Breakfast For No Reason

I hear their voices,

They drop my name.

This time, they aren’t fighting –

They’re collaborating.

Often their plans

Are up to no good.

I should get out of bed,

But I lay there instead.

The microwave buttons

Beep as they’re pressed.

That’s enough;

I must see what’s up.

Several minutes later,

I tiptoe from my room,

The silence disquieting –

I know they are hiding.

They choose not to scare me,

But lead me to the table.

I’m touched by their sweetness,

But still, I’m suspicious.

I ask, “Why?”

They say, “No reason.”

Confused, I pause:

It’s too early for Santa Claus.

They Made Me Breakfast For "No Reason"

Do kind gestures make you suspicious?  Has someone done something unexpected and nice for you lately? 

15 thoughts on “Breakfast For No Reason

  1. 1storyeveryday September 15, 2011 / 6:39 AM

    I get suspicious of gestures like that, but it also sometimes depends on the person from whom the gesture is coming! 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 15, 2011 / 8:30 PM

      Thanks for visiting, 1storyeveryday!

      I agree, the person doing the gesture does make a difference on how it’s received. With it not being a special occasion, I wondered what they wanted from me 🙂

  2. nrhatch September 15, 2011 / 10:06 AM

    Do kind gestures make you suspicious?

    It depends on where the gesture comes from ~ from BFF, nope. He makes kind gestures every day. From bin Laden . . . yup, I would be suspicious.

    Kids are inherently loving beings.
    They can also be narcissistic sneaks.

    So . . . did you figure out whether breakfast this morning for “no reason” was really for “no reason”? Or are they buttering you up for something? 😆

    • jannatwrites September 15, 2011 / 8:45 PM

      Do kind gestures make me suspicious? With regular people, no – not really. With me kids? Oh, yeah!

      “Narcissistic sneaks” – too funny 🙂 They can be so sweet, so that’s not what surprised me. It’s just that they normally do it in ways that don’t involve investments of time (like a hug or a colored picture.) They fixed me breakfast on Mother’s Day, but that was a special day.

      They still haven’t asked me for anything and I don’t see anything missing or broken. Strange. I did find out later that they both wanted a sausage muffin, but we only had one muffin. Still, they normally would’ve just fought over the one (or shoved it back in the freezer.) Maybe this was the motive behind it – nothing more. I’ll be on the lookout just in case 😉

  3. Tori Nelson September 15, 2011 / 10:11 AM

    I would’ve been SO suspicious. Of course, I’m also the girl who greets compliments with “Shut up. Are you making fun of me?”

    • jannatwrites September 15, 2011 / 8:48 PM

      I feel bad for admitting this, but my first thought was, “Did they drop it on the floor or something?” My second thought was, “Who cares? I’m hungry!”

      Your compliment greeting is hilarious, Tori. If someone tells me, “Nice shirt,” I’m all defensive wanting to know what’s wrong with it. People really should be more careful when complimenting 🙂

  4. Debbie September 15, 2011 / 10:49 AM

    Aww, this is just too sweet!! I love those random moments of kindness — they solidify my faith in humankind or something like that!

    • jannatwrites September 15, 2011 / 8:55 PM

      Random acts of kindness aren’t as common as they should be. Moments like that are what great memories are made of. Thanks for reading, Debbie!

  5. Carl D'Agostino September 15, 2011 / 11:30 AM

    Wouldn’t minds having these goblins terrorize me in the morning.

    • jannatwrites September 15, 2011 / 8:56 PM

      I don’t know about that, Carl…their normal morning routine is arguing/fighting until we wake up and tell them to knock it off. This was a pleasant departure from the norm 🙂

  6. pattisj September 15, 2011 / 10:04 PM

    That is so sweet. I know you felt really special, once you got over questioning their motives. 🙂 I do get blessed with wonderful little surprises from time to time.

    • jannatwrites September 15, 2011 / 10:09 PM

      It was a nice weekday surprise, Patti! Although I did feel kind of bad for doubting their intentions 🙂 Good surprises are always welcome…

  7. Widdershins September 15, 2011 / 11:00 PM

    Definitely have some suspicions as to motives, but would enjoy the muffin anyway … and wait for the other shoe to drop. Just think in 10 years or so, when they ask for something, you can say, “I KNEW it!!!”

    • jannatwrites September 16, 2011 / 6:21 PM

      You’re too funny, Widdershins! The only problem is that ten years from now, I won’t even remember this happened 😉

  8. Aligaeta September 16, 2011 / 8:00 AM

    Kindness is contagious. Your raising fabulous kids. This morning Melissa brought me coffee in bed.

Got an opinion? Share it!

