Poem: Little Boys Should Not Wear White

Bright like summer and spring

The color is airy and light,

But there’s just one thing:

Little boys should not wear white.

The color of fallen snow,

Crisp, clean and fresh;

On white, everything shows –

Especially a boy’s lunch.

I cringed at the sight –

The stains red and greasy.

“Spaghetti?” I asked and sighed;

With a grin, he informed it was chili.

My husband said, “write it off.”

Scrub, soak, rinse, and repeat –

I refused to give up;

Oh no, it WOULD come clean.

Because of his aversion to napkins,

I’ve made a new rule tonight:

Until he learns this lesson,

My little boy won’t wear white.

26 thoughts on “Poem: Little Boys Should Not Wear White

  1. duke1959 February 9, 2011 / 7:27 AM

    Nice rule to have.

    • jannatwrites February 9, 2011 / 7:46 PM

      Here’s hoping this rule helps make laundry day a little easier 😉

  2. Jguno February 9, 2011 / 8:35 AM

    Because of the similar reason, I don’t wear white……
    Of course I’m grown up, but wearing white clothes is still not a good choice.

    • jannatwrites February 9, 2011 / 7:47 PM

      At least you know your limitations 🙂 You know what? I only have one white shirt and I hardly ever wear it!

  3. Tori Nelson February 9, 2011 / 8:39 AM

    This could totally apply to Mom of Little Boy, too. Any time I dare sport a white top, it is a sauce stain massacre! This post is so stinkin’ cute!

    • jannatwrites February 9, 2011 / 7:49 PM

      I hear you – it only takes a couple Chef-Boy-Ar-Dee hugs and kisses to realize that dark clothing rules…and wild prints are even better 🙂

      I’m glad you liked the poem, Tori!

  4. Errol February 9, 2011 / 9:01 AM

    Brings back memories of times long past, a mothers love, paradise lost and youth recaptured, when reading your poem. Thank you. Yes I am a boy or I was in those care free days when everthing was simple, and love was unconditional.

    • jannatwrites February 9, 2011 / 7:51 PM

      I’m so happy you enjoyed the poem, Errol! Yes, they are living in simple times now…in a few years they can do their own laundry 😉

  5. nrhatch February 9, 2011 / 10:17 AM

    Love it. I think the same rule applies to Big Boys. 🙂

    • jannatwrites February 9, 2011 / 7:52 PM

      You’re right, Nancy. I checked out my husband’s side of the closet and there are only two white shirts. They’ve seen better days.

  6. Aligaeta February 9, 2011 / 11:55 AM

    This is really cute. I love when you write of your boys!

    • jannatwrites February 9, 2011 / 7:55 PM

      Thanks, Aligaeta! I’m glad you like to read about my kids, but I try not to go too overboard on the family stuff (since this is supposed to be my writing blog :)). That being said, my older son inspired another post that I’ll do either tomorrow or Friday.

      • Aligaeta February 9, 2011 / 8:15 PM

        I’m happy to hear another momma post will be coming soon. As they are so much of who you are, although I respect your disapline to separate, your passion as a writer explodes from the perspective of parenting.

        • jannatwrites February 9, 2011 / 8:39 PM

          Thank you for the nice comment, Aligaeta. The sweet spot is when something happens in parenting that I can relate to writing. That’s when I can do a parent post with a clear conscience 🙂

  7. SAS Fiction Girl February 9, 2011 / 12:24 PM

    I’m with Nancy on this one – some guys never grow out of the food-spilling stage. Then again, when your son is 30, it (theoretically) won’t be your problem. 🙂
    -Jen

    • jannatwrites February 9, 2011 / 8:06 PM

      Theoretically? I don’t like the sounds of that…

      I have hopes that they will realize napkins are their friend. My older son thinks jeans are a great substitute, which works okay until he forgets and wears khaki pants.

  8. Hilary Clark February 9, 2011 / 1:59 PM

    Loved it! I’m glad you posted the poem. 🙂

    • jannatwrites February 9, 2011 / 8:08 PM

      Thanks, Hilary. I’m glad you enjoyed reading it!

  9. Carol Ann Hoel February 9, 2011 / 2:39 PM

    My daughter always says that she cannot wear white. It is always disastrous. What a sweet poem about little boys and their attraction to dirt and spills that show up more on white than on any color. Thank you for sharing. Blessings to you, Janna…

    • jannatwrites February 9, 2011 / 8:20 PM

      White is an unforgiving color, that’s for sure. Between the messy shirts and holes in the knees of their pants, it’s hard to keep them looking semi-nice, but I sure make an effort 🙂

      Thanks for your nice comment, Carol. I’m glad you enjoyed the poem!

  10. widdershins February 9, 2011 / 5:09 PM

    Personally, I think that white clothes should be banned from attending all eating opportunities!

    • jannatwrites February 9, 2011 / 8:34 PM

      That might not be a bad idea, since white is definitely not forgiving. It begs to be spilled on an then makes sure that everyone notices.

  11. pattyabr February 10, 2011 / 9:11 PM

    I love white shirts. When I was pregnant I constantly had stains on my belly where I couldn’t see them. Used a lot of Clorox 2 in those days. tee hee

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2011 / 10:23 PM

      Me too, Patty. I used to wear white quite a bit before I had two boys! Your comment about the belly stains cracks me up because I had the same problem 😉

  12. Ollin February 12, 2011 / 3:24 PM

    Haha! Men shouldn’t wear white either. I try to wear darker colors because stains always ruin white shirts very quickly. Thanks for the funny poem!

    • jannatwrites February 12, 2011 / 10:54 PM

      Well, Ollin, I’m beginning to wonder if ANYONE should wear white 🙂 It seems many of us have issues, although not to the degree of my children…

      Thanks for dropping by!

Got an opinion? Share it!

