Even An Outcast Post Deserves A Home

For the second post in a row, I’m winging it at the last minute.  For normal people, this wouldn’t be a big deal, but I’m a girl who plans.  I go on vacation and pack for all possible weather scenarios.  We go anywhere on the weekend and I’ve got the parent survival kit with snacks, water, gum and napkins.  I keep an extra shirt and a jacket in the trunk of my car “just in case.”   Well, you get the idea.  I prepare.

I’m writing this on Thursday night for a Friday morning publish and I should’ve gone to bed an hour ago.  This last-minute post writing is a rush; it’s like I’m skydiving without the terror of bearing down on land, praying the guy who packed the parachute was having a great day.  Tomorrow, I may feel like I did plummet to earth, but with any luck, chocolate will save me.  If it lets me down, I’ll just curl up under my desk 😉

On Wednesday night, I made a few minor changes to my non-guest post with plans to post here today.  Once again, that post got yanked from the line up because of an unexpected surprise:  an email from another blog friend, eagerly suggesting that we swap posts.  Yes, it’s true:  someone felt sorry for my outcast post and wanted to give it a home on their blog.

A few emails back and forth and the details were worked out.  This person offered a post for my blog which meets my stringent guesting requirements (PG rated) and has agreed to post mine without editing.  (Does this person really know what they’re getting into???)

The swap is supposed to take place next Wednesday.  I won’t announce the post title ahead of time in case something happens.  I’m not superstitious, but I don’t want to jinx it, either.  Just in case, I’ve brought along a few things…

There.  That ought to do it 🙂

I’m excited about this new development (and I’m resisting the urge to reference the old cliché about doors opening and closing.  That would elicit a “groan heard ‘round the world.”)  We are going with a new post title that the other person picked out, but it’s the same general idea as the previous one.  This means I have some changes to make to match the new theme. 

Oh, don’t worry curious people – I won’t cut out the “controversial” parts.  With all this hype, I suspect there is going to be disappointment rivaling that of Dallas fans after discovering an entire season was just a dream.  (I may have just dated myself here, but for those of you who weren’t born yet, Dallas was a prime-time soap opera that aired in the eighties.  The nineteen-eighties, in case there was any confusion.)

Not that I want to offend the masses, but I am a bit curious if any eyebrows will be raised…or crinkled into disapproving frowns.

24 thoughts on “Even An Outcast Post Deserves A Home

  1. 1959duke March 4, 2011 / 7:56 AM

    You are so wonderful in what you write.

    • jannatwrites March 4, 2011 / 3:40 PM

      Thanks, Duke. I appreciate your nice comment 🙂

  2. Tori Nelson March 4, 2011 / 8:44 AM

    Happy to hear your post found a loving home! Can’t wait to read it 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 4, 2011 / 3:41 PM

      Things did work out in the end. I do hope you check it out on Wednesday. Thanks for stopping by, Tori!

    • jannatwrites March 4, 2011 / 3:41 PM

      Why thank you, Hilary! I hope it doesn’t offend 😉

  3. Cities of the Mind March 4, 2011 / 9:04 AM

    Planning ahead. . . so that’s how you have managed to produce coherent and well thought-out posts so often. Maybe I should try that.

    • jannatwrites March 4, 2011 / 3:44 PM

      Nah, planning is overrated. Wait…you said my posts were coherent and well thought-out? I wonder if you were on your 25th hour when you wrote that…

      I don’t think you should change a thing because your place is already interesting. Thanks for visiting today, Connor!

  4. nrhatch March 4, 2011 / 10:08 AM

    Janna ~ I love this post . . . and I’m psyched about the upcoming guest swap scheduled for Wednesday.

    I shall go on record though . . .

    If this second “promised” swap does not occur, for any reason, I am NOT going shoe shopping with you. I don’t like shopping, especially for shoes. 😀

    • jannatwrites March 4, 2011 / 3:48 PM

      Nancy, only one person would go shoe shopping with me and we don’t go anymore because we spend too much money. I guess there will be no shoes for me 😦

      I’m pretty sure the post will go as planned – I already have the other person’s post and she will have mine tomorrow. Hope to “see” you Wednesday!

