I Wondered: “Have I Lost It?” Then I Remembered: “I Never Had It.”

As I pondered what to write about on this Tuesday, I trashed every idea that came to me.  Busy life; done that…remodeling project; not relevant or entertaining…laundry; that dead horse has been beat beyond recognition and should rest in peace.  I did find a funny picture I’ve had in my ‘rainy day blog’ file (it hasn’t rained in a while) but it showcases the third-grade-boy level of my sense of humor.  What to do, what to do.

“Have I lost ‘it?’” I wondered.  Then I laughed, because the question assumed I had ‘it’ in the first place. 

The ‘it’ to which I refer, is that certain quality that makes a blog post entertaining and memorable (the absence of the word ‘interesting’ in this description is intentional.  Too lofty of a goal, I’m afraid.)  Entertaining is good.  Enough.

True, I would love to be able to write about any subject and have people gush about its significance, like when someone tells a vocalist they can sing the phone book and it would still be captivating.  It would be nice to write about something as mundane as quilting processes of 2-ply and 3-ply toilet tissue and keep everyone on the edge of their toilet seats, but that’s a tool I don’t have in my shed.

All right.  Third-grade-boy humor it is.  Yahoo “news” has used the same picture for two different articles – December 10th and April 5th.  Cropping is a fabulous tool which would’ve prevented me from choking on my tea.  I’m calling my lawyer.  Oh yeah, I don’t have one…

 Put on your elementary school hats – do you see anything ‘off’ in this picture?

I’m sorry this post is much like eating a bowl of cane sugar for dinner (gritty with no nutritional value whatsoever.)  I’ll serve chocolate next time.

18 thoughts on “I Wondered: “Have I Lost It?” Then I Remembered: “I Never Had It.”

  1. Tori Nelson July 26, 2011 / 6:15 AM

    Wait. Is eating bowls of sugar a bad thing? I don’t know, Janna. From the title to the post this was pretty stinking entertaining 🙂

    • jannatwrites July 26, 2011 / 9:13 PM

      Well, Tori…it’s only a bad thing if there’s no chocolate 😉

      Thank you for being so nice. Maybe I feel ‘off’ because it’s still July. I dunno. I’ll see soon enough!

  2. Patty July 26, 2011 / 9:52 AM

    I’m really slow I don’t get the “off” part of the picture. Maybe a 5th grader could help me? I don’t any of those age around here lately.

    • jannatwrites July 26, 2011 / 9:16 PM

      I’ll give you a hint: Look at the bottom of the picture below the handshake. Ian Poulter (on the left) is carrying some kind of bag (I think) and it looks like….well….

      Sorry, I can’t go on. I’m embarrassed that I still laugh when I see the picture. Maybe I’ve been spending too much time with my kids?

  3. nrhatch July 26, 2011 / 11:35 AM

    Bwahaha!

    And . . . yes. You do have “it.” 😀

    • jannatwrites July 26, 2011 / 9:22 PM

      Caught it, huh? I don’t know why this pic still cracks me up. Next thing I know, I’ll be asking someone to ‘pull my finger.’

      No. Never.

      I appreciate you saying I have “it”, Nancy…now I just have to believe it 🙂

  4. Maimoona Rahman July 26, 2011 / 12:42 PM

    Oh don’t worry, if the ‘it’ is nowhere to be found, then it’s probably off on a holiday and will be back in a jiffy.

    ‘It’ can’t do without you.

    • jannatwrites July 26, 2011 / 9:24 PM

      There are no holidays for “it. I only ask “it” to be present on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Sundays. Four days off!! I want that schedule. If “it” can’t handle three days, “It’s” fired!

      Uh oh. It’s gone. Now what am I gonna do?

      Thanks for stopping by, Maimoona!

  5. pattisj July 26, 2011 / 5:19 PM

    I slipped off the edge of my toilet seat and went for a swim! LOL You’ve got “it,” so flaunt it!

    • jannatwrites July 26, 2011 / 9:32 PM

      Aw, thanks Patti. I hope the water wasn’t too cold 🙂

      I’m not good at flaunting anything, but if I’ve got “it” I’ll give it a shot!

    • jannatwrites July 26, 2011 / 9:35 PM

      Thank you, Widdershins 🙂

      I don’t see much of “it”, but I’ll take your word for it. (I’m sure your eyes are much better than mine, anyway!)

  6. Kavita July 26, 2011 / 11:23 PM

    Girl.. I dunno what more talent you could asking for! You seem to have it all!! This one had me hooked, and totally cracked me up! So I would call it captivation AND entertaining 🙂

    And “it” that we usually refer to, is overrated anyway.. What say?! 😉

    You keep writing, J…. you ROCK AT IT!

    • jannatwrites July 27, 2011 / 9:17 PM

      Oh, I’m gonna keep writing, Kavita. Whether or not anyone reads it is another story!

      Thanks for your suppuortive comments and for visiting when you can. I appreciate it 🙂

  7. crumbl July 28, 2011 / 2:43 AM

    I just assumed he was holding his suit jacket in his left hand, but I can see where the puerile mind of a grade 3 boy could go “there”. 🙂

    Your blogs are entertaining, JT, and interesting enough to keep me (and many others) coming back. Let’s see … today’s Thursday … new blog! Woohoo!

    You write your blog with a voice that speaks to others, whether it’s your fiction or your observations on life. I write mine as self-indulgence. You appeal to an audience. I appeal to an audience of one.

    You keep the faith and keep doing what you do so well.

    • jannatwrites July 28, 2011 / 8:50 PM

      Thanks for your nice words about my blog. I’m a bit concerned that you actually seem excited for the next post. Are you normal? (Wait, it’s not polite to ask that is it….I’m going to go back and read my post about manners deficiency.)

      You call your posts self-indulgent, but I enjoy reading them. So, technically, your audience is larger than one (I suspect there are other readers, too :))

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting…I appreciate your visits.

  8. dorcas July 29, 2011 / 1:16 PM

    I see it .. I see it 🙂 🙂 🙂

    But Janna, I should say, that you definitely have ‘it’. You writings sure keeps me entertained and thinking ..

    • jannatwrites July 29, 2011 / 11:28 PM

      You’re very sweet, Dorcas – thank you! I’m feeling a bit off, but perhaps I’ll catch my balance soon 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

