Unresolved Resolution. What? Exactly.

Did you hear a strange sound yesterday that resembled a strangled scream?  Well, that was me, but it wasn’t a scream, exactly.  It was more like laughter – with tears.  (Yes, that is possible.  For me, tears go with everything; kind of like blue jeans or black purses.)

A couple weeks ago, I wrote about our washing machine, which apparently dreams of becoming a jet engine in its next life.   As expected, we did get a call last week from the warranty company.  Instead of telling us which washing machine would be the replacement, they told us a repairman would come between 8AM and noon on Monday (yesterday) to fix it.

Hubby had the day off and he cancelled a morning appointment so he could be home in case the repairman came early.  No worries about that, though – the man didn’t show up until nearly one o’clock, which translates to a quarter past irritated in hubby time.  I checked, and according to the numbers on my watch, 1 is not in between 8 and 12.  That’s not even the good part.  Guess what else?  Aw, you’ll never guess…

Our washer still isn’t fixed.  That’s right.  The story we got is that the first guy is notoriously lazy and didn’t get the proper authorization, nor did he order any parts.  If this is true, it means that even in a time of high unemployment, it is possible to get paid for doing a job without actually working.  Sweet deal, right?

Okay, so the first guy might be lazy, but I kind of thought the service person would check their repair schedule for the day and verify all necessary parts were on the truck before heading out on service calls.  If the parts weren’t there, they could call the customer to reschedule.  Silly me.

But in thinking about it, it makes sense, really.  You see, if they had verified part availability, they wouldn’t have been able to show up at our house and charge $187 to do nothing – a charge that we could have to pay if the warranty company denies the claim.

While at our house, the second repairman called the warranty company for authorization to do the repairs and they refused, stating it was more cost effective to replace the machine.  Sooooo…we get to wait another three to five days for another call from the warranty company.  That’s when we should find out if they will cover yesterday’s charges and/or the replacement washer.

Yep, this is where the frightening laughter/scream/cry noise happened.  If they deny either, you may hear another, even more horrifying, sound – that will be my hubby before he goes to battle with the warranty company 🙂

Come on, make me feel better – please share your worst repair experiences (could be anything: jewelry, cars, appliances, etc.) 

Misery has a snack spread set up and is prepared for company 😉

42 thoughts on “Unresolved Resolution. What? Exactly.

  1. Melissa June 14, 2011 / 9:00 AM

    Warranty companies are the bane of my little existence. In 2008, I was newly separated & moved me/kidlet back to my moms house. Her a/c went out in the middle of spring. The warranty company couldn’t figure out who/what was responsible: the A/C guy said it wasn’t the unit, it was an electric issue. The electricians then bounced between “You need a circuit breaker box” to “We need to repair the circuit breaker box” to “This is clearly not an electrical problem; call the a/c man.” This took about two months. Maybe more?

    Mind you, spring in south Texas is hotter than a rooster on a tin roof. And I have an infant. Melissa was not happy. My mom & I sound enough alike over the phone, so we called those m-effers at the Warranty company twice daily. Still nothing. Fast forward to September (!!!!!!!) and still no a/c. And then Hurricane Ike hits and we have no power for two weeks – but the hurricane actually ushered in sweet, sweet cool air for about a month after our town was ravaged. Enter fall, the weather stays mildly cool. A/C still doesn’t work. They still can’t figure it out. SOMEONE finally gets tired of our pestering and sends someone out to replace a few things on the circuit breaker.

    It works for like, a month. Two tops. By then we’ve entered into “we thankfully don’t need to run the a/c” season (circa late October). Winter passes. Enter Spring 2009. A/C STILL DOESN’T WORK. Oh, HAI ONE YEAR LATER.

    They eventually replaced huge chunks of the circuit breaker without doing the entire thing (would have been too much $$. But paying techs to come out to my moms house 800 times over the span of ONE YEAR wasn’t?) and now it works and we have a window unit plus an army of fans on stand by over there.

    So. Yeah. HURRAY WARRANTY COMPANIES. When my husband & I bought our house in December, we elected out of having one. Give him a manual, he’ll figure it out. Otherwise, we have a savings account set up to pay for anything we can’t fix. Good. Riddance.

    …… /end novel.

    • jannatwrites June 14, 2011 / 8:58 PM

      That’s a terrible story, Melissa. I’m glad it’s finally working, but it’s ridiculous that it took a year to get it done. If this washer thing drags out, I’m going to have to make a recording of my washer on spin cycle and then call the warranty company every day to make them listen to it. We normally don’t buy extended warranties, but the washer/dryer set was expensive (and recommended by my parents, who have the same kind.) It was a twelve-year warranty, so we couldn’t pass it up.

