Minute Fourteen of My Fifteen Minutes

I haven’t taken to wearing sunglasses indoors, or pushing my cart to the front of the grocery line (I’m not suicidal), I don’t have paparazzi stalking me, and I haven’t hired a personal assistant to respond to my blog comments.  But I am enjoying my fifteen minutes of Freshly Pressed fame.  All of the attention kind of makes me feel like high school, right after I was freed from glasses and braces.

I saw the emails start coming on Friday morning to moderate comments, and received a chat message from a subscriber that confirmed my suspicions.  My first thought was, “Yay!  This is so cool!”  My second thought was, “Oh…of course this had to happen on my most revealing/embarrassing post ever.” Then my third thought was, “Wait a second…I think this is a test.”

Here’s why that thought came to mind:

On January 5th, I published a post about blog stats, after feeling deflated because my stats were way lower than others I had seen.  (You can read that post here.)  I felt a little down (kind of like in high school when I still had glasses and braces.)  I picked myself back up declaring that I didn’t care about the numbers because I have fun writing and have awesome regular visitors who comment on my posts.

That previous statement is 100% true, but this Freshly Pressed thing caused a minor relapse.  Out of curiosity that would kill even the hardiest cat, I succumbed to the temptation to monitor my view counts.  Though impressive, that lovely little bar graph makes the rest of my blog’s history look like nothing.  Even though it’s been a huge something to me.

Rise, Peak...and Fall

Not good.  Not good at all.  Because I know all about the Freshly Pressed Effect.  I’ve read about it on other previously-freshly-pressed blogs who described huge drops in visits after the spike during Freshly Pressed.  It’s true; I’ve been warned that I will be cast aside like yesterday’s forgotten child star.  I am, however, fairly confident that I won’t end up on the show, Celebrity Rehab.   (Mainly because I’m not a celebrity, and my only addiction is to chocolate.)

I have another confession:  I looked at my subscriber count.  I hadn’t done that since the January 5th post.  I know, almost two weeks of self-control down the drain with one mouse-click.  The reason I regret doing this is that I know the total count now.  When people get a few posts via email and think, “Geez, what was I thinking?” then unsubscribe, I’ll feel a little bummed wondering where I went wrong (kind of like when a friend stops returning phone calls.  Oh.  That doesn’t happen to you?)

But wait, I can still fix this.  As long as I refrain from looking at that screen again, I will never know.  (Does anyone know if there’s a way to hide that portion of the Site Stats screen?  I may have uncovered a second addiction.)

I’m okay with visit trends going back to ‘normal’ – whatever normal becomes.  My fifteen minutes are nearly over, and the blogs I regularly visit haven’t seen me for several days.  I don’t know if they miss me or not, but I miss them – and will stop by soon.  I also have many new blogs to get acquainted with.

In light of my impending plummet back to normalcy, I guess I’ll have to cancel my appointment with the Hollywood stylist.  That’s a disappointment, too, because judging by the outfit I wore to my first interview (described in my previous post) I obviously need help in the wardrobe department 🙂

P.S.  There were several comments that Askimet let go, but just felt like spam to me, so I didn’t approve them.  My apologies if you left a valid comment that didn’t get approved.  (I approved and responded to several others that I suspected were spam but had some credibility.)  Here’s one I didn’t approve:

job intervies make me very nervice, i guess i should learn more from you.

Do you know what triggered my ‘spam radar’? 

No, it wasn’t the abundance of spelling errors.  It was the statement, “i guess i should learn more from you.” 

No one should learn anything from me.  Especially anything related to job interviews.

Anyone care to place wagers on if I can resist the pull of the stats screen?  Come on, someone tell me I’ll never be able to do it so I can prove you wrong 🙂

58 thoughts on “Minute Fourteen of My Fifteen Minutes

  1. Brown Eyed Mystic January 17, 2011 / 2:31 AM

    Just want to say this: I, for one, am always going to come back for more. 🙂

    Plus, whatever the stats say, I know yours is one super blog and it will have all the genuine attention in future too.

