Open Hearts Believe In Miracles

I’ve read several more chapter of Know Why You Believe by Paul E. Little.  Since the last update on my reading status, the book as discussed the following questions:  Is the Bible God’s Word?  Are The Bible Documents Reliable?  Does Archaeology Verify Scripture? Are Miracles Possible?

I found the chapter on miracles particularly interesting.  The Bible notes several miracles performed by Jesus.  This book notes that miracles were done to confirm Jesus’ message and God’s truth.  Jesus never gave in to temptation to perform miracles for entertainment, or for any reason other than teaching spiritual truth.

The book also explains that miracles aren’t necessary for us today because the records of miracles noted in the Bible have been proven to be very accurate.  Based on this, we don’t need miracles to have faith in the truth of God – the proof is already there for us to believe (or not.)

Even though miracles may not be needed to build our faith in God, I still believe they happen.  Un-believers can explain unexplainable occurrences away as coincidences or flukes, but I see them as God’s way of reminding us of his presence. 

I’ve read stories about terminally ill cancer patients given months to live, but they live completely healed five years later.  These stories tell me two things:  1) Doctors aren’t God, so they can’t tell us with certainty when we will die; and 2) God has a plan, and if it’s not our time to go, we stay.

I have had things happen in my life that may not qualify as miracle status, but they are striking enough that I feel God played a part in them happening.  I’ll share one experience with you:

My older son suffered from chronic ear infections as a baby.  Because of the continuous clogging of his ears, he was significantly delayed in his speech development.  When he was two-and-a-half, he was tested for cognitive and speech impairment.  They found his cognitive functioning was fine, but he had ‘moderate to severe’ delays in speech.

We were told that this period was crucial for speech development.  They explained that speech therapy services had a 6-month wait list, and that services couldn’t be obtained through the school district until he was three.  Then they shared more bad news:  speech therapists charged an average of $100 per session (not covered by insurance) and a shortage of therapists meant that finding one could be difficult.

I don’t remember exactly how much time passed, but it was soon after this meeting that I had an appointment at the salon to get my eyebrows done.  Like beauticians and bartenders, estheticians are great listeners.  After I finished telling her the story of our predicament, she said, “You know what?  I have a client who is a speech therapist for <name of school district>.  I’ll give her your number.”

I left that day with some great looking eyebrows and a renewed sense of hope.  I wondered if she really would talk to her client (lots of people say things that never get done.)  So I wouldn’t get my hopes up too high, I told myself that she was probably too busy.  The fact that we couldn’t afford $100 a week loomed in the back of my mind.  To my surprise, the woman called several days later.  She was booked, but could work in one more. 

For six months (until he qualified for preschool services with the school district), she came to our house once a week and taught us some sign language so we could communicate basic needs.  She did muscle strengthening exercises with him, and showed us some to do on our own in her absence.  Most importantly, she gave us hope that everything would indeed be all right.  She did all this for a price we could afford.

If I hadn’t gone to the esthetician my mom recommended; if that esthetician hadn’t left the salon and I got scheduled with the other one; if I hadn’t mentioned our situation to her, we may have been in for a long wait.  Skeptics may look at this situation as a lucky coincidence.  I think it was God.

<Our older son is eight years old and still receives speech therapy services.  We think this may be the last year he will need them, as he is working on the last letter:  “R.”>

Have you witnessed any miracles (or mini-miracles)?  I’d love to read your experiences.

26 thoughts on “Open Hearts Believe In Miracles

  1. Debbie March 6, 2011 / 8:02 AM

    What an uplifting post! Like you, I believe miracles happen every day, if we’re just open to them. Several years ago, I was in an auto accident. An off-duty cop changed his mind about exiting the freeway and slammed into my vehicle, careening me onto a guard rail in a construction zone. I managed to get out, thanks to a short young Mexican man. When I looked around to thank him again for helping me, he was nowhere to be seen. Was that an angel? I think so!

    • jannatwrites March 6, 2011 / 8:19 PM

      I’m glad you enjoyed the post, Debbie!

      What an amazing experience your shared. I got goosebumps when I read it because I also believe God was looking out for you. I’m so happy that you came through okay and that the man was there to help you. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. 1959duke March 6, 2011 / 8:22 AM

    Why would there not be miracles today? Did God say to himself one day “This miracle stuff is really getting boring to me so lets play with the stars for awhile”? My wife has said she has had surgeons come out after surgery and say that they were able to do thing that they did not have the skills or training to do.

    • jannatwrites March 6, 2011 / 8:24 PM

      The book explained that they weren’t needed to confirm faith because well-documented miracles already exist. I don’t think it said they didn’t happen – which is good, because I think they do.

      You make a great point about the surgeons being ‘helped’. I think anyone can have similar experiences.

  3. T.S. Bazelli March 6, 2011 / 9:30 AM

    Oh yes I believe in miracles. I think little ones happen everyday, but we don’t always pay attention. Two big ones come to mind for me. I was traveling (and lost) in the middle of an old city in the middle of the night. I had no idea how to find my hotel. I had no map, and all the shops were closed. I rounded a corner down a dark alley and a trio of dogs blocked one road, barking. So I took the other path and a block later I found the hotel. There’s also the story of how I met my husband, it involves a miracle, but that’s a longer story 😉

    • jannatwrites March 6, 2011 / 8:32 PM

      I hadn’t thought about that, Tess. I wonder how many little miracles go right by us?

      Being lost is so scary and the dogs would have just scared the wits out of me. I imagine it must have been such a relief to find your hotel. I’d love to know the miracle of how you met your husband. Maybe you’ll write about it one day? Thanks for sharing your encounter with miracles!

