Do You See Elvis’ Face On My Toast?

As a child, I had way too much imagination packed into my scrawny body.  I’m surprised I made it into adulthood without health complications brought on by the frightening tricks my mind played on me.

In elementary school, a friend scared the wits out of me when she insisted that a man watched us from a nearby hilltop.  We were on the playground with a hundred other kids, but she had me convinced that (1) there was a man – whom I couldn’t see; and (2) he singled us out to stalk.

She kept her fun going when we were at her house that afternoon.  She peeked out her window and (easily) had me believing she saw him.  I was nearly hysterical by the time my parents came to get me.  (In case you’re wondering, we didn’t stay friends long.  After sharing she had supernatural powers, I decided she was the whack job – not me.)

In junior high, I swore the popping and creaking of our settling house was in fact a deranged madman who planned to attack us as we slept.  My ears even heard footsteps on the carpet (coming closer to my room, of course).  Eyes opened wide, I saw nothing but blackness.  With shallow breathing (and very dry eyes) I waited, unable to move.  Oddly enough, I always fell asleep and managed to wake up unharmed in the morning.  Perhaps it was chloroform.

image via Wikihow

Luckily, my body grew into my imagination.  Instead of my imagination prowling the night like a famished tiger, age has tamed the beast to behave more like a house cat.  Although still fierce at times, it is mostly cuddly and fun.  I don’t miss the tiger, that’s for sure.

Rather than dwelling on frightening scenarios, my imagination finds the unusual in the ordinary.   I see ninjas with machetes in our walls’ texture and Elvis’ face on my toast.  When I look at clouds, I see puppies, rabbits, clusters of balloons or faces. Dead tree trunks take on the form of animals.

This one looked like a turtle with its front legs on the trunk: 

I saw an antlered animal’s head peeking above a log: 

At first, I attributed these sightings to remnants of my childhood imagination.  Now that I think about it, it could just mean I need new glasses.

What things have you seen that aren’t?  Is it imagination or poor eyesight? 

23 thoughts on “Do You See Elvis’ Face On My Toast?

  1. Carl D'Agostino August 2, 2011 / 6:21 AM

    Oddly shaped trees and twisted roots with these images are common but only if you have special eyes. Recommend practice on clouds.

    • jannatwrites August 2, 2011 / 10:19 PM

      Studying cloud shapes is so much fun. I play the game with my kids – they’re pretty good 🙂

  2. SuziCate August 2, 2011 / 6:34 AM

    If you need new glasses, so do I! I see both the turtle and the animal head! When I’m hiking I see all sorts of images that aren’t what they appear to be!

    • jannatwrites August 2, 2011 / 10:20 PM

      I’m glad I’m not the only one, SuziCate. There must be something about nature that likes to make us pause and take a second look.

  3. Richard W Scott August 2, 2011 / 7:06 AM

    I think the ability to recognize patterns in that way is a very good ability. I have it myself, and wouldn’t have it any other way.

    Another habit, much like the visual version, is what I call creative listening. I can’t tell you how often I’ve overheard outragious statments from people… statements they never made, but which send me off in wonderful directions.

    • jannatwrites August 2, 2011 / 10:26 PM

      I like that term – creative listening. Unfortunately, I don’t have that one, but it sounds like it provides plenty of inspriation for you, Richard! You never know what will spark a story…

  4. Debbie August 2, 2011 / 10:02 AM

    I do this too, Janna! Are you sure we’re not related?? As a kid, I saw flaming rabbits on my closet door and just knew the “boogy-man” lurked beneath my bed (I checked before I hopped in, every night!). Now that vivid imagination helps me write, crafting scenes and characters, tangled plots and story lines. As for your photos, the top one does look like a turtle, but the bottom looks to me more like one of those nozzles you attach to a garden hose so the water sprays out!

    • jannatwrites August 2, 2011 / 10:32 PM

      Maybe we are long-lost relatives, Debbie 😉

      Flaming rabbits? That’s almost as scary as the boogy man! I had to check my closet and under my bed before I could sleep at night, too.

      I guess those years of terror paid off, right? My imagination has a lot of miles on it, but I hope it will last through at least a few stories!

  5. nrhatch August 2, 2011 / 11:46 AM

    I see the turtle . . . and the antlers.
    You should have added a photo of your toast! 😉

    There’s a lady who collects potato chips that contain hidden images ~ including the Virgin Mary. She thinks that chip has supernatural powers.

    • jannatwrites August 2, 2011 / 10:37 PM

      It’s funny how the angle affects the picture. When I got closer to the trunk or moved to the side, I couldn’t see it all.

      Sorry, no Elvis. I don’t mess around with my food (especially breakfast.)

      Not sure what to think about collecting chips. I wonder if it’s the girl from my elementary school 🙂 With my luck, someone would eat them and I would lose my supernatural powers.

  6. chlost August 2, 2011 / 11:57 AM

    Wait-you mean that is NOT a turtle?

    • jannatwrites August 2, 2011 / 10:38 PM

      I thought it looked obvious, too…but my husband looked at me like I was nuts when I told him about it. (Believe me, I know that look…I get it often.)

      Thanks for stopping by, Chlost!

  7. momsomniac August 2, 2011 / 1:31 PM

    It’s not a turtle. It’s a dinosaur! RUN!!!!!!

    • jannatwrites August 2, 2011 / 10:41 PM

      A dinosaur would make for an interesting hike, that’s for sure 🙂

  8. pattisj August 2, 2011 / 6:58 PM

    I see myself ten pounds lighter, but I’m pretty sure it’s my imagination. I could see the images of which you spoke. You have an artist’s eye.

    • jannatwrites August 2, 2011 / 11:00 PM

      You’re too funny! I see myself ten pounds heavier….but I’m afraid it’s not my imagination this time 😉

      I’m glad you could see the ‘animals’ too, Patti!

  9. Widdershins August 2, 2011 / 8:49 PM

    Did anyone notice the ghostly spirerwebby thing in the background of both pictures?

  10. jannatwrites August 2, 2011 / 11:02 PM

    I have to admit, I didn’t look that closely. I think it could be the light shining through the trees, but it does look strange. (Or it could be the amateur photographer who doesn’t know what she’s doing!)

    I’m glad you stopped by, Widdershins 🙂

  11. jollof August 3, 2011 / 12:50 AM

    I enjoyed reading this post. I just got my glasses last week – but I’m still seeing things like you do (perhaps I need a stronger prescription). Anyway, I see the giant turtle humping the tree trunk too in that pic, and I’m the Cloud Shapes champion 😀

    • jannatwrites August 3, 2011 / 8:54 PM

      Hey, congrats on the new glasses…I hope they work better than mine. How can you be the Cloud Shapes Champion when I am?!

      Only kidding. I just stare at clouds for fun 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by, Jollof.

  12. dorcas August 3, 2011 / 2:51 PM

    I think imagination is awesome… My craze leads me to think ‘what would have happened 1000 years ago at this spot’. at every beautiful place I see. I imagine trees, cavemen, wild animals… The list goes on.

    • Richard W Scott August 3, 2011 / 3:16 PM

      Dorcas
      I’ve often done the same thing. Now and again I’ll pick up a pebble when I’m in the mountains or the woods, and wonder if another human being has ever held, let alone seen that particular rock.
      I wonder what my neighborhood will look like in a 100 years, and what humans will be like in a thousand.

    • jannatwrites August 3, 2011 / 9:39 PM

      I’ve done that too, on occasion (usually when I’m visiting a place with a history.) You could write some great stories going along that train of thought, Dorcas 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

