7 Links Challenge

Nancy over at Spirit Lights The Way recently participated in the 7 links challenge and invited me (and twenty or so other bloggers) to join in.  I normally sit on the sidelines and enjoy reading others’ picks.  However, I’m procrastinating on a couple of projects right now, so I thought it was the perfect time to accept the invitation.  Hey, painting baseboards and writing an emotional short story will wait another day, right?

Last night, I read enough of my old blog posts that I have an even deeper appreciation for those who regularly visit and comment.  I don’t have the most relevant posts in the world, but I’m so glad you come back anyway.  Thank you 🙂

1)     A Beautiful Post:  Think Like A Child

Inspired by a school assignment my older son brought home, this post expressed my love of a child’s innocent and optimistic view of life and my own desire to think like a child.

2)     A Popular Post:  What a Caesar Salad Taught Me About Writing

Making a Caesar salad with horseradish and serving it to the owner of the restaurant I worked at ended up teaching me 5 things about writing (and life in general.)

3)     A Helpful Post:  You Talkin’ To Me? (Dialogue in Fiction) & You Still Talkin’ To Me? (More Dialogue in Fiction)

Last fall, I took a manuscript writing class.  In a pair of posts done in January, I shared some of the great information I learned about dialogue.

4)     A Controversial Post:  Lies We Tell Ourselves

The post itself wasn’t highly controversial, but I like this post because commenters disagreed and debated points *nicely* and ended up not with name calling, but a cyber-handshake.

5)     A Surprisingly Successful Post:  What Does Mortification at a Job Interview Have to Do With Writing, Anyway?

I got more than I bargained for when I shared the embarrassing story of my first job interview.  Meant to be a laugh for my handful of readers, it garnered a wider audience when it was Freshly Pressed.  It was a blushing good time!

6)     A Post That Didn’t Get The Attention It Deserved:  Hidden Talent

This category proved to be a difficult one for me because I can’t say that any of my posts deserve attention.  I linked to this post because it was a fun one to write.  By the end of this post, you will have a clear understanding of who’s boss – me or my cat.

7)     A Favorite Post:  It’s (Not) All About Me

On the 1 year anniversary of my blog, I shared seven things I discovered about myself and my blogging journey.  It’s my journey, but it’s not all about me.

Your turn!  This is an open invitation to anyone who made it through this post.  I would love to see what you do with the seven link challenge.  If you only have time for a couple links, that’s good enough for me!

If you want to join the fun, choose posts you have done which fit into the above categories (or make up your own if they don’t fit.)  In your new post, link back to your selected category posts and leave a link to your new post in a comment below.  Don’t forget to name other bloggers you’d like to participate! (Or you can cop out, like I did ;))

12 thoughts on “7 Links Challenge

  1. nrhatch August 18, 2011 / 9:26 AM

    Yay! I’m off to check out your links. 😀

    • jannatwrites August 18, 2011 / 8:27 PM

      My goodness, Nancy – I didn’t expect you to re-read all of the posts! I considered myself lucky that you came back after reading them the first time 😉

    • nrhatch August 18, 2011 / 8:34 PM

      I enjoyed reading them all again . . . a little walk down memory lane.

      • jannatwrites August 18, 2011 / 8:51 PM

        Thanks for taking the time for that walk, Nancy. I appreciate it!

  2. clarbojahn August 18, 2011 / 2:20 PM

    My favorite was #5 like everyone else’s. Congrats for being freshly pressed. That one deserved it. 🙂

    • jannatwrites August 18, 2011 / 8:42 PM

      Thanks, Clar. I had fun writing that one (even if I could feel my cheeks redden just by recalling the interview.)

  3. pattisj August 18, 2011 / 4:42 PM

    I read some of these and am flagging it to come back and read more (when I get the laundry hung). Now you know who is boss at MY house, the buzzing dryer threatening to wrinkle hubby’s work shirts. I enjoy visiting your blog, Janna. You’re fun!

    • jannatwrites August 18, 2011 / 8:43 PM

      Ew, I’d hate to report the dryer, Patti. It does have the power to make things difficult for you, though.

      I’m glad you stopped by to read some of the posts…and thanks for thinking I’m fun…my kids don’t think so most of the time 😉

    • JannatWrites August 19, 2011 / 7:26 PM

      Wow, you work fast, Momsomniac! I’m glad you took me up on the invitation. I’ll stop by to check your choices out tonight.

Got an opinion? Share it!

