absolutely!

      Thanks for your visit, Carl.

  2. Richard W Scott September 18, 2011 / 7:19 AM

    I know the feeling. When I joined the Fremont branch of the California Writers Club, and noticed they didn’t have a web site, I volunteered to run one for them. Within six months I was president of the club, runing 5 web sites, a member of numerous comittees and board, a technical adviser and the guy who runs the Open Mic Night. (Oh, and now service a second sentence…erm, term, as president.)

    It was like stepping onto a literary land-mine.

    And my novel? The poor manuscrips is whimpering in the corner and making little lost noises.

    • jannatwrites September 18, 2011 / 10:05 PM

      You are a busy guy, Richard! Let’s hope your second sentence doesn’t turn into “life without chance of parole.”

      Perhaps your manuscript and my stories should get together and commiserate their respective neglect?

      Thanks for sharing your busy life. It gives me hope that maybe I can do it after all.

  3. nrhatch September 18, 2011 / 8:41 AM

    That’s an UGLY sweater. 😀

    Good luck . . . Den Mother. Hope your son stays happy and that you enjoy the experience.

    • jannatwrites September 18, 2011 / 10:07 PM

      I know, it’s hideous, Nancy! I haven’t bought that particular sweater, but I have had several, “what on earth was I thinking?” purchases.

      I just got the training information today. I think I understand why no one else wanted to volunteer.

  4. suzicate September 18, 2011 / 1:20 PM

    Ha, kinda’ like what happened to me many years ago…and with two children I was involved in one position or another for ten years. Yes, it all started as den leader. And if your husband ever ends up being Cub Master/Scout Master, just remember the real work is all on the woman behind the man! Welcome to the wonderful world of Scouting, Seriously though, we have many lovely family memories involved with Scouting,

    • jannatwrites September 18, 2011 / 10:11 PM

      Oh my, SuziCate. Ten years….I can assure you my husband will never be Cub/Scout Master. He’s carefully staying on the fringe of my commitment here 🙂

  5. jeanne September 18, 2011 / 5:31 PM

    I hope you will end the year with more wonderful memories than regrets.

    • jannatwrites September 18, 2011 / 10:12 PM

      I hope so too, Jeanne. I feel overwhelmed right now, so the bright side is a bit dim right now, but I am waiting for the clarity that surely will come in time.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Widdershins September 18, 2011 / 7:39 PM

    ROFL – you couldn’t leave well enough alone eh? … OK, this is going to make an interesting series of posts though.

    • jannatwrites September 18, 2011 / 10:17 PM

      Yeah, I know, Widdershins. I’m smacking the palm of my hand on my forehead to the rhythm of stupid…stupid…stupid…

      Seriously, though – as soon as my panic subsides, I am hoping for at least a few good memories to come out of this. (I said “good” memories, not the cringe-worthy “wow, I can’t believe I said/did that” brand of memories!)

      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  7. Connor @ Citiesofthemind.org September 19, 2011 / 1:31 AM

    Just never forget to have a first aid kit on hand. I once had a cub scout at my own job cut himself bad enough to need stitches———–with an APPLE PEELER! Have fun teaching them how archery 😉

    PS I am sure you’ll be fine. Think of it as research for writing.

    • jannatwrites September 20, 2011 / 11:15 AM

      I love Archery! The good news is that I can delegate who teaches what – I don’t have to do all the teaching. In fact, the Den Leader training encourages parents to get involved. Little do they know….

      Thanks for stopping by, Connor!

  8. Tori Nelson September 19, 2011 / 7:46 AM

    Is it bad that I am totally for steering my kid away from Cub Scouts? I’m all for wilderness (mostly when I’m nowhere near it).

    • jannatwrites September 20, 2011 / 11:16 AM

      You’re funny, Tori! I think Cub Scouts is a good thing for him….I’m just not sure about me leading it. (Blind leading the blind?)

  9. Carol Ann Hoel September 19, 2011 / 12:40 PM

    I’m sure you’ll be the best Cub Scout leader ever. Yes, life can change on us. Blessings to you, Janna…

    • jannatwrites September 20, 2011 / 11:18 AM

      I’m not expecting to be the best. All I want is to get them through all of the activities so they earn their achievements. I’m glad you were able to visit today, Carol.

  10. Debbie September 19, 2011 / 1:42 PM

    Looks like you’re stuck now, Janna. Oh well, at least you’d kind of resolved it in your mind ahead of time anyway. And God has an awesome way of leading the right person to the right task at the right time, so enjoy the ride! Like you said, it could turn out better than you expect — now, just keep your son involved at least until your tenure is over (then you’ll have an excuse for backing out!!)

    • jannatwrites September 20, 2011 / 11:19 AM

      Yep, I’ve done it now, Debbie. I just finished the online portion of the training last night and I’m so worried I’m going to mess it up. I’m counting on God to give me strength!

  11. pattisj September 19, 2011 / 5:58 PM

    Life always keeps us on our toes, if we’re living it, anyway. I say, look at this opportunity for much more fodder for blogs and your novel! I was going to suggest SuziCate’s wisdom on this, but I see she got here before I did. I can attest to the fact that she has survived, and thrived. You, too, will be great at this. I just know it.

    • jannatwrites September 20, 2011 / 11:21 AM

      I just hope to survive the experience, Patti. I haven’t worked with kids (except my own) so this will be a challenge, for sure!

    • jannatwrites September 23, 2011 / 8:46 PM

      Awwww, cute video – thanks Jen. I’ve been MIA for a few days, but I survived the first meeting. (And I don’t think they hated it, so that’s a good thing.)

Got an opinion? Share it!

