Poem: Stalking Flies

Stalking Flies

Leap,

Twist.

Jump,

Turn.

Eyes track,

Tails swish –

Hunting cats’

Ears twitch.

A pounce, Sammy

Lifts her paw –

Lizzy stares intently.

The fly doesn’t…

Anymore.

I’d like to tell you that no flies were hurt during the writing of this poem, but I’m a terrible liar.  Since this is how the cats “earn their keep” (as my husband says), our house is a “No Fly Zone.”  Now, if I could just teach them to vacuum…

How do your pets help you around the house?  If you don’t have a pet, what animal would you find helpful to have at home, and why?

22 thoughts on “Poem: Stalking Flies

  1. pattisj May 26, 2011 / 8:06 AM

    Love the picture! The time I dropped an egg on the floor, and our dog ran over and cleaned it up, shell and all, was probably the most helpful. And he always kept the crumbs cleaned up at the base of the kitchen cabinets. I sure miss that!

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2011 / 7:41 PM

      Ew, a raw egg? I guess it’s better than a shop vac 😉 Dogs are good vacuum cleaners (as long as they like the crumbs!)

      Thanks for sharing how your dog has been useful, Patti. I just love animals!

  2. Tori Nelson May 26, 2011 / 8:40 AM

    Love the speed of this poem….great energy!
    My dog mostly helps by digging holes and demolishing doors, oddly holes and empty doorways I’d rather have filled 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2011 / 7:44 PM

      So that’s how your dog helps? I’d hate to find out what ‘destructive’ is 🙂 Maybe you could get into the house flipping biz and your dog can be in charge of the demo crew?

      Just an idea.

      Thanks for the laugh, Tori!

  3. Carol Ann Hoel May 26, 2011 / 8:54 AM

    Cute poem, Janna! I like it! The cats are so darling! W have a cat. Shady is my boy. What does he do to help? Um. He purrs when he sits on my lap. He just IS. We like having him around. You have two talented fly chasers. I love the “No Fly Zone”! Blessings to you…

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2011 / 7:58 PM

      Thank you, Carol – I’m glad you liked the poem and the kitties 🙂 I agree that purring is one of the best things that cats can do to help us. It’s hard to be sad/upset/worried when listening to a cat’s steady purr.

      Sometimes it takes several hours, but Sammy and Lizzy do eventually get the flies. They often knock everything off the tables in the process, but so far, nothing has been broken.

      As always, thanks for your visit and leaving your comment.

  4. pattyabr May 26, 2011 / 9:14 AM

    I’ve always said that if our dog had functional people arms and could talk she would be taking messages, getting the mail, dusting. She is so eager to help. AND she gets a salary – treats, twice daily meals, a great house and lots of walks and love.

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2011 / 8:04 PM

      It sounds like your dog has some great perks, Patty! Dogs are people-pleasers – they are sweet that way. They are also more obedient and cooperative than cats (in my experience.)

      Thanks for stopping by to share how your dog helps you. I’m glad you have her around to love 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2011 / 8:06 PM

      Nice, Carl! Yes, the paw does make the law. I love watching them do their thing. For some reason, I find cats graceful even when they slide off the edge of my desk when chasing a fly.

  5. nrhatch May 26, 2011 / 11:45 AM

    Tigger helps around the house by:

    * acting as our alarm clock . . . an hour BEFORE we need to get up.
    * reminding of to get some fresh air . . . by taking him out
    * encouraging us to exercise . . . with gentle stretches
    * reminding us to . . . BE HERE NOW.

    Thanks, Janna.

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2011 / 8:13 PM

      That is one helpful kitty. Good for Tigger – he keeps you relaxed and healthy 🙂 I have to laugh at the early wake up, though because my cat (Cybil) will sometimes do that when she decides it’s time for me to pet her. Very effective!

      Thanks for taking the time to share how Tigger helps, Nancy. I’m glad he’s taking good care of you.

  6. Blossom Dreams May 26, 2011 / 1:30 PM

    Love the poem inspired by your cute cats. They’re adorable.

    My dog sometimes helps me by acting as a pillow for me in the middle of the night…well, I wake up and there she is, sleeping at my head! Normally she sleeps under the bed, but during the night she makes herself at home IN my bed! lol

    Chloe xx

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2011 / 8:18 PM

      Thanks, Chloe! Sneaky dog you have there. She knows where the cozy place to sleep is 🙂 It doesn’t sound like you mind sharing your space, though. (Just so you know, if she was a cat, she wouldn’t act like a pillow – she would lay her furry belly on your face while you’re sleeping so you move out of the way and then lay on the pillow, stretching so as to take up the entire length of your pillow. This is what Cybil does, anyway :))

      • Blossom Dreams May 30, 2011 / 8:18 AM

        LOL – how funny that Cybil lies her furry belly on your face while you’re sleeping – that’s between cute and really frightening – lol 😀

        Still, we gotta love our little babies huh? xx

        • JannatWrites May 30, 2011 / 10:25 AM

          Yes, we do love our little babies! (Even when they are frightening :))

  7. widdershins May 26, 2011 / 8:16 PM

    A purring headwarmer when asleep. Nuff said!

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2011 / 8:22 PM

      Totally agree. There’s nothing like falling asleep with a purring kitty nuzzled against you. (Though my hubby would disagree, because he is not much of a cat person.)

      Thanks for your addition to the list of how our pets help. I’m glad you stopped by, Widdershins 🙂

  8. Amanda Hoving May 27, 2011 / 6:10 AM

    Fun poem, Janna. No pets here, but I wish I had one if they could be on mosquito patrol in the summer. I hate when those things get in the house!

    • jannatwrites May 27, 2011 / 7:44 PM

      I agree, Amanda – a mosquito eater would be nice. Mosquito bites are so annoying.

  9. dorcas May 27, 2011 / 4:58 PM

    Getting a dog sure crossed my mind after reading this 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 27, 2011 / 8:14 PM

      I’ve always had pets around – they are wonderful. I find that cats are much easier to take care of (you can go away for a weekend trip without having to find a sitter), but dogs are more loyal (they will actually come when you call them.)

Got an opinion? Share it!

