Why Must Even Simple Things Be So Difficult?

The past few weeks have been formed mainly of good ideas that have gone awry, easy choices that have morphed into complicated schemes resembling plans for achieving world peace, and simple decisions that have entered the never-ending loop of doubt (where no choice will ever be made.)  At various moments, my pendulum of emotions has swung from laughter to verge-of-tears; passing defeat, anger and despair along the way.  The icing on the proverbial cake was provided compliments of our washing machine.

For those who haven’t surmised as much, procrastination is a member of our family.  If we ever got around to clearing out some of our stuff, we could set up a cozy place for it to reside.  We talk about things that need to get done, we make lists, we remind each other of the items on the list, but nothing gets accomplished right away.

A couple months ago, our washing machine began making a wretched noise during the spin cycles.  Hubby and I talked about digging out the paperwork because we had purchased the extended warranty.  Neither one of us would make a move to do it.  So the next week over the noise of the washer, we would have the exact same conversation.  After seven or eight such conversations, my hubby found the paperwork and called to schedule service.  Here is the conversation he relayed to me:

Hubby:  I need to have someone look at my washer.

Repair:  What is the problem you are experiencing?

Hubby:  When the spin cycle runs, it sounds like a jet engine in our laundry room.

Repair:  I’m sorry, but we can’t schedule service just for noise.  Is it holding water?

Hubby:  Yeah, sure.  It’s holding water.  When can they come out?

The repairman came on Saturday morning.  He opened the washer door and spun the drum.  He closed the door and wrote some notes.  Yep, in fifteen seconds, he had a diagnosis and it wasn’t good:  the bearings were bad.  Instead of opening his toolbox and getting busy, he informed us that nothing would be done that day.  I was thrilled to find out we waited around all morning for nothing.

He couldn’t start the repairs because the repairs would be much higher than his authorized amount.  In fact, he doubted they would authorize the repairs, and instead, opt for replacement.  (A brand-new washer would make our dryer look like it belonged in the Smithsonian.)  Since they weren’t open on Saturday, and Monday was a holiday, we likely wouldn’t hear anything from them until later this week.

With another week of increasingly noisy laundry, I’m not sure I’ll hear anything from anyone by the end of this week.

I am armed with a large spoon, fighting the urge to take an extended break from life and hole myself up with a 1.75 qt. container of double fudge ice cream.  (Yes, ice cream companies, I have noticed that you skim off the top of my half gallon and charge me more for less.  Thank you for that privilege.)

Writing this post has provided some clarity.  I think I’ve realized why things must be so difficult:  whatever doesn’t kill me will make me crazy.  When I’ve reached the right level of crazy, frustration won’t phase me a bit.

Must.  Have.  Chocolate.  Now.

Chocolate comes in many flavors

How do you get from Crazy Town back to Normalville?  Would love to read your tips in case my GPS fails me (again).

22 thoughts on “Why Must Even Simple Things Be So Difficult?

  1. 1959duke May 31, 2011 / 6:57 AM

    My wife and you must be related! Getting her moving stuff sometimes is like pulling teeth.

    • jannatwrites May 31, 2011 / 5:45 PM

      I can relate to her if the sheer number of things needing attention is so overwhelming that she doesn’t know where to start sometimes 🙂

  2. pattyabr May 31, 2011 / 7:13 AM

    all household appliances fall apart at the same time – been there done that. crazy is crazy. good luck with the dryer and staying away from the ice cream bucket.

    • jannatwrites May 31, 2011 / 5:47 PM

      The washer and dryer are actually our newest appliances, so I don’t know what this will mean! Do you think the dishwasher I’ve hated since day one will conk out? Nope! Still (noisily) going strong nearly fourteen years later. Can’t see spending the money to replace it until it breaks, though…

  3. suzicate May 31, 2011 / 7:21 AM

    Chocolate really does make everything better…at least momentarily!

    • jannatwrites May 31, 2011 / 5:48 PM

      Chocolate helps until I overindulge and realize my choices are (1) cut it out; or (2) buy new clothes 😦

      I agree that it is enjoyable until I’m faced with these choices!

