I Can’t Resist…

A good book sale!

I heart books!

There are so many other ways I could have finished that sentence, but none ring as true.  I say I can’t resist a good clothing sale, but the truth is I can – and I have.  I used to say I couldn’t resist a shoe sale, but my shoe collection is (thankfully) dwindling.  I say I can’t resist dark chocolate, but I – wait a second…that one is true – I can’t resist dark chocolate 🙂

I have to confess that I was getting a little nervous about this writing post because I am writing this late on Wednesday night to post on Thursday.  Twenty minutes ago, I had no idea what I would write about, but I saw a post on Cah4el’s blog that inspired me.  (Thanks a million, Carol!)

Carol described a book that sounded interesting to me (what’s not to adore about love, intrigue and suspense?) I’m seriously bummed that Shadowed in Silk won’t be released until September.  Near the end of her post, Carol wrote that the author would be interested to know what attributes we look for in a novel.

Earlier this week, I ordered eleven books from Barnes and Noble after I received an email with “clearance” and “75% off” in the subject line.  Two words that always command my attention when they are in the same sentence and pertain to a product I am interested in buying.  (Note to any marketing people out there:  Bath and Body Works got me with the same words three weeks ago.  It really does work.  Please don’t email me…)

I thought it would be fun to list the books I bought and my reason for choosing them.  These books may be wonderful, or they could be a disappointment – I don’t know.  But they all had certain characteristics that made me click “Add to Bag.”

In a Perfect World (by Laura Kasischke) – the story description itself on the back cover didn’t grab me.  This sentence piqued my interest “…a novel of married life, motherhood, and the choices we must make when we have no choices left.”  I want to know more about these circumstances and tough choices.

The Book of Love (by Kathleen McGowan) – I love novels that intertwine historical and present-day stories.  In this one, a present-day journalist is searching for the Book of Love (a Gospel written by Jesus) that was said to be in the possession of “an eleventh-century warrior countess who was secretly married to a pope.”  This is like no story I’ve ever read and I’m really excited to read this one.

The Lucky One (by Nicholas Sparks) – I’ve never read a Nicholas Sparks novel (gasp!) but I did watch The Notebook and bawled like a baby (in a good way.)  I like a story about how fate guides our paths in life, and in this one, the main character’s brushes with death lead him to the love of his life.  Sappy?  Maybe, but I shop at Costco and have plenty of tissues handy 😉

The Scarecrow (by Michael Connelly) – This is just a good old-fashioned mystery/suspense.  A journalist out to discover whether a 16-year old drug dealer is innocent of a crime isn’t an unusual plot.  It’s an author I haven’t read before, so I decided to give it a try.

White Oleander (by Janet Fitch) – The story is more depressing than my normal fare (nothing upbeat about an eleven year old going through the foster care system after her mom ends up in jail.)  The “journey of self-discovery” and the positive reviews (and the fact it was $2.99) prompted me to try it.

Shelter Me (by Juliette Fay) – This is another sad, but hope-filled story as the main character grieves the death of her husband and finds strength in those around her.  The price was the deciding factor in trying this one.

Second Opinion (by Michael Palmer) – I liked the main character:  A female doctor diagnosed with Asperger’s Syndrome as a child, who now works with Doctors without Borders.  This sentence piqued my curiosity even more:  “One woman must confront a conspiracy of doctors to uncover an evil practice that touches every single person who ever has a medical test.”

Another Mother’s Life (by Rowan Coleman) – I wanted to find out what happens when two friends, who were torn apart by betrayal 15 years earlier, now live in the same town again.  The betrayal is that one friend eloped with her best friend’s boyfriend.  I’m curious if they can get past that and be friends again.

Blue Heaven (by C.J. Box) – Can’t resist a nail-biting thriller 🙂  In this one, two kids witness a murder and become hunted by the murderers.  The Publishers Weekly review helped:  “…handles a multitude of characters, accents and shifting points of view…”  I’m always up for finding examples of different writing techniques.  I’ll see if this one is good or not.

Breakneck (by Erica Spindler) – After reading the description on this one again, I’m not really sure why I chose it.  The Publishers Weekly review wasn’t complimentary and I’m not sure if the pair of woman detectives will be unique or turn out to be the novel form of Cagney and Lacey.  (For those young ‘uns who’ve never heard of Cagney and Lacey, click here and Wikipedia will explain it to you.  I’ve just showed my age again, now haven’t I? <sigh>)

Woman in Red (by Eileen Goudge) – Another story that weaves together past and present.    I want to know the story behind the woman in the portrait, the forbidden WWII era wartime romance, and the secret that is to be uncovered.