    Buckle up!

    Love,
    BrownEyed

    P.S. Of course, we miss you.

    • jannatwrites January 17, 2011 / 3:09 AM

      Thank you, BrownEyed. I’m still surprised I haven’t scared you away 🙂 Thanks for your continued support. It’s 3AM and I’m almost caught up on comments, so here’s hoping by Tuesday, I’ll start my blog rounds again!

  2. bookjunkie January 17, 2011 / 2:57 AM

    It was interesting to read about the Freshly Pressed effect. I think it’s cool, otherwise I wouldn’t have been able to stumble upon your blog. Loved your witty take on your new fame.

    • jannatwrites January 17, 2011 / 3:12 AM

      Don’t get me wrong, bookjunkie, I think Freshly Pressed is great – and I’m glad it happened. Unrealistic expectations can bring it down, so I won’t let that happen. I’m glad you liked this post also 🙂

  3. duke1959 January 17, 2011 / 3:47 AM

    There are those of us who will not leave you. We love your blog and frankly will it be that big of a deal when things get back to normal? By the way thanks for giving me something to write about this morning. Take care

    • jannatwrites January 17, 2011 / 8:17 AM

      Thanks, Duke. I really am glad you keep coming back. (Although it makes me wonder about your mental state.) You know I’m just messing with your, right?

      I’m ready for normal and ready to embrace whatever it is: whether it’s a few more readers or the same number I had before FP. I’ll be over at some point today to check out what you wrote about. You’ve got me curious!

  4. rohitmaiya January 17, 2011 / 5:32 AM

    I guess you can write on anything in an interesting way.

    Are you planning to be a professional writer or something?

      • jannatwrites January 17, 2011 / 10:06 AM

        I’m flattered that I could be mistaken for a professional, but that is not the case 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 17, 2011 / 10:05 AM

      I would LOVE to be a professional writer, however, right now, I’m just enjoying the blog while working on short stories and novels on the side. Future posts about my writing state will follow, when I can pull my thoughts together 🙂

      • rohitmaiya January 24, 2011 / 1:18 PM

        Do notify me once your book on short stories or novels come out in the market.

        • jannatwrites January 24, 2011 / 7:14 PM

          When (if) I do have anything published, I will certainly let you know (and post about it here, of course.) In the meantime, I’m working on some short stories to post here and guest post on other blogs. Thanks for your interest in my work, rohitmaiya!

  5. 2blu2btru January 17, 2011 / 6:13 AM

    Well, you know all of my thoughts on the effect. But it’s like some illusive drug high, you know…at the back of your mind, you always want to do it again (get Freshly Pressed, that is). I know someone (as in I read her blog) who was FPed twice in a few months last year. The trick is to stay true to the great blog you already have, and not chase the fame.

    Do I think you’ll be able to resist the pull of the site stat machine? No way! (You now have permission to prove me wrong…take advantage, I don’t give that permission often ;-))

    • jannatwrites January 17, 2011 / 10:19 AM

      You were actually one of the people I had in mind when I mentioned it. Yours was the most candid account, but I read about it on two other blogs. The problem is that my feeble mind could only remember one of the other blog names and I didn’t want to reference one but not all.

      I’m going to keep writing like just a handful are reading (because maybe that’s all that is reading) because the thought of large groups reading my stuff brings out the shy girl in me and I get writing stage-fright. That is a horrible affliction to have 🙂

      I’m also going to stick to the goofy, off-the wall stuff, rather than the informational posts. A friend of mine read the FP post and told me that it totally sounded like me, but some of my other posts don’t. I nagged her until she could put it into words, but basically, she told me that my personality didn’t come out in the informational posts. I thought about it and she’s right – I don’t see myself as knowledgeable; I want to be entertaining.

