Monsters and Poetry

As I thought about what to write for today’s post, I came to a startling realization:  life is a dangerous word-gobbling monster.

Seriously.  I know I’ve written some crazy stuff in the past, but this is for real.  It looks friendly enough, almost like it’s smiling.  That’s how life is.  But believe me when I tell you, it feeds off my words before they even get written.  Life’s hunger is never satisfied – the more writing time and words on a page it devours, the more it craves.  (It’s kind of like me with a pan of brownies.)

Looking through the topics of my last couple months of blog posts, I realized that life is getting too large – it’s absorbed too much writing.  And, how am I supposed to write about writing when I’m not even writing very much these days?

Today, I’ve decided to put life on a diet.  Not a drastic one, I don’t want to starve it because life should be lived and enjoyed.  It’s a small step, but I’ve made a new goal to do at least one writing-related post a week.  I’m starting today with a simple poem, since April is Poetry Month.  After reading it, you may wonder why I didn’t just feed it to the life monster.  I honestly don’t know…

Tee-Ball

He approaches the tee,

Uniformed in white and blue.

He prepares to swing-

To show what he can do.

Anticipation in his eyes,

Sweat on his brow,

He knows it’s almost time;

Right……..now!

He misses the ball,

Instead, tipping the tee.

His shoulders fall

As he looks back at me.

“Maybe next time!”

“Go ahead,” I say.

He plants his feet in line,

His bat set to play.

On his fourth swing,

The hit gets him to first.

In his smile, I see,

A life lesson learned.

I hope your writing flourishes and does not become a tasty snack for the relentless life monster 🙂

28 thoughts on “Monsters and Poetry

  1. Jackie Paulson 1966 April 14, 2011 / 7:43 AM

    ღ˚ •。* ♥ ˚ ˚✰˚ ˛★* 。 ღ˛° 。* °♥ ˚ • ★ *˚ .ღ 。
    *˛˚ღ •˚ ˚…just sprinkling a little Love on your Blog˚ ✰* ★
    ˚. ★ *˛ ˚♥* ✰。˚ ˚ღ。* ˛˚ ♥ 。✰˚* ˚ ★ღ ˚ 。✰ •* ˚ ♥”

    http://divorceissues.wordpress.com/

    • jannatwrites April 14, 2011 / 8:08 PM

      Cute comment, Jackie. Thanks! My blog definitely feels the love 🙂

  2. Bill Greeves April 14, 2011 / 8:22 AM

    Sounds like you are facing the similar problem I just wrote about last week regarding finding the time to “do it all” and still be able to write. For me, most of the those things in life that keep me from writing are positive and worthy, so I am not sure I would characterize mine as a monster. But they definitely can be a black hole with regards to writing. Most of the other things in my life have a due date and or a cost associated with doing them (or not doing them). My writing, today, does not. So unfortunately it gets shuffled to back burner (along with sleep). I hope your life diet goes well and you see the waistline of your writing expand (which I think is a good thing, right?) Keep us posted, especially with tips for our own life diets!

    • jannatwrites April 14, 2011 / 8:14 PM

      Yes, an expanded writing waistline would be good (an expanded waistline on me is bad!)

      Like you, most of my life is filled with necessary obligations, but my goal is to make better use of my tiny pockets of open time for writing. Also, by making a commitment with myself to do one writing blog post a week, it at least gets me to acknowledge my writing instead of letting it get shifted to the bottom of my priority list.

      If I find out some great tips, I’ll write a book and sell it to you! Only kidding, I’d post it here, of course 😉

  3. SuziCate April 14, 2011 / 8:32 AM

    I love this…takes me back to the good old ball days when my boys were small! Yes, life takes lots of writing time. It seems it takes all my time between living and maintaining a blog that no other writing gets done. I’ve had to choose between my blog and other WIPs…obviously I’ve chosen my blog…but I also choose to live because that it where everything important is. Enjoy your life and writing whatever your heart decides…it will guide you where you need to be.

    • jannatwrites April 14, 2011 / 8:30 PM

      I’m glad you liked the poem, SuziCate. I agree with you that we have to live life. I certainly don’t want to miss out on life by spending all of my time in front of the computer. I may be asking for too much, but I’m looking for a better balance so that I can get some writing (outside of blog posts) done.

  4. pattisj April 14, 2011 / 8:36 AM

    That’s an interesting way to look at it. It comes down to priorities, I think, and what matters most. I’ve been pruning some of those overgrown branches, to allow me to focus on who I am becoming. My big goal this year was to start a blog, but I had no idea what I was getting myself into! I don’t regret it one bit; it has been life changing, and those changes are usually painful until we get life back “in order.” Here’s to the new “normal!”

    • jannatwrites April 14, 2011 / 8:35 PM

      I’ve been allowing life to take over and have pushed writing to the side. I haven’t fought to maintain writing time, which is what I want to change.

      It’s amazing how much time blog writing (and reading) can take up! But I’m not going to stop it because it’s fun…and I often learn something about myself as I write the posts 🙂 Good luck finding your new normal, Patti!

