I Smell A Rat

Co-Worker

On Tuesday, I discovered that some revealing photos of me had been seen by others in my office.  In these pictures, I’d been caught doing something I shouldn’t have been doing in the boss’ office.  I was aware these photos had been taken, but I trusted the pictures would not be shared with others.  Now, I’m doing damage control to protect my reputation, while working through the betrayal.  Yes, I’m attempting to convince my boss that I was framed and did not act alone in the April Fool’s Day activities.

What?  Did you think I had “skin” photos out there?  I can’t believe you’d think that about me!  I’m the type of girl who wears a knee-length t-shirt over her swim suit and opts for crop pants instead of shorts.  Just like permanent eye damage can result from looking directly at the sun, it’s not a good idea to see too much of my super-fair skin.  A daring photo of me would look less like a scantily clad model on a Sports Illustrated swimsuit edition cover, and more like this:

image via Wikipedia

The treason was discovered when I dropped something off on my boss’ desk and noticed his normally solid blue background on his computer screen was colorful.  I looked closer and realized that the image was of me standing on his desk with pens and tape dispenser nearby.  Yes, evidence had been passed to the other side.

It's not what it looks like....really!

I gasped.  Then I stammered, “You do realize those are, uh, doctored photos, right?”  Boss just laughed, so I tried a different tack.  “Someone had to snap those pictures, right?  That person knew what was going on and did nothing to stop it, so they are an accessory to the prank.”  Oh yeah, that was a serious accusation, but no way would I take the hit solo!

I pranked in trust and got burned; I got double-crossed by a sneaky rat.  I don’t know what I’m going to do about that yet, but one day this person will get an extra helping of payback.  It won’t be tomorrow or even next week.  No, it will be long after a normal person would have forgotten all about this and moved on 🙂

For those of you who think I am half-past nuts, I won’t try to change your mind (hey, when you’re right, you’re right.)  I did want to assure you that this “revenge” plot is all in good fun and there will be no physical damage to any person or property.  I cannot make the same promise about psychological injury, though 😉 Game on!

Do you have any clever, sneaky payback ideas?  If so, please share…It’ll be our little secret!

10 thoughts on “I Smell A Rat

  1. Debbie April 7, 2011 / 11:15 AM

    Working solo has its perks, Janna — one of which is not having to worry about anybody pranking me or paying me back for pranking! I’d advise the “rat” to start being careful, VERY careful!

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2011 / 8:17 PM

      Those are great benefits of working solo, Debbie! But the payback is kind of entertaining, too. The “rat” should be careful, but I’m hoping for a dropped guard after enough time passes 🙂

  2. nrhatch April 7, 2011 / 11:21 AM

    Hahahaha! Your office must be a blast to work in ~ fun boss and co-workers, plus YOU!

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2011 / 8:18 PM

      Well, Nancy, there’s drama in some parts of the office, but I don’t write about that (I try to avoid it, too)! Our area is pretty laid back – as long as we get our jobs done, we’re okay 🙂

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2011 / 8:19 PM

      I’ve already written down a couple ideas for next year. If I can just remember where I wrote them, I’ll be in great shape 😉

  3. Aligaeta April 7, 2011 / 2:31 PM

    It looks like you got caught having a real good time 🙂 May the fun continue!

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2011 / 8:24 PM

      Yep, I was busted. I knew I was probably a lead suspect, but it’s different when there’s “evidence” to prove it. I’ll wait a while before I do anything, but I’ll keep my eyes open for opportunity…

  4. Cities of the Mind April 7, 2011 / 2:36 PM

    This is hysterical Janna! But really now, who takes pictures in order to keep them secret?

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2011 / 8:27 PM

      Glad you enjoyed, Connor. Doesn’t everyone take pictures without sharing?

      Wait a second….Maybe that land I just bought for next-to-nothing in Florida wasn’t really beach-front after all…

Got an opinion? Share it!