      Thank you for telling me I couldn’t resist it. Now I have to prove you wrong (I’m stubborn that way.) I wondered if anyone would take me up on the challenge, and I’m glad you did! (So far, I haven’t looked, but I’ve heard that withdrawals can get worse on day two. Ha!)

  6. bluerosegirl08 January 17, 2011 / 7:08 AM

    I read your blog whenever you post and I remember the January post and when I saw your post was Freshly Pressed I very nearly jumped up and down because I personally think your blog is fantastic. (By the way the only reason I said nearly is I spend most of my time in a wheelchair, therefore jumping up and down would only cause me to fall into an ungainly heap from which it’d be difficult to get up.

    • jannatwrites January 17, 2011 / 10:23 AM

      Oh, bluerosegirl08 – you are so sweet! I’ve got the best readers because they have been so supportive during the crazy FP time.

      Thank you for not trying to jump up and down. I would feel horrible (and completely responsible) if you were to injure yourself trying to jump up and down. Here at my blog, let’s do safety first (and laughing second.)

      Thanks for your support and for continuing to read my posts 🙂

  7. Aligaeta January 17, 2011 / 8:17 AM

    I had read the post early that morning before any of the comments and thought… what could I possibly say in response to this? It was LOL hysterical, those damn spiked up bangs of the punk era. Then when I saw you were freshly pressed, I was so excited as if it were me.
    Well, I am glad things will be getting back to normal because I’ve missed your wonderful comments and have noticed in my numbers you have not had the time to visit – haha. This follow-up post is wonderful. Look or don’t look at the stats, I don’t care. It will be nice to see you blogging regularly as you get beyond the enormous task of replying to comments.
    Faithfully yours, Aligaeta

    • jannatwrites January 17, 2011 / 11:24 AM

      Well, Aligaeta, there is plenty you could have said, but you’re too nice to say it 🙂 I do appreciate your excitement – it amped up the experience for me, too.

      I will be by your place in the next day or so. (Consider yourself warned ;))

      I’m glad you liked this post. I felt like I needed to say something about FP, but now it’s back to business as usual!

  8. chlost January 17, 2011 / 8:35 AM

    So, do you know how one ends up being FP’d? I’m just curious, not sure what the process is…is there some team of readers used by WP to screen all of the entries each day? Or is it a computer program that randomly chooses from the postings?

    You deserved to be FP. And to have it again, no matter how they choose it. I enjoy your blog very much. I will admit, though, that I am kind of looking forward to things settling down a little for you, though, so that I don’t have 100’s of comments to read before I get to a place to make mine. Purely selfish on my part, I know. sorry.

    Enjoy the fame. You’ve worked hard.

    • jannatwrites January 17, 2011 / 10:36 AM

      Hi,Chlost. Click here to read a post that tells you a little bit about Freshly Pressed. It’s kind of an interesting process.

      Ha! I loved your ‘selfish’ comment…honestly? My family is ready for it to slow down a little also, because my laptop is getting more attention than anyone in the house (aside from the cats because they just walk over here and lay down on my fingers while I type. I’m glad you enjoy my blog and keep coming bac – I really do appreciate it!

  9. Tori Nelson January 17, 2011 / 9:37 AM

    Ew girl, I UNDERSTAND! I pulled a mini Lindsay Lohan (sans prescription pills and vodka) after my brush with Freshly Pressed fame! Please know, though, that after the stats level out and you get that feeling of “I thought all 3 million of you LOVED me”, people WILL keep reading and commenting. You’re writing is honest and witty, and you don’t need Freshly Pressed to keep that up!

    • jannatwrites January 17, 2011 / 11:30 AM

      Hehehe…”a mini Lindsay Lohan (sans prescription pills and vodka)” – LOVE it!!

      I’m going to do my best to avoid stat-checking – especially the subscribers. Early on, I paid attention to this and when I found someone unsubscribed, I felt like, “what? did I say something wrong?” And that’s just silly….people are busy and they have to limit their reading. It’s not personal and I don’t want to take it that way.

