Friday Fun – 7K (in Photo Words)

Two weeks ago, after pulling a nearly-empty box of cereal out of the cabinet, I got the idea to do a photo blog post depicting those annoying little things that provoke my urge to scream.  Since then, I’ve snapped a few pictures that are blog appropriate.  You’ll be happy to know that I skipped my hubby’s undies on the floor (next to the dirty clothes hamper) and the puddle in front of the toilet because no one needs to see that 🙂

If a picture is worth a thousand words, then this post would be over 7,000 words.  Luckily, I’m way too lazy to write that much!  The photo journal of my minor gripes is meant to be in fun.  Since I like to live on the bright side, the post will end on a positive note.  Have a fun Friday!

This is what older son's desk looks like AFTER he claims to have cleaned it. I don't ask his definition of "messy" because I'm afraid I'd need therapy to cope.

 

This evokes more of a groan than a scream, but I do get tired of barely-there milk...all because whoever uses it has to rinse the jug for recycle.

 

Kids don't like to clean the sink after teeth-brushing because it's "gross." News Flash: Mom may have changed your diapers, but she refuses to touch this.
Hubby fixed me lunch to eat at work: undercooked fried egg sandwich. Yolk dripped down my sweater and scarf, as well as on the book I was reading. Still, I didn't scream...but I think the chicken may have.

 If this was all my life brought me, I would certainly scream; I’d be pounding the walls in my own padded cell while people wearing white labcoats and holding clipboards stared at me in horror.  I’d like to share some of the things that make me smile.  Good thing, too because smiles are the mortal enemy of screams – there is no screaming when smiles are around.  *Whew*

  • A hug from my kids with a heart-felt, “Mommy, I love you.”  (Sorry, I can’t take a picture of that – no full-faced photos of the little guys allowed.  Remember? I’m paranoid.)
  • A “thank you” from my hubby when he acknowledges that I do a lot to keep sanity from running away from our house and never coming back.
Note from Hubby

and….

Cute letter from older son rescued from desk pit (pictured above)

Want to share?  What drives you crazy or keeps you sane?  I’d love to know!

24 thoughts on “Friday Fun – 7K (in Photo Words)

  1. knotrune February 11, 2011 / 7:00 AM

    Hehe, I’ve taken a few such pictures. One which springs to mind is of my husband’s coffee mug placed on the bookshelf right next to an empty coaster – aaargh!

    • jannatwrites February 11, 2011 / 4:24 PM

      You’re not alone…the coaster thing kind of bugs me, too. Some of it I just have to let go or I’d be mad all the time 😉

      Thanks for sharing your peeve, knotrune.

  2. Debbie February 11, 2011 / 7:29 AM

    Aw, this brings back those sweet memories of when my son was younger — yours must have read the “son’s book,” too, because his room has that same tidy-untidy thing going on, and he, too, left awfully cute messages. Hang on to ’em!

    • jannatwrites February 11, 2011 / 4:27 PM

      So there’s a book, huh? That must explain why they all behave like Messy Marvins 🙂

      I just got a scanner, so I’m starting to scan in the stacks of artwork that we’ve accumulated. I look through the items when they are really awful to me.

  3. Tori Nelson February 11, 2011 / 9:13 AM

    I feel your pain. Living with two men and a baby is enough to keep my neat-and-tidy self about to have a nervous breakdown! The letter from your boy is adorable! Only a kid can fit that many compliments and questions into a single paragraph!

    • jannatwrites February 11, 2011 / 4:30 PM

      I know he had to write the letter for a school assignment, but it was still sweet. You’re right though, a kid can get away with it…if my husband wrote something like that, I’d be like, “get out of here, you liar!”

      Hang in there with your men, Tori. Try not to go off the deep end – I hear a good therapist is hard to find 🙂

  4. dorcas February 11, 2011 / 9:19 AM

    Love your post Janna. I know these pics must have made you scream but it sure did bring a smile to my face. Life sure must be busy for you.

    • jannatwrites February 11, 2011 / 4:31 PM

      Thank you, dorcas. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. Life does get busy, but at least that lets me know I’m living it 🙂

  5. SAS Fiction Girl February 11, 2011 / 12:19 PM

    My bird won’t stop screaming. That is driving me to the brink.