I’m feeling giddy with anticipation as I await the arrival of my newest purchases.  (Never mind that I have nowhere to put them.  I’ll figure that out later.)  This was a fun exercise because I’ve never examined why I’ve purchased books before.  Although, some of my previous picks have caused me to wonder, “What was I thinking?”

Can you resist a book sale?  Have you ever purchased a book that made you ask “Why??”  Is there a book you absolutely love?  Let’s talk books, okay?

28 thoughts on “I Can’t Resist…

  1. SuziCate June 30, 2011 / 7:08 AM

    No I can’t resist a book sale, and I always keep a “wish list” on my amazon account…and of course, I peruse B & N as well! Your selections sound intriguing,

    • jannatwrites June 30, 2011 / 7:47 PM

      I’m glad I’m not the only one, SuziCate. I can’t afford to buy full-priced books, so I check them out at the library, or purchase them on sale. I’ve had a few that I’ve been able to share with several friends who enjoyed them as well.

  2. pattisj June 30, 2011 / 7:32 AM

    I love the used book sale my daughter’s library holds! There is something for everyone, and at really great prices.TONS of books. I also like wandering the aisles of bookstores. It sounds like I need to get hooked up with B&N online! I do get email from Borders…
    Too many good books to mention. I like your “good idea” picture. 🙂 That, and looking at the stack of books, brightened my day.

    • jannatwrites June 30, 2011 / 7:50 PM

      Barnes and Noble gets me because they have free shipping on $25 or more. That’s easy! The used book sale sounds great, too. There aren’t any used bookstores in my area. I know of one fifteen miles away, but I don’t like dealing with the traffic to get there 😦

      Thanks for stopping by, Patti.

  3. Tori Nelson June 30, 2011 / 7:50 AM

    Depressing as it may be, White Oleander is BRILLIANT! I think you’ll love it. I have been known to tear through some bargain racks outside our local book store. I’ve purchased more $2 flops than imaginable, but also managed to find some great ones, too. The Syringa Tree by Pamela Gien and When Madeline Was Young by Jane Hamilton are wonderful books that barely cost me a thing!

    • jannatwrites June 30, 2011 / 7:59 PM

      I had a friend tell me there was a movie made, but the book is way better. So, I’m definitely curious 🙂

      Thanks for sharing a couple of titles, Tori. I’m going to look into them to see if they might be something I’d like, too.

  4. Carol Ann Hoel June 30, 2011 / 8:17 AM

    I rarely buy more than one book at a time, but I love books. In fiction I read mystery and suspense. I LOVE mystery and/or suspense that include a love story. Bonus! (Shadowed in silk, historical fiction, contains suspense, mystery, AND love and faith, all in one book.)

    I read non-fiction that relates to my faith in God. I sometimes choose by author that I know I like, but lately I’ve been reading based on recommendations of people I respect. I’ve read a lot of good books since I bought my Kindle. I may do a series of book reviews soon.

    I’ve found that my Kindle has given me such a great advantage, not only in pricing, but in shipping charges. I’ve now discovered that good e-books are not to be judged by their price. I’ve bought two recently, one fiction (Shadowed in Silk) and one non-fiction (Pain in the Offering). Both of these were very inexpensive, and both were very much worth the read! Also, for me getting to a book store is a challenge. I mostly shop online. I love my Kindle! I never dreamed I would like it so much. And it saves me money. E-books are generally cheaper, never more expensive, than paper, and your desire is fulfilled in 30 seconds. Click, download, read!

    Thank you for this delightful post, Janna. I’ve enjoyed sharing my recent book reading experiences. Blessings to you…

    • jannatwrites June 30, 2011 / 8:09 PM

      I like all of the elements that you do, Carol. I checked the Kindle price on Shadowed in Silk and the price is about what I paid for many of my paper ones. My hubby has wanted to get me a Kindle for a long time but I’ve resisted because the ebook prices I’d seen weren’t that much less than paper. I may give in and do it before the end of the year (between what you’ve written and what SuziCate has written on her blog, I do want one now :)) I’m taking a trip with a friend in February and a Kindle would be nice.