      Thank you so much for sharing your (hilarious) perspective on FP. Maybe I’ll see you in FP rehab??

  10. Justin P Lambert January 17, 2011 / 9:49 AM

    Here’s my standard blog post formula, regardless of the precipitant: Write–Obsess–Read–Read–Read–Obsess some more–Freak out–Stop everything–Write–Obsess… Whether the “obsess” stage has to do with stats, retweets, comments, guesting, whatever, it always happens sans post and it always leads to eventual freak out, and yet I always end up writing that next post, because it’s just too damn fun not to.

    Just keep doing what you’re doing. It’s fun.

    • jannatwrites January 17, 2011 / 11:32 AM

      Great formula, Justin! I’ve got the individual parts down, but I’ll need to study the steps to make sure I get them in the right order.

      You’ve hit my point right on: posting is fun. Stressing over stats? Not fun! I’ll keep writing even if the only reader I have is one of my friends that I beg to pleeeeeease visit my blog 😉 Here’s to having fun!

  11. dorcas January 17, 2011 / 10:58 AM

    Me still reading yours Janna. Buckle up… Your regulars are here 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 17, 2011 / 11:36 AM

      Yay! It’s so much fun knowing you guys are out there. I’ll try not to psych myself out on my next post (you know, trying to live up to FP). I have several topics to write on, I’m just waiting for one of them to jump out and say, “me, next!”

      Thanks for your support 🙂

  12. duke1959 January 17, 2011 / 11:04 AM

    Yes we are!

    • jannatwrites January 17, 2011 / 11:37 AM

      I’m giddy about that…but it still boggles my mind 🙂 Thanks, Duke.

  13. deehsarsiavo January 17, 2011 / 11:16 AM

    I just recently subscribed to your blog and I can vouch for the fact that it’s definitely worth coming back to! =) The stats may tell a different story, but I guess judging from the amount of feedback you’ve gotten on this post itself you should feel happy about yourself and stretch them 15 minutes to 16 =p

    Cheers!
    -deehsarsiavo

    • jannatwrites January 17, 2011 / 11:40 AM

      I get sixteen minutes? Oooh! I’m going to call that Hollywood stylist and see if she can still fit me in 🙂

      Thank you for subscribing and thank you for commenting. And thank you for permission to squeeze out an extra minute in the spotlight. Ha!

      • deehsarsiavo January 17, 2011 / 11:54 AM

        Haha, it’s my pleasure ma’am =) hope to see more witty pieces of writing from you soon!! =D

        • jannatwrites January 17, 2011 / 7:35 PM

          Thanks, deehsarsiavo. My goal is Wednesday AM 🙂

  14. Barb January 17, 2011 / 1:11 PM

    Congrats on the freshly pressed, I won’t comment on that one, you have enough comments already! 😉
    And “Site stats” are addicting anyway… I try not to look at them, but I HAVE to check at least once a day… especially the subscribers… so if you don’t resist, know you’re not the only one! 😉
    Happy writing!

    • jannatwrites January 17, 2011 / 7:36 PM

      That last post did get a lot of attention, Barb. Once a day isn’t bad for stat checking. I may end up caving if I can’t quit cold-turkey 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by today!

  15. SAS Fiction Girl January 17, 2011 / 3:01 PM

    Yes, Stats Addiction is awful. When I started my fiction blog, I posted about it on Facebook. My first month saw a huge number of visitors to the site – a stat I have been unable to recreate since. I still notify my Facebook friends when there is a new story to be read, but it’s not like in the olden days (and yes, I mean 2 months ago.)
    Keep on keeping on Janna. 🙂
    -Jen

    • jannatwrites January 17, 2011 / 7:40 PM

      If there was a local SA (Stats Anonymous) chapter, I would consider joining. What I need to keep reminding myself of is that I can control what I post, but the stats are what they are. I’ll have to check out your stories. I saw your other comment that you write short stories and that fits right in with my attention span 🙂

  16. nrhatch January 17, 2011 / 3:25 PM

    It’s fine to watch the numbers . . . as long as your self-esteem does NOT rise and fall in tandem with them.