      We may have skipped the warranty if my hubby was more of the handy-man type. Unfortunately, my hubby should not be allowed near anything broken. He has a few tools, but I get nervous when he dusts them off…

      Thanks for sharing your story (which is much worse than mine, by the way.)

      • Melissa June 16, 2011 / 6:59 AM

        Ha! Well then I think using the spin cycle attack on the warranty company is probably your best method of attack. A 12 year warranty is nuts! You’d think they would then be more than capable to handle and repair issues if they plan on covering it for THAT LONG. Geez.

        • jannatwrites June 16, 2011 / 8:43 AM

          You would think they’d anticipate repairs during the twelve year period! Maybe we’ll be pleasantly surprised and this will be resolved quickly. (I can’t help it, optimism still shines through, even in the face reality ;))

  2. Melissa June 14, 2011 / 9:03 AM

    Also! This totally reminded me of a mommy blogger, Heather Armstrong at http://www.dooce.com. She had a similar problem with her washer/dryer & ranted about it on twitter. She’s had at least two books published, tours a lot now, etc – so she caused enough stink that another company (MAYBE the same one, this was about two years ago) actually sent her a new, upgraded set. Ah, the power of the internet.

    • jannatwrites June 14, 2011 / 9:25 PM

      Well, I searched Heather’s blog and found her (very long) post about her washer saga. Uh-oh. Same company. Ugh! Only difference is, my washer is six years old – not brand new. Perhaps I should open a Twitter account now 😉

  3. SuziCate June 14, 2011 / 9:39 AM

    Oh man, talk about frustration…yes, I’d be at an all time high level! Good luck.

    • jannatwrites June 14, 2011 / 9:27 PM

      We’ve resorted to piling up dirty laundry outside the laundry room door to block some of the noise, but it’s not working so well! I do hope they resolve this without a huge hassle.

  4. Aligaeta June 14, 2011 / 9:55 AM

    My man Fred who is handy with everything mechanical buys from Sears and gets the extended warrantees. When something breaks down he takes it apart, diagnosis the problem, calls for service telling them exactly what parts to bring and has had great success with repairs. Best of luck to you.

    • jannatwrites June 14, 2011 / 9:30 PM

      I’m glad you’ve got yourself a handy man, Aligaeta. My poor hubby is not the fix-it type, but I knew that from the beginning. With our luck, they’d void the warranty because we opened up the machine 😉

  5. Tori Nelson June 14, 2011 / 11:29 AM

    Major kudos to you for cry-laughing… I think I’d just be angry crying. We had a lovely encounter with an AC repairman. Turns out he won’t give you a refund if he breaks your AC 😦

    • jannatwrites June 14, 2011 / 9:34 PM

      Wow, another bad A/C repair experience. I’d be very upset if that happened to me. Our A/C guy told me that parts in AZ are about thrity percent more than anywhere else. I asked him why they charged more, and he told me “because they can.” I think he was just prepping me so I don’t keel over when we run into repairs on our thirteen year old unit…it’s bound to happen in the next few years.

      I’m sorry he broke your A/C and didn’t do the right thing and pay for it. You could always call them out on your blog 🙂

  6. Miss Rosemary June 14, 2011 / 12:06 PM

    Our washer wants to be a jet engine too! Except our warranty ran out, so we’re just SOL.

    • jannatwrites June 14, 2011 / 9:37 PM

      I’m sorry, Miss Rosemary. That’s usually what happens to me. I had a car where the car battery died a few miles after the warranty expired. The dealership wouldn’t cover it (even though the car was in for routine maintenance the week before – and still under warranty. I guess they really don’t do those 540-point inspections :))

      I wonder why our washing machines can’t be happy with what they are?

  7. Carol Ann Hoel June 14, 2011 / 12:58 PM

    This just reeks of unfairness. Let’s pray that justice will finally be served by all concerned. I don’t have any stories that I can recall at this moment. I hope this event will take a turn for the better before the finish. Blessings to you, Janna…

    • jannatwrites June 14, 2011 / 9:40 PM

      I hope they do the right thing and replace it without more run-around. I’ll be sure to do an update post on it, so I don’t leave anyone in suspense about what happened! Thanks for your support, Carol!

  8. J. P. Cabit June 14, 2011 / 12:58 PM

    While i can’t tell you a horror story about repairs… I will tell you that lately i’ve spent almost 2000 dollars fixing my persnickety car. And the other day, the CHECK ENGINE light came on. Ha ha! 😀 THAT made my day. (I’m looking into another car…)

    • J. P. Cabit June 14, 2011 / 1:06 PM

      Oh wait, that was a horror story about repairs!!! 😀 lol

      • jannatwrites June 14, 2011 / 9:45 PM

        Yep, that was a horror story, all right. I may have nightmares tonight because of it. Thanks, Seph!

