Awards Are Sweet, But Life Is Sweeter

Debbie, at Musings by an ND Domer’s Mom recently passed along the Irresistibly Sweet Blog Award to me.  I’m not into amassing awards (good thing, ‘cause I’d be a miserable failure), but I do like to play along with these challenges.

The “rules” for ‘accepting’ this award are slightly more difficult than “breathe in and exhale” but not as daunting as proving the Pythagorean theorem. Here are the rules:

  1. Thank and link back to the person who gave you the award;
  2. List 7 random, little-known facts about yourself; and
  3. Present the award to at least 1 other sweet blogger.

Thanks for thinking of my blog for this award, Debbie.  I appreciate the opportunity to play along.  Lookie there, one rule completed and crossed of the list already – and I didn’t even break a sweat.

Okay, seven random, little-known facts about myself.  *Gulp.*

I guess I can’t quit now.

Without delving too deep into my Cave of Secrets, I was able to come up with seven things that are definitely random, are probably unknown (there’s a reason for that, you know) and may even be a little interesting (or revolting, depending on how your look at them).  Here go the random facts:

  1. I don’t like getting fresh-cut flowers.  I get sad when they die and can’t bear to throw them away.
  2. I never earned any athletic awards (you can’t win if you don’t play) but I did receive two medals in music competitions playing the clarinet in Junior High and High School.
  3. I once ate a five-pound tub of chocolate chip cookie dough in less than a week.  (I was pregnant and purchased the dough to support a charity, so it was for the greater good ;))
  4. I’ve never sent a text message.
  5. I have almost no depth perception (which may explain my lack of athletic ability and the number of tires I ruined learning how to drive.  Darn curbs.)
  6. I can’t add without counting on my fingers.
  7. Speaking of digits on my hands, my left thumb is double-jointed.  Proof below.  Can you do that?  My right thumb can’t.
Proof that I'm a freak?

I don’t want to exclude anyone from the fun.  Here are the choices:

  1. If you’ve done this challenge before, leave a comment with a link to your post – I’d love to read your seven facts.
  2. If you want to accept the award and do your own blog post – great!  Can you leave a comment with a link so I can read it?  I’m nosy.  (There’s a bonus fact for you.)
  3. If you don’t want to do your own post, but are willing to share seven facts about yourself, you can do so in a comment to this post. (Pleeeeaaase….did I mention I’m really nosy?)
  4. Finally, if you only participate when called on, I’m singling out five blogs, in random order.  (Only one person participated on my last open challenge – thanks Momsomniac.)

Thoughtstomull  

Escape Route

Momsomniac

2blu2btru

I know I Made You Smile

Spirit Lights the Way

Oops.  I guess that was six…I ran out of fingers.

I’m all about choices here.  What’s your poison?

24 thoughts on “Awards Are Sweet, But Life Is Sweeter

  1. SuziCate August 30, 2011 / 8:39 AM

    No, my thumb can’t do that either! I once worked with a girl who could make her knees pop in…she’d sometimes park in handicap places close to the mall and walk like that to the mall entrance so no one would call her out on not having a handicap! It was really freaky to watch!

    • jannatwrites August 30, 2011 / 8:12 PM

      That knee thing sounds painful, but it must not have been that bad since she could walk that way. I think I’d rather just park farther away and walk normally 😉

      Thanks for stopping by, SuziCate!

  2. nrhatch August 30, 2011 / 11:14 AM

    I have no depth perception either ~ due to amblyopia in my right eye. The lazy bugger! 😉

    Having just accepted the COWAbunger award yesterday, I won’t do a post about this award. But to satisfy your curiosity . . . since you asked . . . here are some things about me that I shared when receiving similar awards in the past:

    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/03/22/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2010/06/21/preferences-predilections-propensities/

    BTW: I think that you are SWEETER than me ~ it’s probably from eating that 5 lb. tub of cookie dough . . . for a good cause. 😀

    • jannatwrites August 30, 2011 / 8:21 PM

      Thanks for participating by sharing the links, Nancy. I read both of them and my curiosity is officially satisfied 🙂

      If I am sweet, it is surely because of the cookie dough. However, I don’t think I’m sweet enough, so perhaps I should eat more? (I did notice an order form in our lunchroom at work today – it’s for cookie dough. There was a peanut butter cup dough that looked yummy. Could be a sign?)