    Inflated Egos *POP* more easily.
    Deflated Egos are just not fun to be around.

    Congrats, again!

    • jannatwrites January 17, 2011 / 7:42 PM

      That is an important point, Nancy. I don’t want to depend on the numbers, so I just figured ignoring them would be safer 🙂

      I will work to maintain my ego balance. How’s that? Thanks for stopping by. I’ve missed your blog for a few days, but it looks like I’ll make it over tonight. (Yay!)

  17. Ollin January 17, 2011 / 6:10 PM

    WHAT. DID. I. TELL. YOU. WOMAN!!!?

    BOO-YA!

    🙂

    Remember, continue to detach yourself from the result. Ups and downs are normal. Even in subscribers and twitter followers etc.

    As you become the superblogger you are meant to be, you need to learn how to take this sort of thing less personally.

    Trust yourself. I know it’s hard. It’s not easy for me either. But you just gotta try.

    This is the start, you’re little sign from the universe that you’re on the right track. So just take it, and run with it.

    I’m so happy for you!

    • jannatwrites January 17, 2011 / 7:53 PM

      Well, if it isn’t Ollin The Prophet?

      I’m detaching (and continue to be thankful for visits from my regular blog friends.) The hype is dying down, so it’s easier for me to get back to normal. Well, as normal as I ever was, at least 🙂

      Thanks for your words of encouragement – I appreciate the advice and pep talk!

  18. Cities of the Mind January 17, 2011 / 6:58 PM

    Hey, you got some well-earned publicity, and now you’ve just got to hold onto a few of the people that were lucky enough to end up on your blog. And come on, of COURSE it’ll be an embarrassing post that ends up on the radar, that’s how life keeps our egos in check!

    My most popular article by visitor count (by far) is a list of cartoon characters. So you can at least take some solace in the fact that, wherever your visitors come from, half of them aren’t there because they searched google for the term “pedo bear” eh?

    • jannatwrites January 17, 2011 / 7:56 PM

      Thanks, Cities! The “pedo bear” search cracks me up. I have some weird searches too, but the most common is “I hate my birthday” which brings them to a post I did in July. I had no idea birthday-hating was so popular.

      Glad you could visit here today!

  19. walksalone January 18, 2011 / 6:57 AM

    I found you through the FP post and am here to stay. I love your blog.

    I blog because I want a place to express myself and my stats are not so great, but I write for me and try not to let the stats bother me.

    You are fantastic, keep it up!

    • jannatwrites January 18, 2011 / 5:11 PM

      Thank you so much for your support (and awesome compliment), walksalone! I also write better when I don’t let the other ‘stuff’ get in the way. You’ve got the right idea…

  20. Vanessa Condez January 18, 2011 / 8:46 AM

    I know about that high school feeling because I saw I had a visit from you in one of my blogs and no comments. And you know what, I had just subscribed to yours and I’m back to read and comment. So don’t worry, you just have to keep on writing with that honesty that got my attention in the first place and write because you like it.

    It’s why I do it.

    Take care Jannat 😉

    • jannatwrites January 18, 2011 / 9:00 AM

      I hope my no comment didn’t hurt your feelings. I visited almost every blog of people who commented on my post, but didn’t have time to read and make intelligent comments on most of them, so I just did quick visits and bookmarked a lot of them to visit later.

      I’ll be back…you’ve been warned 🙂

      • Vanessa Condez January 18, 2011 / 10:04 AM

        I’m really being honest when I say I would come back to your blog regardless. As you, I’m very suspicious of fresh visits and usually think most of them are only trying to get me to see their blogs.

        But really, if you think about it (and you just did) there’s nothing you can really do to maintain those visits or ascertain that they’ve left a comment because they’ve read your post from beginning to end AND truly really liked it.

        I think it’s as foolish to try to comment as many blogs you can to get them to see your blog, as it is foolish to count daily visits.