    • jannatwrites February 11, 2011 / 4:35 PM

      Oh my, that would drive me crazy too, Jen. I’ve got earplugs, but I guess that won’t do you much good, will it?

      Hang in there 🙂

  6. 36x37 February 11, 2011 / 1:01 PM

    Oh, the milk thing. It drives me crazy. Even worse, when I go to the freezer, all psyched up for the ice cream I’ve been saving, and it’s gone.

    But that letter? Oh my gosh. How much did that melt your heart?

    Happy weekend!

    • jannatwrites February 11, 2011 / 4:41 PM

      I’m with you – the milk is annoying, but the ice cream is worse! I’ve been known to hide sweets so they don’t disappear. Selfish, right?

      The letter definitely got an “awwwww…” from me. I keep stuff like that so I can read it when they are not at their best. It lets me remember they have potential and I can get over being upset with them.

      You have a wonderful weekend, too 36×37!

  7. Carol Ann Hoel February 11, 2011 / 5:03 PM

    The milk bottle with an inch in it. I thought only my family would so such an annoying thing. Ha! What a bunch of lazies we all are to engage in such avoidance. Of course, Mom is not guilty of the the milk bottle avoidance, because it’s her milk bottle, whenever she wants to deal with it. Right?

    There are not enough waking hours in a day to do what I want to do. If there were one more hour in a day, I’d be too tired to stay up and use it. This drives me nuts.

    My life is filled with the love of my husband, family, and most of all, the love of God. This keeps me sane. Blessings to you, Janna…

    • jannatwrites February 11, 2011 / 6:12 PM

      You have such a positive attitude, Carol. Time does go by too quickly. But it’s kind of like money – no matter how much you have, you could always use more…and we can choose to waste it or spend it wisely. I’m glad you are filled with so much love. Thank you for stopping by 🙂

  8. widdershins February 11, 2011 / 5:57 PM

    great photos…. had to skim right over the egg sandwich one though… uugggghhhh!

    • jannatwrites February 11, 2011 / 6:14 PM

      Sorry….didn’t mean to gross you out, widdershins, but I had to include it because I was FURIOUS and oh-so-close to screaming when I encountered that.

      I’m glad the rest of the photos passed the stomach test!

  9. Aligaeta February 11, 2011 / 6:04 PM

    I have a rule: You better leave me a little milk for my coffee. So what bothers you pleases me : )
    36×37 is right on with the empty ice-cream container, Fred and I now put it back empty just as a payback.

    There is so much more that I gripe about: recycle, garbage overflow, dishes,dishes,dishes!
    You’d think as they get bigger it gets easier, not the case.

    Keep your humor!

    • jannatwrites February 11, 2011 / 6:18 PM

      You’d love my house if all you want is little milk! Tonight, I found a resealable bag of M&Ms unsealed with 9 pieces left in the cabinet. Why they do that, I don’t know…

      Even with the annoyances, I’m so glad they are here and couldn’t imagine what a life with less frustration would be like. Glad you stopped by, Aligaeta 🙂

  10. nrhatch February 11, 2011 / 9:33 PM

    Wonderful post . . . with a happy ending, as promised.

    thanks, Janna. Have a great weekend.

    • jannatwrites February 11, 2011 / 10:39 PM

      Always try to end on an up side 🙂 I hope you enjoy your weekend also, Nancy!

  11. pattyabr February 11, 2011 / 9:53 PM

    Another annoying thing is leaving an empty milk container in the fridge 😦

    • jannatwrites February 11, 2011 / 10:40 PM

      Yep, that is annoying, Patty! I have to make myself focus on the good stuff or I do get wrapped up in the frustrations. So far, the good stuff is in the lead. Thanks for dropping by!

  12. Jguno February 12, 2011 / 5:05 AM

    Even the messes in upper part of the list of the photos made me smile!:-) Cute photos…
    Actually I was that kind of son who messed around in the house…:-)

    • jannatwrites February 12, 2011 / 10:53 PM

      Thanks, Jguno! I do get annoyed with the messes at times, but they seem to be part of the boy territory, so I’ll take them! I’m beginning to think that ‘messy’ is a gene often associated with the Y chromosome 😉

Got an opinion? Share it!