  5. Carol Ann Hoel March 4, 2011 / 10:17 AM

    You have aroused my curiosity! I look forward to reading both posts. Blessings, Janna…

    • jannatwrites March 4, 2011 / 3:49 PM

      I hope you enjoy the posts, Carol. Thanks for visiting today 🙂

  6. Tim Weaver March 4, 2011 / 11:51 AM

    Well, you have the comfort of knowing there’s at least one of your readers who won’t be offended. Not to belittle you, but people with much more talent for being offensive have tried. Their egos lie along a trail of tears, broken men and women whose sense of self was shattered as they attempted, and failed, to offend me.

    Have at you!

    • jannatwrites March 4, 2011 / 3:52 PM

      Well, Tim it’s still possible the reader could be offended, as they haven’t seen the post yet 🙂

      I’m not offended at all because I don’t live to offend. In fact, I prefer not to because controversy and I don’t really get along. And, I wouldn’t even bother trying to offend you because I don’t think anyone can succeed at that. (I know my limitations and can admit my shortcomings!)

      • Tim Weaver March 4, 2011 / 5:01 PM

        My point wasn’t that you’d TRY to offend me, only that it wouldn’t. Knowing you the little I do, I would say that would be the last thing I think you’d attempt to be. 🙂

        • jannatwrites March 4, 2011 / 9:21 PM

          Hmmm. So no one has ever offended you? Sounds almost like a challenge! (one that I would not take because you’re right – I would not attempt to be offensive. I’m pretty sure it would look ridiculous on me :))

  7. clarbojahn March 4, 2011 / 5:08 PM

    How do you do a guest post? How does it happen that you end up on her blog? I may be in your ‘shoes’ soon and want to know how it’s done. Do you mind explaining it?
    Congrats go to you,, too of course.

    • jannatwrites March 4, 2011 / 9:29 PM

      I’ve only guested a few times, but in my experience, this is how it worked: a person leaves a comment on a post or sends an email asking if you would like to guest on their blog, or swap posts. Through email, the date & time of the swap, topic and any other details are worked out. When the post is written, you send it to the other person through email and that person posts your writing on their blog. Usually, the other person writes a short intro at the beginning and includes a link to your blog.

      I’m sure there’s other ways to handle it, but that’s how it’s worked for me. When someone has asked if I wanted to guest, I like to find out if they had a topic in mind so I don’t have to make a wild guess about what their readers could be interested in. Good luck, Clar!

  8. pattyabr March 4, 2011 / 10:37 PM

    you need a rabbit’s foot to add to your pictures of needing good luck. St Patrick’s day is coming…you also need a leprachaun and a rainbow with a pot of gold.

    • jannatwrites March 4, 2011 / 10:53 PM

      You know what’s funny? The rabbit’s foot was the first thing I thought of, and then I changed my mind because I imagined PETA finding out and peppering this page with hate messages. Now I could go for the leprachaun and rainbow with the pot of gold – those are innocuous, right?

      Thanks for the added ideas for luck, Patty. Seems I need that here lately 🙂

      • J. P. Cabit March 5, 2011 / 7:27 PM

        😀 lol, the PETA…ha ha…it is the nicest organization in the world!!! 😀

        • jannatwrites March 5, 2011 / 8:55 PM

          PETA is a great group…as long as you’re not wearing a fur coat, selling cat skin rugs (or possibly advocating the use of rabbits feet for luck :))

          Since I don’t do the first two, I figured I should stay away from the third!

        • J. P. Cabit March 6, 2011 / 5:06 AM

          :p I heard there was a pretty offensive PETA commercial recently. It’s just obnoxious when they get all militant about “It’s wrong to kill animals,” which it isn’t.

        • jannatwrites March 6, 2011 / 2:29 PM

          I don’t keep up with the latest commercials, but I don’t like ‘pushy’ commercials of any kind. (And I love a good steak :))

Got an opinion? Share it!

