It’s The Little Things

not quite this hot…

The last few weeks have been filled with broken records for high temperatures.  The average high temperature for the month of August was the hottest on record at 109 degrees.  (The high temps this week are expected to “cool down” to around 104 degrees.  Almost sweater weather.)

For the last month, my face has glistened (this is a gentler way of telling you I’ve been sweating like a pig).  Thanks to my leather steering wheel, the palms of my hands have first degree burns.  Last week my rear view mirror fell off my windshield while my car sat in the sun all day at work.  Yep, that’s right, the adhesive simply melted.  Then, on Saturday, we got our electric bill for August.  Ouch.

I’ve never been more thankful that we don’t have our 3,000 square foot dream home because I’d have to figure out how to comfortably strap Ziploc bags of ice cubes to my body.  Or, I could bring in some water and cedar planks to turn the house into a sauna and charge neighbors an entrance fee that is a fraction of what the hoity-toity Scottsdale resorts charge.  (This is a subtle way of acknowledging that we couldn’t afford to run the air conditioning).

Okay, I think you get the idea that it’s been hot.  Really hot.  The heat is difficult for the critters in the desert, too.  A couple weeks ago, the news reported that the poison center had 70 calls about scorpion stings in a 24-hour period.  The extreme heat has been driving them indoors.  I’ve cohabitated with scorpions before and they are not nice roommates.

Last week, I discovered something else that likes our air-conditioned house:  ants.  Tiny black ants have taken over my desk.  I’ve smashed dozens of them with my thumb, but they still terrorize me.  I understand that “terrorize” may sound a bit dramatic, but after ignoring my imagined feeling that something was crawling on me, I finally looked at my arm and found they were on me.  Then I swore I could feel them on my scalp…and my back.  Yes, I stand by the statement that they are indeed terrorizing me.

My husband listened to me whine and then he set about searching the baseboards for any pin-sized holes that the ants could use to get in.  I looked for the congregation of ants that would give away the path they took to my desk.  We both came up with nothing.

We either have ninja ants, who have mastered the art of stealth movement, or these ants are Star Trek fans and have built their own transporter so they can re-materialize on my desk.  Either way, I’m certain their intent is to complete my drive to “crazy”, picking up where the kids left off.

These pesky ants aren’t unlike life itself.  Each day, there are so many little things that, by themselves, wouldn’t faze me a bit, but when I take them all together, moving forward can be difficult.  Just when I think I’ve resolved an issue, several more take its place.  Giving up isn’t a viable option, because I’d be covered in ants…I mean, buried in problems.

Sometimes, I think I’d rather deal with one big thing than dozens of little things.  Unless, of course, that big thing is a scorpion.

 How do you react when little things change your plans? 

18 thoughts on “It’s The Little Things

  1. Debbie September 6, 2011 / 6:47 AM

    Janna, we MUST be related! I seem perfectly capable of breezing through the big stuff, but I tend to fall apart with the little things. Perhaps it’s because the big stuff isn’t an everyday occurrence while the “ants” often are. That photo of the scorpion takes me back to when I lived in Texas and found one in my living room — EWWWW!

    • jannatwrites September 6, 2011 / 8:56 PM

      Ha! You’d think we were long-lost relatives, Debbie!

      It is shocking when you first see a scorpion in your living space. I haven’t seen one in our house, but we saw 3 in an apartment we lived in years ago. My husband got a black light, but I’ve asked him not to tell me if he finds any scorpions. Ignorance is bliss (at least until I step on one…)

  2. momsomniac September 6, 2011 / 8:01 AM

    I tend to get sidetracked when things don’t go as planned. As for the ants…when I lived in Florida sometimes they’d turn up in CLOSED food containers. There IS an explanation that makes sense…but I’m sticking to the Transporter theory.

    • jannatwrites September 6, 2011 / 8:58 PM

      It has to be the Transporter, Momsomniac…how else could they get in a closed container???

      Little things can cause big problems with plans, that’s for sure…

  3. nrhatch September 6, 2011 / 2:18 PM

    Most of the time, I go with the flow . . .

    But if too many “ANTS” appear all at once on the horizon . . . I might have a mini melt-down (you, know, like the rearview mirror on your car).

    • jannatwrites September 6, 2011 / 9:17 PM

      I don’t believe it, Nancy – you’re too level-headed to have a mini melt-down 🙂

      We need to figure out how to get rid of those little things (ants and problems!)

      • nrhatch September 7, 2011 / 8:10 AM

        Believe it. 😉

        They are mini-meltdowns these days.
        Instead of boulders, they are mere pebbles in the path.
        Big enough to stumble over.
        Not big enough to stop me in my tracks.

        And I realize that the best way to eliminate them is by changing the focus of my thoughts.

        Aah . . . that’s better. 😎

        • jannatwrites September 7, 2011 / 10:10 PM

          Mellow is the way to go. I hope I continue to learn the art of refocusing my thoughts. Today was a day of “little things” and I’ll just say, I have room for improvement 🙂

  4. Carl D'Agostino September 6, 2011 / 2:22 PM

    I’ve been bit twice. Both times swole up into golf ball of gooky stuff. Why did stupid Noah bring a pair on the ark?

    • jannatwrites September 6, 2011 / 9:18 PM

      Hahaha! Let’s blame it on Noah, Carl 🙂

      As for the two bits – ouch. Thankfully, we haven’t been bitten, and I’d like to keep it that way.

  5. SuziCate September 6, 2011 / 3:57 PM

    I don’t like ants so much either (or extreme heat for that matter), but the mere thought of scorpions sends shivers through my body!

    • jannatwrites September 6, 2011 / 9:21 PM

      Scorpions scare me, too, SuziCate. I was hysterical when I nearly stepped on one getting out of the shower years ago (in that apartment that had a scorpion problem.) Thank goodness we haven’t seen any in our house. Maybe we’re not looking hard enough??

  6. crumbl September 7, 2011 / 11:08 AM

    And to think, some people actually eat them alive!

    • jannatwrites September 7, 2011 / 10:11 PM

      Eww. I can’t imagine. I don’t think I could do it even if they were dipped in dark chocolate.

  7. Widdershins September 8, 2011 / 12:30 AM

    Sometimes the littlest steps are the hardest.

    • jannatwrites September 8, 2011 / 8:35 PM

      You got that right, Widdershins 🙂

  8. pattisj September 8, 2011 / 11:50 AM

    Wow, I hope you don’t get a chill with that drop in temps! A neighbor once stated that our neighborhood was built on an anthill. (That’s why we’re a few feet above sea level). Thankful we don’t have scorpions to deal with here, now if we could get rid of those pesky hurricanes…it would be paradise!

    • jannatwrites September 8, 2011 / 8:40 PM

      Scorpions, hurricanes – I guess we all have our trials, Patti 🙂

      I have encountered many varieties of ants, and I’d rather have these annoying little black ones because they don’t seem to bite. (Although, I’d most prefer to not have them in my house at all!)

Got an opinion? Share it!