      I’d love to read your book reviews because I’m always looking for good titles to add to my reading list. Now if only I could get more time…

      Thank you for taking the time to share some of the books you’ve enjoyed. I appreciate it!

  5. crumbl June 30, 2011 / 10:01 AM

    Somewhat like you, JT, LRHG never met a chocolate she didn’t like. Like you, I prefer dark chocolate.

    She garage/yard sales weekly and brings home other peoples’ crap (for which she’s paid them to make it our crap), but she does find some good books on occasion, among other things.

    My addictions tend to be more expensive … least costly is guitars, followed by cars, followed by LRHG. Can’t resist a Little Red Haired Girl.

    I used to buy books … now, I have … a library card. Works for me, and the books don’t clutter up the place.

    I agree with Carol Ann that ebooks are convenient, and I never have to dust them or pack them if I move. Hard drives or DVDs are cheap like borscht for storage. Unfortunately, I don’t have a Kindle, as I want very much a copy of Jackie Papandrew’s new ebook, “The Desperate Dad’s Guide to Getting Some” (shameless plug … finish your new book, and I’ll shamelessly plug it too!)

    My reading tastes tend to differ as well, but I’m always interested to discover new authors, so I’ll definitely look into your list. Some I know, some I’ve read, some appeal.

    Book I love? Valentine Davies’ “Miracle on 34th Street” First book I ever read. Book(s) I hated … too many to mention. Almost anything by James Michener … rather lick dust off the window sill than endure his endless monotonous drone. The dust has better colour, texture and flavour than his writing, and it doesn’t go on forever. The only two words I ever want to read by James Michener are “The End”!

    Have fun with your new purchases. Report back with your impressions.

    • jannatwrites June 30, 2011 / 8:21 PM

      Compared to your “likes,” books are a great bargain, Crumbl 🙂

      I also have a library card, and use it from time to time. The problem I have is that they don’t group books by genre – it’s just alphabetical by last name. So, if I don’t know specifically what I want to read, I can be there for hours just looking. I don’t have that kind of time. Thanks for the warning about Michener. I’ve never read his work, but a friend has (and concurred with your opinion.)

      The ‘shameless plug’ cracked me up. When/if I get myself in gear and finish up that next novel, I’ll let you know 🙂 Maybe I should do a follow up post after I’ve read a few of them…something to think about.

      • crumbl July 1, 2011 / 5:17 AM

        Dunno if you have it where you live, JT, but I can go online, browse the catalogue, reserve books, request new titles, order music CDs, DVD movies, access research databases, take my notebook in to the library and hook up to the net via their free wifi service. I love the library … amazes me when people don’t exploit it. Phenomenal resource for me. Everything free and at my fingertips.

        • jannatwrites July 2, 2011 / 4:37 PM

          I admit I haven’t spent too much time on their website, other than to search by a title our author, so I can’t say if they have category searches or not. I’ll need to check that out. (After I check out some of the suggested titles from the comments on this post!)

          The library is a great resource. I love going there (so do the kids so I usually have company!)

  6. Carl D'Agostino June 30, 2011 / 11:27 AM

    For me it’s time to read the great classics I never read. Hey, $1.50 at the book exchange – can’t beat it.

    • jannatwrites June 30, 2011 / 8:24 PM

      $1.50 – now that’s a price I like! Since I’d love to be a published author one day, I feel ashamed to admit that I would never pay $24.99 for a hardcover book. Sorry. I’ll wait for the paperback every time.

      Enjoy the classics, Carl 🙂

  7. clarbojahn June 30, 2011 / 4:17 PM

    Like many I have more unread books here at home than space. There is a whole wall of shelves filled with the classics in my basement that I plan on reading one day. Now on the eve of my grand childs visit I take out Lisa Scottoline’s “Think Twice” from the library.
    No, I can’t resist book sales either. I love books. My gift for my birthday is going to be a Nook so I won’t pile up more books. I hear that the Nook and Kindle are great for storage. 🙂

    • jannatwrites June 30, 2011 / 8:28 PM

      I read a novel by Lisa Scottoline recently. I’m pretty sure it was called “Look Again” and if I remember correctly, I did enjoy it. I hope you like the book you chose.

      The small size and large storage of the e-readers are definitely an attractive benefit. I feel myself swaying and my resolve melting 🙂

      I’m glad you stopped by, Clar!