  4. Tori Nelson May 31, 2011 / 7:22 AM

    Chocolate heals all wounds. I’m pretty sure it’s in The Constitution… or maybe The Bible? Either way, it fixes everything 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 31, 2011 / 5:50 PM

      Funny! It should be in both 😉 I ate a few squares of a Ghiradelli dark chocolate espresso bar and I’m feeling pretty good tonight!

  5. carldagostino May 31, 2011 / 9:46 AM

    Repairing shoes costs more than new ones. We have been in this disposable economy for several decades. Another problem is that we can’t find anything in the stores not made in China and it is all crap and they have no quality control. It’s like the computer industry – planned obsolescence. Gates and the boys have already made the next dozen new systems for the next decade and will sell in increments of modernity instead of the advanced system now.

    • jannatwrites May 31, 2011 / 5:54 PM

      Um, are you trying to send me on the fast track from chocolate to alcohol, Carl?

      Only kidding (I don’t drink) but it is depressing. I actually did pay to have a favorite pair of shoes repaired…and the heel broke again two months later. You’ve got a great point on the foreign products thing, too. Did you know it’s hard to find juice boxes that aren’t made from conentrate from Mexico and/or China? I don’t buy juice anymore. And don’t get me started on computers and the out-of-date-as-soon-as-you-buy-it technology…

  6. pattisj May 31, 2011 / 11:37 AM

    I was going to leave a comment, but after reading Carl’s, I’m heading out to buy my own ice cream. 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 31, 2011 / 5:55 PM

      Make it a double (one for me!)

      It’s doesn’t look good for us, does it?

  7. Debbie May 31, 2011 / 12:14 PM

    Why do all household appliances fail at the same time? (Probably something to do with their having been bought at the same time!). Carl hit the answer — they’re all made cheap and overseas, with planned expiration dates. That forces us to suck up the expense and aggravation and buy anew — grrrr! Pass me some of that chocolate, won’t you?!

    • jannatwrites May 31, 2011 / 5:58 PM

      I’ve got plenty of chocolate, Debbie (and I don’t mind sharing)! I do hope the other appliances don’t go just yet (they are several years older than the washer, so it could happen.)

      I consider myself lucky because usually the breakage date is right after the warranty expiration. Now I’m just concerned they’ll try to get out of covering it. Maybe I’m paranoid…maybe not.

    • jannatwrites May 31, 2011 / 6:00 PM

      Here, here! Looks like we could start a chapter of the CCA (Chocolate Cures All) club 🙂

  8. nrhatch May 31, 2011 / 1:24 PM

    Life sucks. We eat chocolate to cope . . . causing us to die prematurely of diabetes, obesity, or hardening of the arteries.

    Blasted modern conveniences! 😉

    • jannatwrites May 31, 2011 / 6:03 PM

      Hey, I might as well start drinking, and then I can add cirrhosis of the liver to the roulette wheel of ailments that could kill me!

      Chocolate has revived my bright side – it does suck right now, but it could suck much worse. I’ll refrain from giving examples how, because that’s just an invitation for those things to happen 😉

    • nrhatch May 31, 2011 / 6:12 PM

      If you start drinking, let me know. I’ll give the recipe for a Chocolate Martini. 😀

      • jannatwrites May 31, 2011 / 9:27 PM

        Don’t tempt me, Nancy…that sounds pretty good right now 😉

  9. Carol Ann Hoel May 31, 2011 / 2:59 PM

    Life goes on for a time without challenges. I must have grown to a higher spiritual level. Jingle bells and happy tales are what my days are made of. About that time things start going wrong, terribly wrong. Never one thing goes wrong; no, many things disintegrate at the same time.

    Where, oh where is that strong woman of courage? Her mind is divided and her nerves are shot. Stop. Just stop. Take a break. Breathe deeply. Thank God for being in control of our lives and for chocolate ice cream. Eat, enjoy, relax. Troubles don’t last forever. Blessings…

    • jannatwrites May 31, 2011 / 6:08 PM

      Your comment made me smile, Carol. Whenever I stop and realize/appreciate how well things are going, the Happy Train comes to an abrupt halt. I’ve got the choclate ice cream eating covered. As long as the avalanche of troubles doesn’t come crashing down on top of me right now, I’ll be fine!

      I’ll keep your parting words in my mind: “troubles don’t last forever.”

Got an opinion? Share it!

