Poem: Trapped In Pandora’s Clock

Trapped In Pandora’s Clock

It’s Wednesday night.

I’ve got no Thursday writing post

Because I’ve been on a flight

That had nowhere to go.

There was a suspected virus,

A dead passenger, too;

Fears of attacking terrorists-

The pilot hadn’t uncovered the truth.

No country would accept the plane,

As they feared contamination.

One lady went insane,

While all faced condemnation.

The kids want dinner,

“Not now,” I say.

“How about peanut butter?

Do you really need to eat today?”

Undone chores pile up around me.

I’m here, but noticeably absent-

Trapped in this suspenseful story,

My should-be-sleeping hours are spent.

Ironically, Pandora’s Clock,

A novel by John J. Nance,

Would not have been my pick,

But I read at a co-workers insistence.

I was pleasantly surprised,

Like Sam I Am,

When this book I liked;

As he did Green Eggs and Ham.

Some of the characters are cliché,

But the plot reeled me in.

My only goal for today:

I must find out how it ends.

Are you a reader who is full after a chapter or two?  Or do you devour a book in a single sitting?  Does it depend on the book, or the time you have available – or both?

24 thoughts on “Poem: Trapped In Pandora’s Clock

  1. Richard W Scott June 23, 2011 / 8:43 AM

    I would often like to read a book in a single sitting, but typically my eyes give out… or my back, and I have to do something else.

    The last time I read a book cover to cover in a single sitting was when I took a bus from San Jose to San Diego, and couldn’t sleep. I read The Exorcist non-stop. It was quite an experience. (By far better book than movie, by the way).

    • jannatwrites June 23, 2011 / 7:15 PM

      I don’t usually get to read a book cover to cover all at one time, but it does take up large chunks of time over a two to three day period. I’m always reluctant to start reading a book because I can’t put it down and I have to scramble to catch up with everything when I’m done.

      I’ve never read The Exorcist. I have a feeling it would scare me more than being on an airplane with a super virus 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by, Richard!

    • jannatwrites June 23, 2011 / 7:17 PM

      I know, right? But the pilot was actually very good. I can’t tell you how it ends though, just in case you end up on the same flight at some point 🙂

      I’m glad you stopped by today, Jen!

  2. crumbl June 23, 2011 / 10:57 AM

    Little of both. I frequently (okay, constantly) have more than one book in progress at any given time, but there are books I’ve picked up and can’t put down. That said, I can read an average sized (300 -500 pages) novel in a few hours if I’m engrossed and not interrupted. Sometimes, I nibble at them a paragraph or a page at a time.

    I like your poem, JT. I can relate to the sentiment, if not the experience.

    • jannatwrites June 23, 2011 / 7:20 PM

      A book nibbler, huh? I wish I had that restraint. Unfortunately, my book reading knows no bounds…just like my chocolate eating.

      I’ve never read more than one fiction book at one time (probably because life around me ceases to exist once I pick one up.) I can read a fiction and non-fiction book at the same time, though. Do you often read fiction or non-fiction?

      I’m happy you liked the poem enough to comment, Crumbl 🙂

      • crumbl June 24, 2011 / 4:29 AM

        I read everything. I read like I breathe, constantly and almost unconsciously. As mentioned, some books engross me and I can’t stop from cover to cover, but sometimes, depending where I “dropped” them (by which I mean in what room), I’ll just pick up a book and carry on from where I left off. So, yeah, I nibble at some, and devour others in a gulp. 🙂

        • jannatwrites June 24, 2011 / 8:55 PM

          That’s an interesting reading habit you’ve got there, Crumbl. For me, it’s not a good sign if I can put a book down and come back to it. If I’m ‘hooked’, there’s no way I’m putting it down 🙂

          Thanks for the clarification – I was curious about it 🙂

  3. SuziCate June 23, 2011 / 11:24 AM

    I must keep reading until I finish even if it means no one gets dinner and I must stay up until 3:00 am.

    • jannatwrites June 23, 2011 / 7:21 PM

      Finally! Someone who can completely relate 🙂 (As I’m functioning today on four hours of sleep….but I did sleep well, because I found out how it ended.)

      Thanks, SuziCate!

  4. nrhatch June 23, 2011 / 11:51 AM

    I generally read before bed . . .
    Just a chapter or two.

    But sometimes I just can’t stop . . .
    And I’m tired the next day. 😀

    FUN post, Janna.
    Glad that the book has surprised you.

    • jannatwrites June 23, 2011 / 7:23 PM

      I don’t know how you can read only a chapter or two, Nancy. I envy your restraint. My curiosity and lack of good sense keep me reading until I have spend most of my sleep time.

      I figured since I couldn’t get my mind out of the book, I may as well write about it. I’m glad you enjoyed reading it 🙂

  5. pattyabr June 23, 2011 / 3:53 PM

    your reeled me in with your poem. A million emotions ‘flying’ around in my head.

    • jannatwrites June 23, 2011 / 7:25 PM

      The poem was a fun one to write, especially making sure I didn’t give anything major away, in case anyone reads the novel. I’m glad you took the time to read it and share your thoughts, Patty 🙂

  6. Carol Ann Hoel June 23, 2011 / 4:14 PM

    Sounds like a suspense novel. I like suspense. I, too, have trouble to put one down. Blessings to you, Janna…

    • jannatwrites June 23, 2011 / 7:28 PM

      It was a suspense novel, Carol. (My favorite type of novel to read – and to write.) I normally stay away from scary stuff that’s too real, though (like terrorist attacks or biological warfare.) I’m already paranoid, I don’t need any help there 🙂

      It’s nice to find someone else who can relate to not being able to put a book down!

  7. Widdershins June 23, 2011 / 8:47 PM

    Have to read a book from cover to cover in one sitting – barring unforseen circumstances that is – but they have to be really good circumstances!

    • jannatwrites June 23, 2011 / 9:32 PM

      Yes! Another person who can relate. Fire is the only good circumstance to interrupt reading a book 🙂

      Thanks for visiting, Widdershins!

  8. pattisj June 23, 2011 / 10:42 PM

    I would like to read nonstop until finished, but like Richard, something gives out before it’s done most of the time.

    • jannatwrites June 24, 2011 / 8:43 PM

      It would be nice if our body would keep up with what our mind wants to do, right?

      Thanks for stopping by today, Patti.

  9. Debbie June 24, 2011 / 12:14 PM

    Love to immerse myself in a good book, but with all the responsibilities on my plate right now, that’s a few-and-far-between sort of pleasure! But yeah, like most writers, I’m a pretty voracious reader (even cereal boxes!)

    • jannatwrites June 24, 2011 / 9:11 PM

      I laughed at your ‘cereal boxes’ comment. I’ve read a box or two, but I try to avoid the ingredients list because I tend to lose my appetite 🙂

      I have to be careful about starting a novel because things do pile up if it’s a good one. This could be why I have a backlog of books I haven’t read…

      Thanks for visiting today, Debbie!

  10. Addy June 25, 2011 / 10:59 PM

    Awesome poem Janna… With regards to the book reading, it all depends on my choice of genre that I take… I usually spend a lot of time reading in the aim to finish it withing a day or two… But now, I guess my time to read has taken a beating rather I wouldn’t mind if someone read my story!!!

    Best Wishes,
    Addy 🙂

    • jannatwrites June 26, 2011 / 7:32 PM

      I’m glad you liked the poem, Addy. Someone reading us a story would be nice once in a while…it worked when we were little kids, right?

      Thanks for taking the time to stop by!

Got an opinion? Share it!

