I Have To Know How It Ends…Or Do I?

When I watch a movie, I commit my attention until the credits roll and I read even mediocre books to the back cover – because I must know how it ends.  When someone mentions a “surprise” for me, I become obsessed with knowing what it is (and then feel a little let down when the mystery ends.

In recent months, we’ve had Harold Camping and his end of the world prediction that wasn’t, the earthquake and tsunami in Japan, and now, earlier this week, I saw an article drawing attention to a red lake in Texas as another sign that world is coming to an end.  (Interesting that no one cites politicians who divide themselves by political party (risking the global economy) rather than working together as a sign of trouble.)

Throughout the centuries, there have been great advances in areas of medicine, biology and science.  As man increased his knowledge, he got a taste of what it’s like to alter life – or even create life (by cloning).  God gives earthly life and takes it away, but man mucks with the process more with each passing year. Are we not satisfied with this power to prolong life?

Apparently not.  We seem to be obsessed with predicting when the world will end.  If we figure it out, wouldn’t we then try to “fix” it? To alter the course that God intended?  It’s like we can’t stand this one secret God has kept:  when will life on earth end?

Our curiosity and obsession with knowing when end will come is much like a child’s irrepressible desire to know their Christmas gifts before unwrapping them on Christmas morning.  It’s the drive that makes them search under beds, rummage through closets and check car trunks for unwrapped presents.  Oh wait, maybe that was just me…

The book of Revelations in the Bible tells us what the end will be like.  We know the “surprise” but we just don’t know when it takes place.  To me, it is like God’s cryptic puzzle and I don’t have a decoder.  I have difficulty separating metaphor from literal.  I always thought this made me less intelligent.  Maybe it just means that I’m content with what will be, whether it happens tomorrow, next week, or when I exhale my final breath.

What about you – do you follow the end of the world claims?  Would knowing for certain the end was near change you in any way?

21 thoughts on “I Have To Know How It Ends…Or Do I?

  1. Damyanti August 7, 2011 / 1:12 AM

    I do follow those claims, but only because they’re entertaining…and make interesting stories and myths. if the world is to end, it will, no matter how much I worry about it– is my stand 🙂

    • jannatwrites August 9, 2011 / 7:59 PM

      I agree, Damyanti. Some of the predictions are entertaining, but I find it scary how many people do buy into them. I am (unfortunately) a worrier, however, the “end” isn’t on my worry radar, either.

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Damyanti 🙂

  2. dorcas August 7, 2011 / 1:24 AM

    Love the way you have thrown out your thoughts Janna.. I don’t beleive that we can in any way know when the world will end. But secrets don bother me at all.. WHen someone tells me they have a secret, I’m more than happy to let them keep it. 🙂

    • jannatwrites August 9, 2011 / 8:03 PM

      I’m with you on normal secrets (I’d rather not have the burden of having to carry someone else’s secret). My hubby used to taunt me before our anniversary, birthday, or any holiday, really about a surprise he had for me. It would drive me nuts. The perfect cure for secrets is children, however. They can keep their mouths shut for about twelve seconds 😉

      It looks like we are in agreement on they mystery of the “end”, Dorcas.

  3. Carl D'Agostino August 7, 2011 / 3:17 AM

    There are far too many places where suffering and despair rules the day. For them a little part of the world ends each day as hope evaporates as people perish under these conditions.

    • jannatwrites August 9, 2011 / 8:09 PM

      Without hope, the world is a dismal place, indeed. Hope depends on how people handle suffering and despair.

      As always, thanks for sharing your thoughs, Carl.

  4. Richard W Scott August 7, 2011 / 6:16 AM

    I don’t believe in “the end of the world” in the conventional sense.
    Most people, when they say it, actually mean the end of mankind, and that is a much more immediate possibility. In point of fact there is very little we human beings can do to harm the earth.
    Yes, we can (and do) mess up our own environment, but that harkens back to ending our own existance which is pretty much a mathematical certainty. (Something like 98+% of all species that have ever lived on our planet are extinct.)
    Being a science fiction buff, I’d love to believe that we will persevere, and one day take our place in the galaxy, and then in the Universe, but the probability of snuffing ourselves out before we get the maturity to expand outward from earth is very high.
    Doom and gloom? Perhaps. But it seems to be the way things go for all life on this planet.
    I say, make the best of what you’ve got today. There is no guarantee of tomorrow.