    • jannatwrites June 14, 2011 / 9:44 PM

      Okay, Seph – you’re living my worst nightmare (yes, it’s even worse than the washer.) Once you’ve paid so much in repairs, you’re sort of invested in that car and it’s harder to walk away and call it a loss. Several years ago, my car wore out its second transmission at 130,000 miles (the first one was covered under warranty at 60,000 miles.) I also had another repair to do that was around a thousand dollars (I think that’s the magic price for repairs.) They got the check engine light to turn off and I drove it straight to a dealership and traded it in for another car. I was too afraid I’d use up our savings repairing it and then have nothing for a down payment.

      Good luck on finding that other car! Be sure to look for a mellow one 😉

  9. carldagostino June 14, 2011 / 1:25 PM

    Nobody fixes stuff anymore so paying for the warranty extra service is a waste of money. Plus all the crap we have to buy from China because there is nothing else made anywhere else from which to select is not worth fixing. There is no more craftsmanship in imported products except in US made and Northern Europe. Best to pay with check and put stop payment within hours if not satisfied. You should not pay if no work was done. Or if they had to get stuff your service charge from yesterday should be credited. You can also say Carl said he will put you in touch with Sal from Newark.

    • jannatwrites June 14, 2011 / 9:50 PM

      Our washer is around six years old, so it’s not a total piece of junk (and it’s long been paid for). The problem is, our cheap $300 washer lasted the same amount of time. This one was quadruple the price, so I expect much more from it.

      Your last sentence got me laughing, Carl! Putting me in touch with Sal fron Newark is hilarious. He could bust their chops a little, eh?

      Only kidding. Let’s put Sal on hold 🙂

  10. SAS Fiction Girl June 14, 2011 / 3:06 PM

    Oh, Janna – I’ve got one for you. Years ago, my parents hired our regular plumbers (we’ll call them BP) to install a new water heater. The cost of the appliance was $300 and the labor fee was considerably less. Years later, the water heater failed while still under warranty. My parents called BP to install the free replacement, thinking they’d have to pay only the install fee. When the plumber was finished, he presented my mother a bill of $300 for labor – the same amount she would have paid for a new appliance without the warranty. Total scam. My mother hit the roof and vowed never to use BP again – and she hasn’t.

    • jannatwrites June 14, 2011 / 9:54 PM

      And repair people wonder why no one trusts them…

      That’s not right, Jen. They shouldn’t be able to get away with that. I hope your parents at least told lots of people so BP lost some business because of it.

  11. pattisj June 14, 2011 / 6:48 PM

    We never buy extended warranties. Hubby fixes what he can, then we buy another if he can’t. Sounds like that has saved a lot of extra aggravation, because there is always some level of it when a regularly-used appliance is on the fritz. Hope you get a satisfactory resolution quickly.

    • jannatwrites June 14, 2011 / 9:58 PM

      I’m glad your hubby is able to do some of the repairs himself. We only bought extended warranties on the washer/dryer because they are so expensive to replace – and the warranty cost wasn’t outrageous. This situation could be why 🙂

      Thanks for your support, Patti. I hope it gets resolved quickly, too!

  12. nrhatch June 14, 2011 / 7:24 PM

    I’m keeping my fingers crossed that you get a NEW machine out of this, Janna.

    Loved your last line . . . what kinds of snacks? Chocolate?

    • jannatwrites June 14, 2011 / 10:03 PM

      Thanks, Nancy. I’ll keep my fingers crossed too (that will explain my typos on my comments :))

      Now about the snacks: could you really have a snack spread without chocolate?

      I set something up similar to what they do at work: I’ve got brownies, cookies, donuts, pastries and a small tray of untouched veggies (carrot and celery sticks) with ranch dip. I have water and tea to drink, but after reading some of these repair horror stories, I may have to run to the store for something a bit stronger!

    • nrhatch June 15, 2011 / 5:54 AM

      Keep your sense of humor . . . it’s a valuable possession in the changing fortunes of time.

      Also, keep your sense of perspective.

      If things are NOT to your liking . . . be thankful that it’s a washing machine that’s busted up, and not one of your kids.

      • jannatwrites June 15, 2011 / 8:11 PM

        I do try to laugh, Nancy – when I cry my skin gets all red and splotchy. Not pretty. Wild-eyed crazy doesn’t look good on me either, and frightens those around me, so I try to avoid that too. I’ve nominated hubby to get this resolved since he doesn’t mind conflict and keeps an even temper.