      • clarbojahn July 3, 2011 / 3:14 AM

        “Think Twice” was great! I finished it in two days because I couldn’t stop reading. I lost sleep because I didn’t want to fall asleep before I finished it. Now I can be the good Grandma because my Grandson is visiting and I won’t have my face in a book. I’ll play with him instead.

        • jannatwrites July 3, 2011 / 9:09 PM

          I’m glad you enjoyed the book, Clar. I’ve added it to my list of reads garnered by this post. I’m sure your grandson is happy you’ll be paying attention to him instead of your book 😉

        • clarbojahn July 4, 2011 / 5:05 PM

          He’s found a computer game called ‘MIndcraft” that holds his attention. I can hardly get him to eat. We’ve gone biking, picnicing, fishing, and reading aloud but what he likes most is the computer game.

        • jannatwrites July 4, 2011 / 7:57 PM

          At least you’ve been able to pull him away from the game for some activities. Sounds like fun, Clar!

  8. nrhatch June 30, 2011 / 6:12 PM

    Looks like some good picks, Janna.

    At this point, I don’t buy many books, especially novels, because I know that I’ll only read them once. I usually borrow them from the library.

    White Oleander was the FIRST book I gave myself permission not to finish. After slogging through 50+ pages (feeling like I was reading through gauze), I returned it to the library with great relief.

    But I know plenty of writers/readers who loved it.
    There is no such thing as a book that suits all readers.

    • jannatwrites June 30, 2011 / 8:36 PM

      Interesting comment, Nancy. Now I’m curious about how I will react to White Oleander. The funny thing about that book, is that for some reason, B&N placed a discount on it so that it was actually FREE. So, if I hate it, I really didn’t lose anything.

      My library has a limited selection of titles, so that’s why I tend to stock up at clearance sales. (The cost ended up being an average of about $4 per book.) The library is the most cost effective, though!

      The thing about opinions is that there is no right or wrong…and I doubt it’s even possible for a book to exist that everyone likes. Maybe I’ll like the novel, or maybe not. I’ll let you know!

  9. jollof July 1, 2011 / 9:57 AM

    Truth be told Janna, I’m not much of a reader (though I tend to read blogs with ease in comparison to books). That said, I’ve borrowed about 5 books, one of which I just finished 2 weeks ago (yay me!). The book is titled, ‘Dinner with a Perfect Stranger’ By David Gregory – A fantastic read (and that means a lot coming from the Anti-book reader).

    Blue Heaven sounds interesting. I wonder if it’s available in E-book format. Off to google that. Laterz!

    Nice post by the way…

    Your subrcriber,

    Jollof

  10. jannatwrites July 2, 2011 / 4:42 PM

    Thanks, Jollof! I’ve added that title to my list. If a non-book enthusiast is hooked by a novel, it is one I am curious to read.

    I have a friend who used to be an anti-book reader, but I got her just the right book and she reads a little more often now. She doesn’t devour them nearly as fast as I do, so I tend to over-stuff her with reading material 🙂

    If you read Blue Heaven, I’d be curious to know what you think.

    Thanks for taking the time to visit and share your comment, Jollof.

  11. Connor Rickett July 2, 2011 / 9:59 PM

    I have the mis/fortune of living with a girl who works at B&N. It’s so much harder to pass up a book when I can get it for 30% off–even if it’s still 70% more than I can afford!

    Also, sorry for not stopping by for awhile, but I’ll be back in the regular readership now that the new comp is up and running!

    • jannatwrites July 3, 2011 / 9:07 PM

      Hey, congrats on the new computer!

      You gave me a great idea….I need to talk hubby into getting a night job at B&N so I can get a discount. Never mind that he hates to read…it could still work, right?

      Thanks for dropping by, Connor.

  12. dorcas July 4, 2011 / 1:45 PM

    Wow Janna.. you are a real reader.. My reading has been falling apart lately… Must pick it up.. THe most recent one I read was ‘Love is a verb.’

    • jannatwrites July 4, 2011 / 7:56 PM

      I like that book title, Dorcas.

      I don’t get to read nearly as often as I would like to, so these books may last a full year. If I had my choice, I’d read a book every week (but my family would likely go hungry!)

      I hope you are able to get back into reading. It is such a fun way to spend time 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

