I Am Not Invincible…And I Am Not A Carrier

Last week, illness swept through my office and infected everyone in my department—except me.  One person ended up with pneumonia, another person with bronchitis again, and still another with a sinus infection.  I have to admit that all of these germs gave me a craving for anything Lysol and a strong desire for a face mask and gloves. 

My reaction is perfectly logical.  Remember?  I’m paranoid.  My paranoia is not limited to the internet or camping.  My paranoia binds me like a blanket swaddles an infant:  it’s comforting and suffocating at the same time. 

My colleagues proceeded to harass me about making all of them sick.  “I couldn’t have,” I explained.  “I feel just fine.”  “Then, you must be a carrier,” came the response.  I laughed about it, joking that my little germ monsters (children) have built up my immunity.  I felt strong, almost invincible.

I’m not laughing anymore; I’m sick.  I am humbled, as the carrier theory is tossed in the garbage, along with an entire box of used tissues. 

Perhaps when I go into work today, I will get sympathy for being another casualty in the germ war.  Or more likely, I will be framed in an alternate scenario that would keep the blame on me, yet explain the spread of sickness.

Sounds like a government-type cover up to me.  What do you think?

26 thoughts on “I Am Not Invincible…And I Am Not A Carrier

  1. duke1959 January 24, 2011 / 8:04 AM

    I hope you get feeling better.

    • jannatwrites January 24, 2011 / 7:03 PM

      I’m doing okay, Duke. I half-wonder if it could be allergies because I dusted the house on Saturday (and Saturday night I got ‘sick’.) This is why I like to leave the dust alone!

  2. nrhatch January 24, 2011 / 9:11 AM

    Maybe we should STAY HOME when we are sick to slow the progression of germs. 😉

    Feel better.

    • jannatwrites January 24, 2011 / 7:04 PM

      That would be a great idea, if only everyone would follow it! Luckily, the kids are still well…

  3. Aligaeta January 24, 2011 / 10:17 AM

    I swear by 1000 mg of vitamin C, along with an Alavert, and some Motrin, at the first signs of a cold. Feel better Janna!

    • jannatwrites January 24, 2011 / 7:07 PM

      Thanks for the tips, Aligaeta. I did have some fresh-squeezed orange juice last night, so I got some C in there 🙂 I’ve got Motrin, but will have to stop by the story for the Alavert…

  4. Richard W Scott January 24, 2011 / 10:39 AM

    I hate being sick. Especially having colds and their kin. In fact, I am known to–in the middle of an infection-free summer–to throw out my arms and thank the Universe that I do not–at that moment–have a cold!

    Get well, get better, get free of your germs!

    • jannatwrites January 24, 2011 / 7:10 PM

      Thanks, Richard! I’m doing my best to rid myself of germs (and not spread them.) I’m going to look on the bright side and be thankful that I don’t have the flu!

  5. 2blu2btru January 24, 2011 / 11:12 AM

    Yes, it’s all very like The Crazies, which suitably freaked me out a couple of weeks ago. 😉 I hope you feel better, Janna.Don’t wait for them to accuse you; march into your office and tell them how they gave you this horrific illness.

    • jannatwrites January 24, 2011 / 7:12 PM

      Well 2blu2btru, I got some apologies (because they realize that one of them got me sick.) I think they were under-the-weather enough to not even bother dreaming up alternate scenarios that made me the scape goat 🙂

  6. Carol Ann Hoel January 24, 2011 / 4:39 PM

    I hope you feel better soon, Janna, and your co-workers, too. Blessings to you…

    • jannatwrites January 24, 2011 / 7:21 PM

      Thanks for the well-wishes, Carol. I am doing fine, but I’m staying away from my co-workers because they are far worse than I am 🙂

  7. Tim Weaver January 24, 2011 / 9:26 PM

    Dear Typhoid Janna

    You posted here…you must not be that sick. I retract my previously thought-about empathy.

    • jannatwrites January 24, 2011 / 9:36 PM

      I’d have to be on my deathbed to not post. So, obviously I’m not there yet 😉

  8. Rick Shaw January 25, 2011 / 11:04 AM

    Maybe my paper delivery man delivered to you, too? That would explain the poor guy’s double pnuemonia.

    And he had it over a month ago, so not only are you the carrier of this terrible strian of disease…but you can travel back in time to give it to anyone!

    Heh, hope you feel better soon.

    ~Rick Shaw

    • Rick Shaw January 25, 2011 / 11:06 AM

      Strian?
      If I had intended that, based on my own recent post, that would be irony, I think. But it wasn’t intended, so that’s just carelessness on my part.

      • jannatwrites January 25, 2011 / 7:43 PM

        Hehehe. Gotta love those typos that jump out AFTER you add the comment!

    • jannatwrites January 25, 2011 / 7:42 PM

      Ah, time travel. That’s an interesting theory I was not expecting. Illness must have dulled my coworkers’ senses because they didn’t go there either 😉

      I hope your paper delivery man gets better, too. Thanks for the laugh!

  9. Ollin January 25, 2011 / 3:18 PM

    Get well soon!

  10. Jguno January 25, 2011 / 9:35 PM

    I hope you feel better now. In winter my symtoms of rhinitis appear, not much serious, though. Everyone asks me “You got a cold?” whenever they hear my nasality (Is this right expression?)
    Bless you and your co-workers.

    • jannatwrites January 25, 2011 / 10:35 PM

      Thank you for the kind thoughts. We are all still a bit under-the-weather, but it will improve soon (I hope!)

      I bet it gets frustrating when people ask about the cold all the time. At least it doesn’t come with the annoyance of an actual cold.

      • Jguno January 26, 2011 / 12:32 AM

        Ah… you know, not everyone, it is kind of exagerrated.
        But yes, my parents, grandparents, and older people askes “You got a cold?” if someone coughes (even if it makes no noise). 🙂

        • jannatwrites January 26, 2011 / 7:17 PM

          Well, after a couple people ask you the same question, it seems like everyone 🙂 Just be sure not to cough!

  11. dorcas January 26, 2011 / 2:25 AM

    Wow… I’m sick too 😦

    should I blame you ?? 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 26, 2011 / 7:18 PM

      I’m sorry you’re sick, dorcas. Yes, you should absolutely blame me. I’m sure in some way I am totally responsible 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