  4. pattyabr March 6, 2011 / 10:25 AM

    The miracle lies in your comfortability to share your problem. Then you are able to receive the blessings. I attended a caregivers workshop yesterday that highlighted that very point.

    Then attending church services last evening, the priest talked about how we all need to stop and listen to each other. I sat next to a woman during the church service who shared her story with me as a caregiver to her disabled husband. I shared my insight into helping disabled people and their caregivers (since I have that expertise). One phrase from the priest’s sermon last evening is sticking with me today. People will care what you know when they know that you care.

    We are all out there in the world struggling to cope with the day to day. Illness and disability can throw any functioning family or person’s balance off. Keep believing in miracles, they exist if you are out there to receive them.

    • jannatwrites March 6, 2011 / 8:43 PM

      I like that: “people will care what you know when they know that you care.” That is true.

      We do all have struggles and I hope that many others believe in miracles and slow down long enough to recognize them. Thank you for stopping by and sharing your experience from the caregivers’ workshop and sermon, Patty. It’s interesting how the two fit together.

    • jannatwrites March 6, 2011 / 8:53 PM

      Those are 2 great quotes, Nancy. Great story you linked to – I have also had situations that seemed awful, but looking back, things turned out for the better.

  5. dorcas March 6, 2011 / 12:31 PM

    Miracles do happen. Amen to that Janna. I pray that your boy becomes a great orator someday.

    My visa to canada kept getting rejected for reasons that I could not understand.On my first wedding anniversary, I was feeling really horrible cause I had been away from my hubby for 6 months with no definite date on seeing him again. I went to the church, sat and cried all alone. In, exactly 10 days from then, I got my visa. And they din’t even ask for my medicals 🙂 Another 10 days from then, I was with my hubby 🙂

    When God does something, HE does it BIG. 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 6, 2011 / 9:01 PM

      Thanks, Dorcas. My son talks our ears off – and his r’s are getting better each day.

      You’ve shared a great story – God did come through for you, but he did make you suffer first, didn’t he? I’m so happy you got to be with your husband after the long time apart. You are so right – that’s BIG 🙂

  6. Carol Ann Hoel March 6, 2011 / 4:23 PM

    I believe it was God, too, Janna. If I didn’t believe in miracles, I’d be afraid everyday. Since I do believe in miracles, I expect to be loved and cared for while I walk this planet day by day. God is able to perform all His promises, and I intend to know what those promises are and what, if any, conditions exist. Sometimes we forget to read the fine print. I’m reading the fine print carefully. God’s promises are awesome! Blessings to you, Janna…

    • jannatwrites March 6, 2011 / 9:09 PM

      Good for you for reading the fine print, Carol. Miracles bring hope, and belief in them provides strength. I’m sure you’ll notice the miracles that come your way because you’re paying attention 🙂 Thanks for visiting and sharing your thoughts.

  7. SuziCate March 9, 2011 / 6:55 AM

    Just added that to my Kindle wish list! I’ve found that most concepts I believe have been because I was told to…am discovering more and more every day.

    • jannatwrites March 9, 2011 / 8:41 PM

      That’s exactly why I started reading the book. There’s a lot of information, but I’m hoping by the end of the book I will believe have a firm grasp on why I believe (which will result in deeper belief.)

      The pastor mentioned a couple more books that I haven’t had a chance to look into: Case for Faith & Case for Christ (both by Lee Strobel.)

  8. 1959duke March 9, 2011 / 8:34 AM

    No problem on the repost. My whole purpose on here is to make you a star!

    • jannatwrites March 9, 2011 / 8:43 PM

      You’re too funny, Duke! A star is something I don’t aspire to be, but it’s always nice to meet new blog friends 🙂

  9. clarbojahn March 9, 2011 / 3:22 PM

    I believe in miracles, too. The Course in Miracles I’m taking and have been a student of says there “Is no order of difficulty in miracles. One is not ‘harder’ or ‘bigger’ than another. They are all the same. All expressions of Love are maximal”. “Miracles as such do not matter. The only thing that matters is their Source, which is far beyond evaluation”. “Miracles occur naturally as expressions of love. The real miracle is the love that inspires them. In this sense everything that comes from love is a miracle.”
    These are the first three sentences from the first chapter in “A Course in Miracles” the text.It goes on to talk about the 50 principles of miracles.

    So deduct from that what I believe— That Love is God and miracles are inspired by Love. I see miracles every day. There are no large or small miracles. This book was written by Helen Schucman and William Thetford, professors at of Medical Psychology and they had to find another way to get along when Helen started having bad dreams and when she started writing about them, this is what came out. She claims it was the Voice of Jesus and when I read this book I believe it too. No one, especially not a Jew could know all that it says.and claims. That is a miracle!

    Thank you for this post, Janna and for the comment on the other post about how to guest post. Thankyou for being the “Light of the World” and not letting your light hide under a bushel basket.

    • jannatwrites March 9, 2011 / 8:56 PM

      The quote is an interesting opening to the book. Hope, love, faith and miracles are all tied together. When we follow one thread, it leads to the others. I think that love softens our hearts and opens the way for us to acknowledge miracles.

      Thanks for your thoughtful comment, and your kind words, Clar. I do appreciate your contribution to the discussion 🙂

  10. 1959duke March 10, 2011 / 8:05 AM

    You never know abit of publicity and your off. Then you won’t comment to us who made you a star. I guess thats the price we must pay!

    • jannatwrites March 10, 2011 / 8:52 PM

      I don’t know, Duke. I doubt I’ll ever get to the point where I don’t respond. That’s just not nice 😉

      • 1959duke March 11, 2011 / 8:22 AM

        You are right though. This blogging stuff is no different than the rest of society. Some people think only about themselves.

Got an opinion? Share it!

