Daily Inspiration

Earlier this week, I started reading Life’s Simple Guide to God.  The cover of the book sums it up best when it describes it as “Inspirational Insights for Growing Closer to God.”

I bought this book last summer, along with about fifteen other books, during a great online sale at Barnes & Noble.  It’s small, so I dropped it into my laptop bag (which houses my laptop used for work) and thought it would be great lunchtime reading.  You guessed it:  I’ve never opened the cover until a few days ago.

Each “inspiration” is a 2-page spread, beginning with a scripture reference (which is good, so I can read more in the Bible.)  The first day, I opened the book to find an inspiration titled “Be On The Lookout For Miracles.”  Luke 19:37 was referenced: 

As they reached the place where the road started down from the Mount of Olives, all of his followers began to shout and sing as they walked along, praising God for all the wonderful miracles they had seen.

I found this a bit amusing because I recently wrote about miracles, so you know I believe in them and search for them like constellations in the city sky.  (I find more miracles than constellations, in case you were wondering.)

On day 2, I flipped the page to find “Adjust Your Priorities” and a reference to Matthew 6:33:

[Jesus said,] Put God’s kingdom first.  Do what he wants you to do.  Then all of those things will also be given to you.

I laughed (am I supposed to laugh at words of inspiration?) because I’ve been writing recently about life’s demands eroding away my writing time.  The message was to seek God’s presence for the strength to face each day.  A part of me wondered if it was possible that I’m not supposed to be writing.  I hope not, because I enjoy writing.  (If my computer is destroyed by spontaneous combustion, I’ll take that as I sign I should be doing something else.)

It was a little eerie to have the first two days be so relevant, so I scanned the topics for the next couple days:  Let Go Of Self (they pose the question, “what have you done lately for someone other than yourself?”) and Give Up Your Grudges (with the question, “whom do you need to forgive today? Do it.”)

I think God is trying to tell me to get over being mad about the empty toilet paper holder and to go replace the cardboard cylinder with a new roll.

Have you found any books of inspiration that have meshed with your life?

18 thoughts on “Daily Inspiration

  1. 1959duke March 27, 2011 / 6:24 AM

    Just a reminder that everything happens in his time and not ours.

    • jannatwrites March 27, 2011 / 7:26 PM

      So true, Duke. That is something that I need to keep in mind.

  2. Debbie March 27, 2011 / 7:47 AM

    I find it uncanny how so many daily devotionals mesh with what’s going on in our lives — it’s almost like the author knows what we need and when we need it! Must be the hand of God at work!

    • jannatwrites March 27, 2011 / 7:28 PM

      Debbie, it was so strange to me because if I had read these pages last year (when I bought the book) I don’t think it would have hit me the same way. I agree that it must be the hand of God.

    • jannatwrites March 27, 2011 / 7:38 PM

      Your list was full of uplifting books, Nancy. I tend to lean toward fiction, but it’s always nice when a message stays with me long after I’ve finished it.

  3. Aligaeta March 27, 2011 / 10:03 AM

    I was pushing myself too hard in the garden, He gave us snow and then more snow, and then some more. I think He was teaching me patients; as I’m required to be patient in many areas of my life. Many things are not within my control. I just need to accept and be patient, knowing I have not be forgotten. He has a plan.

    • jannatwrites March 27, 2011 / 7:43 PM

      Patience is a really tough thing, Aligaeta. I struggle with it constantly. In time, His plan will surely be revealed – I hope it includes a bountiful garden 🙂

  4. Desi March 27, 2011 / 10:33 AM

    Today he’s making miracles IN YOU. Blessings! Pleasant post.

    • jannatwrites March 27, 2011 / 7:57 PM

      Thanks, Desi. I’m glad you liked the post and I appreciate your kindness 🙂

  5. dorcas March 27, 2011 / 11:08 AM

    Lotsa books… but nothing to beat the good old BIble 🙂 What amazes me is a single verse can mean so many different things at different times in our lives… Isn’t it wonderful that God finds a way of telling us what He wants to through so many different ways.. 🙂

    I am in love with your posts Janna.. especially the sunday ones. So honest they are. 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 27, 2011 / 7:48 PM

      I agree that the Bible is the ultimate resource. I like that this new book I’m reading also gives me a scripture reference so I can read more about it.

      I do appreciate your compliment, Dorcas. God influences my posts (especially my Sunday ones) and I am pleased that they impact you in some way. Thank you 🙂

  6. Carol Ann Hoel March 27, 2011 / 3:53 PM

    Great post, Janna. I sometimes think that God doesn’t want me to write because I have a hard time finding time. He reminds me that I have a hard time finding time to spend focused just on Him, too. This doesn’t make me think He wants me to quit spending time with Him. 🙂

    You Were Born for This, by Bruce Wilkinson, was pretty cool. It was all about miracles and making them happen. You’d have to read it to understand. I know only God makes a miracle. Blessings to you, Janna…

    • jannatwrites March 27, 2011 / 7:50 PM

      I haven’t heard of that book, Carol. It sounds interesting, though.

      If your poetry is any indication, I think God DOES want you to write. Just my opinion, though 🙂

  7. pattyabr March 27, 2011 / 7:27 PM

    Forgiveness is really hard for me. If any miracle would happen it would be that I could let go and let God. I struggle with that everyday.

    • jannatwrites March 27, 2011 / 7:54 PM

      I appreciate your honesty, Patty. Forgiveness is a struggle for me, too. It often happens that I think I’m long over something and it keeps bubbling up again, so I have to re-forgive. I was at a women’s retreat this weekend – forgiveness was the theme – and it seems this is quite common.

  8. clarbojahn March 28, 2011 / 5:47 PM

    A book about forgiveness is “A Course In Miracles”. I’m reading for the second time. It is a life changer. It teaches we are all children of God. And we are not separated from Him.

    • jannatwrites March 28, 2011 / 10:26 PM

      It’s so wonderful when we find a book worth reading over again! I’m glad “A Course In Miracles” is so meaningful to you. Thanks for sharing your inspirational read. After this post, I’ve got more titles to look at if my reading well runs dry 😉

Got an opinion? Share it!

