Mistakes Among Friends

Last Sunday, the church band had some trouble getting the tempo of a song as fast as it needed to be.  The worship leader (who is also the Associate Pastor) halted the music and talked to the drummer and guitar player.  They tried it again, but soon it was obvious that the tempo was still off, so the music was halted.  After another quick meeting, the music began again – this time at a pace that the singers could follow.

It was a bit humorous to watch the exchange because in the years I’ve attended this has never happened before.  Of course there have been stumbles – forgotten words or wrong verses – before, but never a “do-over.”  The worship leader’s comment after the song ended is what stayed in my mind.  He said, “what’s a mistake among friends?  If you’re going to make a mistake, it’s better to be in the presence of friends.”

How different the world would be if it was a friendlier place.  We wouldn’t feel the compulsion to avoid mistakes, be driven to impress those around us, experience the frustration of back-tracking when we lose our way, harbor the worry that our errors will become jokes that are relived for others’ entertainment, or have concern that our failures make us failures.

Failures do define us, but not in a bad way.  I learn much more by doing something incorrectly once than by doing it perfectly a dozen times.  A life lived without failure is a fragile one.  If we never experienced failure along the way, how could we possibly cope with it when it finally did happen?  (Of course, failure is inevitable because we are all flawed humans.)

That morning in church, I learned through the worship band.  I watched them acknowledge the error, rather than try to hide it.  I saw them keep trying, right after the failed attempt, to reach the fast tempo – twice.  I listened to them use humor to show that they don’t take themselves too seriously.  I witnessed the clapping of hands and praises of “Amen” offered in support of the band.

It turns out that a mistake among friends is no big deal at all.

Mistake? No worries!

 

So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.  — Isaiah 41:10

 

P.S. –   Happy Father’s Day to my hubby, my dad, and the other loving, hard-working fathers that serve as role models, guides and symbols of strength for their children.  Sadly, there are fathers that are not so involved in their children’s lives.  For them, I pray God will strengthen them and help them recognize that their absence leaves a void in their child’s life.  No matter how old the child is, it’s never too late to bond.

14 thoughts on “Mistakes Among Friends

  1. Carol Ann Hoel June 19, 2011 / 4:27 AM

    Beautiful post, Janna. What a sweet response to a mistake in a song service. A do-over. Cool! And yes, a mistake among friends is a learning experience together. Your father’s day post script is sweet. Yes, life is difficult. Sometimes we need do-overs that can’t be easily had, but God is good and forgiveness we all need and can have. God is good. Blessings to you…

    • jannatwrites June 19, 2011 / 8:05 PM

      Thanks for your kind words, Carol. More do-overs would be nice, but unfortunately, we cannot rewind and try again. The best we can do is learn from mistakes. (Sometimes it takes me making a mistake more than once for me to learn, but that’s beside the point ;))

  2. pattyabr June 19, 2011 / 11:13 AM

    thanks for reminding us all to be human.

    • jannatwrites June 19, 2011 / 8:06 PM

      True, we are human and make mistakes…even in church 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by, Patty!

  3. Debbie June 19, 2011 / 12:56 PM

    I agree, Janna — we all need to be more forgiving of mistakes (our own and others’). God certainly forgives us, and He’s the One we hurt so often; why can’t we forgive one another rather than using every opportunity to bring the mistake up again and make fun? All that does is hurt feelings. Congrats to the band for accepting human foibles and being courageous enough to do over!

    • jannatwrites June 19, 2011 / 8:11 PM

      I’ve made mistakes in public and I feel like running away and crying. No one up there looked ready to burst into tears, so I was glad for that. Forgiveness is such a wonderful thing, but I am guilty of not giving at as freely as I should at times. Thanks for visiting today, Debbie.

  4. pattisj June 19, 2011 / 6:36 PM

    Good lesson there, Janna. Very touching P.S., as well.

    • jannatwrites June 19, 2011 / 8:13 PM

      Thank you, Patti. I am fortunate to have a great father, but I know a couple people who are not so lucky.

  5. dorcas June 19, 2011 / 7:03 PM

    I think a true church is one where no one has to hide their faults and failures… so glad you are part of one Janna..

    • jannatwrites June 19, 2011 / 8:14 PM

      We make mistakes, but we are also quick to notice (and sometimes comment on) others’ mistakes. Since we all have faults and failures, wouldn’t it be nice if we didn’t have to hide them at all? I know, I’m dreaming 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by, Dorcas!

  6. Addy June 22, 2011 / 8:25 AM

    Really good post Janna… The more people are willing to be upfront and accept their mistakes, I guess that day will be when the word “Sorry” has the most signifance in our lives… Glad to post a comment after a long time…

    Best Wishes,
    Addy 🙂

    • jannatwrites June 22, 2011 / 9:06 PM

      I wondered what happened to you, Addy! I’m glad you’re back.

      If we all can acknowledge our mistakes and then move on, then making mistakes wouldn’t be nearly as painful!

  7. Blossom Dreams June 22, 2011 / 12:14 PM

    I love how many masters of their crafts have acknowledged how many attempts it took them to create that something magical….be it art, sculpture, music. Like them, without making mistakes in life, we cannot grow or make ourselves be the people we can become, or indeed, reach our full potential…

    I agree, I wish that the world were a friendlier place and much more forgiving!

    Thanks for a great post xx

    • jannatwrites June 22, 2011 / 9:13 PM

      The people who can admit their struggles feel more “real” to me. We all mess up and move on, so I don’t understand those who don’t acknowledge it.

      I’m glad you stopped by today, Chloe 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