  5. Carol Ann Hoel April 14, 2011 / 9:28 AM

    You stole back from the life monster words right out of his mouth in this lovely poem. Mom writes. She’s been there, done that. She’s Mom. Beautiful poem. I like the photo, too! Blessings to you, Janna…

    • jannatwrites April 14, 2011 / 8:44 PM

      I guess I did steal back some words, didn’t I?

      I’m glad you liked the poem and photo, Carol. It’s funny to me how he can look so big and so little at the same time 🙂

  6. TimW April 14, 2011 / 9:44 AM

    First Procrastination Zombies, not Word Eating Life Monsters. What’s next, Idea Vampires? 🙂

    Boy steps up to bat
    Ball sits atop the tee-post
    Anticipation
    Swing and a miss, two strikes now
    But games do not define you

    • jannatwrites April 14, 2011 / 8:51 PM

      Hey, how did you know that I’ve had problems with Idea Vampires?!

      I would agree that the game itself does not define a person. However, I do think that how a person carries themselves when playing is a good indication of his/her character. (Does he throw a temper tantrum after making a mistake? Does he quit when he doesn’t master a task? or Does he keep at it until he gets it right?) To me, it’s not about winning/losing – it’s about how he handles challenges.

  7. nrhatch April 14, 2011 / 11:00 AM

    FUN post and poem, Janna.

    The reason I started the Just One Thing challenge was to “clear the decks” to be a bit more serious about my writing. Instead, it’s motivated me to get up from the keyboard and exercise. That’s a good thing, but it’s also time consuming.

    Here’s to finding exactly the right balance right . . . now!

    • jannatwrites April 14, 2011 / 9:03 PM

      Glad you had fun, Nancy! Your Just One Thing challenge got a mind of its own 🙂 I hope writing finds its way into the mix.

      In the spirit of your challenge, I’ve cleared a couple of big things of my to-do list. Thanks for the support as I attempt to find the right balance!

  8. Debbie April 14, 2011 / 12:10 PM

    Aw, gee, Janna, this takes me back to all those T-Ball practices/games when my son was little! When the action got “boring” (you know what I mean — every mom knows what I mean!), I’d pull out my spiral notebook and write away! My son knew, but he didn’t seem to mind as long as I was paying attention when he did something wonderful. Good luck finding the balance you crave — I’m afraid it’s going to be a lifelong search for me!

    • jannatwrites April 14, 2011 / 9:16 PM

      Oh, yes, I do know what you mean by the boring times. Both kids always look to see if I’m paying attention, so I don’t get away with writing (well, much more than jotting down an idea, that is.) I have a feeling that I’ll be right there with you on the lifelong search for balance. (I think that’s the “one thing” that Curly was talking about in the City Slickers movie with Billy Crystal.)

      Thanks for your support, Debbie 🙂

  9. widdershins April 14, 2011 / 2:34 PM

    Wonderful poem . . .I’d put that up there with that wonderful poem about ‘Casey coming up to bat’.

    • jannatwrites April 14, 2011 / 9:18 PM

      Thanks, Widdershins! I’m glad you enjoyed the poem. I didn’t think it would be as well-received as it was, so it’s a pleasant surprise 🙂

  10. clarbojahn April 15, 2011 / 4:09 PM

    This brought me back to when my boys were in sports of all kinds for many years. I miss it. I wrote in journals back then as now. I’d lose sleep just to write. I couldn’t sleep if I didn’t write. But it wasn’t my WIP but I have all those notes I can use now. Write about what your children do OK? I didn’t do that enough and now its too late. One’s coming to spend the night to day though and I can’t wait to talk late into the night.

    • jannatwrites April 15, 2011 / 8:32 PM

      When my older son was four, I had a notebook where I wrote down many of the funny things he said. Unfortunately, things were just too busy and I didn’t do that for my younger son. Of course, we laughed a lot, but now I can’t remember exactly about what.

      I hope you enjoy your visit with your son! Thanks for stopping by and sharing your advice about writing, Clar 🙂

  11. Addy April 15, 2011 / 11:22 PM

    Oh Janna, I really liked your poem and the thought behing the post… It’s so true that life gobbles up everything so to speak, that I am now at a loss for words.. He He..

    Best Wishes,
    Addy

    • jannatwrites April 16, 2011 / 7:54 AM

      Thanks, Addy! I’m glad you liked the post. I’m still fighting the battle, but haven’t lost hope for writing time.

      I hope life lets you find your words 🙂

    • pattisj April 16, 2011 / 10:08 AM

      Love your sense of humor, Addy.

      • Addy April 17, 2011 / 10:52 PM

        Oh thanks a lot pattisj 🙂

  12. Amanda Hoving April 18, 2011 / 8:17 AM

    Perfect post to marry life *with* writing, Janna!

    • jannatwrites April 18, 2011 / 9:52 PM

      Thanks for stopping by, Amanda. Life and writing should be able to co-habitate, right?

Got an opinion? Share it!