        You are a good writer. I’ll keep seeing you through my subscribers list and will come back to comment whenever another one of your posts strikes me as interesting and I see you keep being honest. Not to return a ‘favour’.

        Glad to have met you. Take care Jannat.

        PS:
        about your subscribers question, the way I do it is I’ve set WP to send me an email whenever a new person subscribes to one of my blogs. And I never went to see the subscribers info again, nor do I know how many I have at any one time.

        about the visits graph, I stopped taking that one seriously when I had my blog private for two months and the visits kept steadily appearing as before. I realized most of that was not real people reading my blog but automatic spam sites connecting with mine.

        • jannatwrites January 18, 2011 / 5:17 PM

          I agree with you – I can control the content but not whether anyone comes to read it (so why worry about it?) I also agree with your point about commenting when you have something to say, not just because someone commented on your post.

          I’ll need to check the subscribers settings because I sometimes get email notifications, but not always (thanks for the tip). AND, you have an excellent point about the daily visits graph – I hadn’t thought about spam skewing the counts.

          I thank you for your thought out comment and I can’t wait to take a closer look at your blog after the kids go to bed tonight. (And I’m not just saying that because you made a comment here, I want to visit because I am impressed with the depth of your comment 🙂 )

  21. momsomniac January 18, 2011 / 12:42 PM

    Well, I just subscribed. I love your writing style. And I’ll be watching for your novel. More excerpts. Anything, really.

    As a fellow aspiring writer hoping to one day quit my day job too, I’ll read your posts for inspiration while I let months pass between blog posts of my own. Speaking of which, I did find a cure for obsessive stats checking: surprise baby #3. What do you think?

    And oh: ,,,,,,,,,,,,

    • jannatwrites January 18, 2011 / 7:13 PM

      Thank you so much, momsomniac! I’m glad you like my writing enough to come back.

      I appreciate your suggested cure for stat-checking, but I’m sure there’s a better way! (I don’t like surprises;)) That would also cure my few moments of spare time…

      P.S. Thanks for the spare commas 🙂

  22. suzicate January 18, 2011 / 4:24 PM

    Congrats on your freshly pressed. When it happened to me last year, I didn’t know until another blogger sent me a FB message and I didn’t even know what freshly pressed was! I know it was an exciting day for you. I know one blogger that was featured twice and another who has been featured three times…and this happened in just a matter of a few months for them! Way to go!

    • jannatwrites January 18, 2011 / 7:19 PM

      I didn’t know you’d been freshly pressed. I’m sure that was quite the ride for you!

      Freshly pressed two or three times in a few months? Wow! That would feel like wading in the ocean and being knocked down by a giant wave each time you stood up.

      Thanks for stopping by, Suzicate 🙂

  23. Amanda Hoving January 21, 2011 / 9:02 AM

    Hi Janna! I’m impressed that you hadn’t looked at stats for two weeks. I’m not a stat junkie, but I do look at them to see which posts resonate with my readers the most. In other words, what do they visit me for when there are so (so so so) many other blogs to read.

    Glad you enjoyed your fame 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 21, 2011 / 8:24 PM

      Thanks, Amanda. I may have to practice controlled monitoring so I’m not totally in the dark. Moderation isn’t my strong suit 🙂

  24. Addy January 24, 2011 / 7:07 AM

    Glad to know that we are all sailing in the same boat with regards to stats Janna! Thanks for dropping by my blog and commenting on the similar topic that I had posted last week! Trying to control my addiction for stats! Guess will get over it sooner or later!!!

    Best Wishes,
    Addy

    • jannatwrites January 24, 2011 / 6:54 PM

      Addy, it seems to be a BIG boat, doesn’t it 🙂 I do think you’ll get a handle on the stats addiction. I’m happy to report that I’m not constantly checking them. I didn’t at all for a few days, but now I’m checking in the evenings to see which posts attract the most attention.

Got an opinion? Share it!

