Angel Speaks, Joseph Listens

This week, I dipped my toe in the water of God’s word by reading a few verses in Matthew.  I prayed that my brain would comprehend the words and absorb the message.  I was prepared to be amazed by the Bible, but I didn’t expect it to happen so early in the chapter.

Matthew 1:18-19, revealed that when Joseph discovered Mary was pregnant, he planned to divorce Mary quietly so she wouldn’t be subject to public disgrace.

Yes, in just a few short verses I was already struck by how thoughtful Joseph was by not wanting to humiliate his wife-to-be.  If this situation arose today, both parties would be hashing it out on the Jerry Springer show.  Joseph would be hurling insults at Mary, assaulting her virtue and Mary would be tearfully pleading her innocence (to ears that had no desire to listen, I might add.)

In Matthew 1:20-24 Joseph is visited by an angel in a dream, who reveals that Mary’s baby is from the Holy Spirit and that he should not be afraid to take Mary as a wife.  Joseph obeyed the angel and married her.

Here I sat, surprised again.  In a day long before paternity tests, Joseph obeyed a dream and married a woman that was carrying a child that was not his.  He trusted that that the angel spoke the truth and Mary had not been unfaithful to him. I couldn’t help but wonder if a man today would have reacted with such faithfulness.   In a day where “prove it” seems to be the rule, how many men could trust without verifying?

These were my thoughts as I read the first few verses in the book of Matthew and let the words sink in.  Humans are flawed and we don’t always give others the benefit of the doubt.  Because of this, the whole conception of Jesus and Joseph’s obedience is quite miraculous to me.

12 thoughts on “Angel Speaks, Joseph Listens

  1. Desi March 13, 2011 / 6:15 AM

    This post prompted me to open the bible and read the verses you have mentioned. V.19 says Joseph is a “just man” (NKJV Bible). Sometime in the past I was going through the same phase you did on these verses. Joseph’s virtuous character is the fruit of his close relationship with God. 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 14, 2011 / 7:25 PM

      Yes, Desi, I do think that Jospeh’s character was because of his relationship with God. I don’t think a man would behave as he did otherwise.

      (BTW, I was reading the NIV version, which may be slightly different – it described him as a ‘righteous man’.)

      Thanks for visiting and commenting, Desi 🙂

  2. 1959duke March 13, 2011 / 8:28 AM

    The loyalty that Joseph is amazing. I know I couldn’t have been that loyal.

    • jannatwrites March 14, 2011 / 7:27 PM

      You get a point for honesty, Duke! His trust is so amazing (and admirable) that I can’t help but be struck by it.

  3. Debbie March 13, 2011 / 11:14 AM

    See? You’ve already touched on some Bible mysteries — and these are just the tip of the iceberg! Keep reading and being amazed!

    • jannatwrites March 14, 2011 / 7:28 PM

      Thanks, Debbie! I know there is so much more to uncover – more than I can get to in my entire lifetime, I suspect. I’ll keep reading, for sure 🙂

  4. J. P. Cabit March 13, 2011 / 12:33 PM

    That is an amazing story. Imagine how Mary must have felt!!! (Socially I mean)

    • jannatwrites March 14, 2011 / 7:30 PM

      Good point, Seph. Girls in her position were ridiculed when I was in high school, so I’m sure it was as bad – or worse. And Mary’s parents must’ve been beside themselves. I would think that Mary must’ve been scared – I would’ve been terrified.

  5. Carol Ann Hoel March 13, 2011 / 3:47 PM

    Joseph was one of a kind, I suppose, handpicked for his role as husband of Mary and earthly guardian of Jesus. Yet, like us, he lived by faith, trusting God for guidance. Blessings to you, Janna…

    • jannatwrites March 14, 2011 / 7:32 PM

      Joseph’s trust in God is something I do admire. His faith didn’t fail him, even in his unusual situation. Thanks for your comment, Carol 🙂

  6. Jackie Paulson 1966 March 14, 2011 / 9:30 PM

    I love the story of Joseph. His work and role back then. Just imagine how Mary would feel today is right on~ 🙂 Great post, Jackie

    • jannatwrites March 14, 2011 / 9:41 PM

      I’m glad you enjoyed the post enough to comment, Jackie! Mary and Joseph both had amazing faith.

Got an opinion? Share it!

