Poem – Captured

Captured

Mountains, canyons

Welcome me.

Days spent trail hiking,

Admiring.

S’mores by a campfire,

On chilly, moonlit nights.

Red rocks, cool breeze

Encircle me.

Trickling waters

Over creek-bed rocks

Take hold of my soul;

I’m under a spell.

~

There was so much to see at eye level, I almost forgot to look up once in a while. 

Oak Creek Canyon Wall

 I would have missed so much!

Oak Creek Canyon Wall
The creek was in view for most of the hike:
Oak Creek Canyon

Fruits of winter rain and northern Arizona snow melting in Oak Creek Canyon:

The reward at the end of our hike was getting to wade into the creek.  The water was cold and refreshing! 

3 Miles Into Oak Creek Canyon
Thank you for visiting – I hope you enjoyed the pictures!  Have a beautiful day 🙂
28 thoughts on “Poem – Captured

  1. Amanda Hoving June 9, 2011 / 8:29 AM

    Wow — great pictures! Sounds like a wonderful time.

    • jannatwrites June 9, 2011 / 8:10 PM

      I’m glad you enjoyed the pictures, Amanda. We had lots of fun and are planning our next outing already:)

      P.S. – I like your new gravatar!

  2. carldagostino June 9, 2011 / 8:31 AM

    Makes me hate Miami even more. Give anything to live where there is “real” land with actual topography. Obligations. I’m stuck here.

    • jannatwrites June 9, 2011 / 8:15 PM

      I’d love to live in that environment, too, Carl. Like you, I’ve got too much tied to the city to leave. Someday…maybe someday. In the meantime, I guess we’ll have to see the beauty in our current surroundings.

    • jannatwrites June 9, 2011 / 8:16 PM

      Thanks, SuziCate. I’m glad you liked the pictures (even though they’re not nearly as good as yours!)

  3. Debbie June 9, 2011 / 10:39 AM

    Lovely photos, Janna — I’ve never really experienced mountains, so I look forward to seeing them in all their glory one day. Thanks for whetting my appetite!

    • jannatwrites June 9, 2011 / 8:33 PM

      I hope you get to go to the mountains someday, because it really is pretty. Too bad still photos can’t capture the sound of the wind blowing through the high tree tops or or the smell of smog-free air.

      I am glad you liked the photos, Debbie! One of these days I’ll post ones from our Payson camping trip back in April. (Payson is another Mogollon Rim city, but it’s farther east than Sedona.)

  4. Miss Rosemary June 9, 2011 / 10:41 AM

    Wonderful poem to match the wonderful pictures!

    • jannatwrites June 9, 2011 / 8:34 PM

      Thanks for stopping by, Miss Rosemary! I’m glad you liked the poem/pictures.

  5. clarbojahn June 9, 2011 / 10:58 AM

    Sedona is said to have Spiritual properties. The beauty of it does call up energy doesn’t it? Thank you for this post.

    • jannatwrites June 9, 2011 / 8:37 PM

      I’ve heard there are supposed to be energy vortexes but I’ve never sought them out to see for myself. Thanks for your comment, Clar 🙂

  6. SAS Fiction Girl June 9, 2011 / 12:53 PM

    So Arizona isn’t all desert? I’ve been cheated! I’ve been robbed! Call the mayor! Call the police! Call my travel agent!
    Seriously, that looks sweeeeet! Were you camping this weekend?
    Also, I like your poem because I understand it. Thank you for writing in concrete images. Fluffy poetry really gets my goat. 🙂

    • jannatwrites June 9, 2011 / 8:49 PM

      Yes, we did get to sneak away for a couple days to go camping (after we satisfied our family obligations)!

      Thankfully, Arizona is not all desert. The northern half of the state has forests, with actual trees, and the higher elevations get snow in the winter. Unfortunately, the desert is where I live 😦 You should check it out sometime – things look much better in person (or in photos not taken by me.)

      I’m so glad you liked my “poem” (I use the term loosely.) I don’t follow any rules with my poetry, so my poems are basically an excuse to write grammatically incorrect, improperly structured sentences that sometimes rhyme.

      Thanks for visiting today, Jen. I got a chuckle from your comment!

  7. widdershins June 9, 2011 / 1:00 PM

    It’s amazing the things that exist outside of our expectations. Wonderful words and images.

    • jannatwrites June 9, 2011 / 8:53 PM

      Thank you so much, Widdershins. I’m glad you enjoyed the poem and photos 🙂

  8. Carol Ann Hoel June 9, 2011 / 3:09 PM

    I enjoyed the poem and the pics and their captions. Such beauty! What a great time you had. Blessings to you, Janna…

    • jannatwrites June 9, 2011 / 8:57 PM

      I’m glad you liked the photos, Carol. It is even prettier when you’re there.

      It was a lot of fun (except for my younger son’s whining that he couldn’t walk anymore for the last half of the hike out of the canyon.) Since leaving him there wasn’t an option, hubby and I took turns carrying him to give his little legs a rest!

        • jannatwrites June 9, 2011 / 10:58 PM

          Yes, they do. Good thing my older son didn’t need a rest. I would have had to drag him because he’s too big to pick up!

  9. nrhatch June 9, 2011 / 3:53 PM

    Lovely wander through Oak Canyon.
    Thanks, Janna

    Please, sir, may I have S’More?

    • jannatwrites June 9, 2011 / 8:59 PM

      Glad you enjoyed the wander, Nancy. (Does that count as your exercise for the day?)

      I’d love to have s’more S’Mores – they are so yummy 🙂

  10. pattisj June 9, 2011 / 8:43 PM

    Thanks for taking us along. I’m sure it was much easier on us, though! You’re so right, we need to stop and look up once in awhile. 🙂 Beautiful pix.

  11. jannatwrites June 9, 2011 / 9:02 PM

    I’m glad you came along and liked the photos, Patti! I have to agree that it is easier to look at pictures than to go hike to find them 🙂

  12. Patty June 11, 2011 / 12:09 PM

    S’mores are part of summer. We had a party a month ago and went through the s’mores double time. Nice pics.

    • jannatwrites June 11, 2011 / 2:23 PM

      S’mores are so yummy, I’ve even cheated and used the microwave. Not nearly as good as when marshmallows are cooked over an open fire, but they’ll do 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by today, Patty!

  13. Blossom Dreams June 15, 2011 / 3:08 AM

    Wonderful photos!!! Thanks for taking me down memory lane to one of my favourite places in the world!

    Oh to be wandering through Arizona now….where the “Red rocks, cool breeze Encircle me. Trickling waters Over creek-bed rocks Take hold of my soul” – as your awesome poem says!!

    Chloe xx

    • jannatwrites June 15, 2011 / 7:53 PM

      Chloe – I actually thought of you when I snapped pics of the red rocks of Sedona. Thanks to your recent post, I knew you enjoyed Sedona. I hope the strolls down memory lane can satisfy you until you can go back 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