        You are right, better a damaged washing machine than a damaged child. (Well, by virtue of being our children, they may be damaged mentally already – thanks to heredity, but physically, they are sturdy and in tact, which I am thankful for :))

  13. Blossom Dreams June 15, 2011 / 3:18 AM

    I have no stories of warranties to share with you, but if you want a laugh…

    …I once jumped on to a bus…only to find that the doors had already closed and so I rebounded and landed on my butt in the street. And then…THEN…..the bus driver just drove off!! To leave me sitting in a puddle (of rainwater, you understand) with all of the passengers who had managed to get on safely staring at me through the windows!! Cheeky monkeys! 😀 😉

    Hope that makes you feel a bit better and hope you get your washing machine fixed replaced soon xx

    • jannatwrites June 15, 2011 / 8:00 PM

      Oh, that would be embarrassing, Chloe! It seems like you kept your good sense of humor over it. (By the way, “cheeky monkeys” made me smile.)

      It’s terrible that the bus driver drove off, but if it’s any consolation, the bus drivers in my city are the same way. If someone tries to get on after the doors close, they pretend like they can’t see the person. Sometimes people will chase the bus for a couple blocks, but the drivers don’t care. Quite sad, really.

      Thanks for cheering me up 🙂

  14. pattyabr June 15, 2011 / 5:36 AM

    All I can say is we get our appliances from Sears and Sears has fabulous repairpersons. Sorry for your appliance troubles. We had a crazy electrician once, but I think all electricians ride the edge. They are in demand and yanked in many directions. I haven’t found a reliable one yet.

    • jannatwrites June 15, 2011 / 8:06 PM

      I’m glad you have had good luck with Sears on repairs. We had them out for our refrigerator once and didn’t have a problem with them.

      Your comments about electricians made me laugh – my dad is an electrician 🙂 He doesn’t normally do residential, but he did put a light in our hallway once (after seven years of strong hinting 🙂 Anyway, in keeping with our normal luck, I should tell you that he finally came over to put the light in a week after we finished painting the interior of our house. Yep, we had to paint the hallway again when he was done – but at least we can see what’s in our hall closet without a flashlight now.

      Thanks for sharing your experience, Patty. We may end up back at Sears for our next appliances.

  15. journeytoepiphany June 15, 2011 / 8:57 PM

    I hate how they always think you don’t have anything better to do other than wait for them.

    • jannatwrites June 15, 2011 / 9:34 PM

      Agreed! It’s bad enough that they give you a four hour window, but when they can’t even make that, it’s annoying.

      Thanks for visiting and sharing your comment, Journeytoepiphany.

  16. ournote2self June 16, 2011 / 6:40 AM

    Hahaha, I love your sarcasm and sense of humor 🙂

    • jannatwrites June 16, 2011 / 8:39 AM

      Wow, thank you, Ournote2self! I’ve been called not-so-nice names because of my sarcasm (none of which I can share here :)) It’s too bad, because I’ve always thought my type of sarcasm was the gentler, kinder breed.

      At least I’m laughing – if there are a few others that can laugh with me, life is good!

      Thanks for visiting and sharing your comment.

  17. dorcas June 16, 2011 / 11:08 AM

    Everything is still too new in my house to go for repair yet…. BUt, I promise… some thing goes wrong and I will come back and make a comment here. 🙂

    • jannatwrites June 16, 2011 / 7:27 PM

      Lucky you, Dorcas. I’m crossing my fingers you don’t have issues 🙂

  18. crumbl June 17, 2011 / 1:40 PM

    Let’s see … very expensive dishwasher with, as explained by the repairman, repeatedly, a cheap plastic part … 5 service calls in a year, under warranty; stacked washer and dryer that decided to munch on my clothes … ruined a one of a kind sweatshirt commemorating the Avro Arrow, among other things … three service calls to decide, yeah, there was a problem; central air conditioner that didn’t … $800 electronic part needed replaced, under warranty, and it still works for spit. Been there, done that, and like your situation, JT, Unlike your hubby, I I am not the voice of reason. I tend more to the “shoot first and ask no questions” school of negotiation.

    • jannatwrites June 17, 2011 / 11:16 PM

      Sometimes I wish I lived in a simpler time. People in the 1800’s didn’t have to deal with all this high-tech stuff breaking down. (But the downside is they had typhoid fever and more deadly epidemics to deal with.) You’ve had your fair share of mechanical troubles, Crumbl. I guess that explains the ‘shoot first and ask no questions’ method 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