      • nrhatch August 31, 2011 / 7:38 AM

        Yes . . . definitely a sign!

        “Eat M’OR Cookie Dough!”

        • jannatwrites August 31, 2011 / 8:03 PM

          Better than the Chik-Fil-A slogan 😉

  3. Debbie August 30, 2011 / 11:23 AM

    Thanks, Janna, for linking back and playing along! I was fascinated by your seven random facts — I played clarinet, too, but NO WAY can I do #7! I’ve known people who were double-jointed, but I’m not one of them.

    • jannatwrites August 30, 2011 / 8:30 PM

      I loved playing the clarinet – I would practice for hours in high school. I dont’ get why my thumb can do that, and I honestly don’t remember how I figured out I could do it. Thanks for the opportunity to play along, Debbie!

  4. Pearl August 30, 2011 / 1:17 PM

    How weird!! I can do it with my left thumb, too, but not my right…

    (I never tried that before, btw. I just did it because you said to and I’m suggestible like that. :-))

    Pearl

    • jannatwrites August 30, 2011 / 8:32 PM

      Yes! Someone else who has this oddity (finally.)

      Good thing I didn’t suggest something dangerous, Pearl 🙂 I wondered if anyone would see the picture and decide to try it…I know I would have!

      Thanks for visiting. I feel better knowing someone else has my hands!

  5. pattisj August 30, 2011 / 1:17 PM

    I’m with you on # 1, 2 (except the part about the clarinet) & 5. My thumbs do tricks, but not that one. Yes, this proves you are a freak. In a good way, of course. 🙂

    • jannatwrites August 30, 2011 / 8:40 PM

      Maybe someday you’ll share some of the tricks your thumbs can do, Patti. I’m a curious one, you know!

      I’m glad you think I’m the good kind of freak. That’s the nicest thing anyone’s told me all day. (That should tell you something about my day ;))

    • jannatwrites August 30, 2011 / 8:42 PM

      Why thank you, Widdershins. Usually the response is “eww” followed by the person trying to do it. “Awesome” is definitely a new response to this oddity 🙂

  6. knotrune September 1, 2011 / 2:04 AM

    With you on 1 and 4! I got a new phone, oh years ago now… and decided to send a text message to my mother. I just wanted to type ‘hi mum’ but would it let me? No! I mean, how simple is this message? But it kept turning it into ‘hi nun’. Now my mum is a superior mother, but not a Mother Superior! So I gave up. I don’t like it when inanimate objects think they know better than me! 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 1, 2011 / 7:36 PM

      Hi, Nun…I love it 🙂 I can see how that would turn you against texting.

      I’ve heard that texting is the way to communicate with teens, but I’ve got several years before the kids get there. Until then, I’ll use the ‘old fashioned’ phone or email!

      Thanks for sharing your funny texting story, Knotrune. I needed a laugh this evening 🙂

  7. momsomniac September 2, 2011 / 8:43 AM

    Thanks for including me! I will definitely play….soon.

    • jannatwrites September 2, 2011 / 8:52 PM

      Whenever you have time, Momsomniac. I’m looking forward to your seven random facts 🙂

  8. 2blu2btru September 2, 2011 / 10:42 AM

    Gee, thanks! I’ll do this tonight when I get home. It’s my very first award!

    • jannatwrites September 2, 2011 / 8:53 PM

      Well, this is long overdue, then. Thanks for playing along 2blu!

  9. dorcas September 5, 2011 / 7:33 PM

    No 4 … wow!!! 🙂 . I’ve never done this… but guess I will now 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 6, 2011 / 8:51 PM

      One of these days, I may text. By that time, there will be a new craze that I’m ten years behind in embracing 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