    • jannatwrites August 9, 2011 / 8:20 PM

      Interesting perpsective, Richard. I agree that our choices in daily life do have an impact on our world and the changes are cumulative over the years. In this respect, I agree that many species will become extinct. It is gloomy when thinking down that path, but hope can light our way. I agree that tomorrow isn’t a guarantee. Keeping that in mind is actually a good thing, so that we can appreciate the present.

      Thanks for your thoughtful comment. I enjoyed reading your viewpoint!

  5. nrhatch August 7, 2011 / 8:10 AM

    Que sera, sera
    Whatever will be, will be
    The future’s not ours to see
    Que sera, sera

    • jannatwrites August 9, 2011 / 8:21 PM

      Brings back memories, Nancy. I remember playing that song on an old organ when I was a child. Of course, at the time, I didn’t recognize the truth in the words…I do now 🙂

  6. J. P. Cabit August 7, 2011 / 9:47 AM

    I’m of the camp (not Camping…) that says that we can’t predict the end. But if it doesn’t end soon, God only knows what will become of it. 🙂

    • jannatwrites August 9, 2011 / 8:27 PM

      Well, Seph, good to know you’re not of the “Camping” camp 🙂 Sometimes it seems like things can’t get worse, but they always do. God only knows…

  7. pattisj August 7, 2011 / 2:03 PM

    I don’t give “end of the world” claims much attention, there is a name for those who claim to know–false prophet.
    No, you weren’t alone on searching for Christmas gifts. My cousin won the prize for always knowing what she was getting. I liked the element of surprise, and the anticipation of Christmas morning.

    • jannatwrites August 9, 2011 / 8:36 PM

      My parents were very good at hiding, so I often came up empty-handed. They were also masters at disguising gifts. It was a fun game guessing if it was a “sweater and nuts and bolts” or a “knit shirt, dictionary and nails.” The surprise on Christmas morning was nice, but the thrill of the hunt was great, too 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by, Patti!

  8. Debbie August 7, 2011 / 5:01 PM

    I firmly believe the End will come, but we’re not supposed to know when. God has reserved that for Himself, probably to spare the worriers. I kind of enjoy a good surprise, though! And, because we know the End will come eventually, we’re called to live expectantly, as if the End might come today.

    • jannatwrites August 9, 2011 / 8:39 PM

      Nicely put, Debbie. I’m a worrier and I can forget about the “when” because we already know the “if.”

  9. carol Apple August 7, 2011 / 6:07 PM

    Hello! This is my first visit to your blog and I like what I see. I do not want to know the exact date the world will end. I am grateful for the verse that says “No man knows the day nor the hours…” Even if the day and the hour were able to be known, most people wouldn’t believe it anyway. According to the Bible and also to my own gut feeling, it will be a glorious time for those on the right side of salvation and potentially very unpleasant for those who aren’t. I think the new heaven and the new earth sounds wonderful and exciting, but fear for those who may not be there. It’s too big and scary a prospect for my finite mind and I prefer to leave in God’s hands. What will be will be….

    • jannatwrites August 9, 2011 / 8:53 PM

      Hi, Carol! I’m glad you stopped by and decided to share your thoughts.

      I hadn’t thought about it before, but you’re probably right – people wouldn’t believe it anyway. Even in Jesus’ time, many didn’t believe he was the Christ. And, with all the false prophets that claim to be the voice of God, it is not likely that I would believe the claims myself.

      I agree – the new earth sounds glorious and scary at the same time.

  10. Barb August 8, 2011 / 9:32 AM

    I like the idea of the end of the world as we know it implied in the Maya and Hopi prophecies (and the R.E.M. song)… we’re hitting the bottom, so things can only get better, right? As for the apocalypse or armageddon or whatever you want to call it… I don’t think it will happen and even if it will, there’s nothing we can do about it (unless we’re the ones blowing up the planet, of course. I sure hop God stops us before we self-destroy). I try to live in the present and what will be will be.

    • jannatwrites August 9, 2011 / 9:01 PM

      Your comment about God stopping us before we self-destroy makes me view world politics like sibllings fighting over a toy. Before the kids pummel each other, the parent must separate the children. I think god will step in; I don’t think self-destruction is His plan.

      I agree that living in the present is the way to go (as long as it’s not going wild and crazy.)

      Thanks for sharing your view, Barb 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

