2011 Calendar? (check); January Budget? (check); Resolutions? (Not Quite!)

Over the past week, I’ve seen many blog posts dealing with the upcoming New Year.  Most of them are hyping up resolutions, and others are tearing them apart.  My apathy toward resolution-making leaves me in neither camp; I can take them or leave them (though I generally choose to leave them.)

I don’t mean to be a stick in the mud, but I don’t see the big deal about the calendar flipping over to a new year.  In fact, I’ll still be writing ‘2010’ until at least March.  I haven’t felt the need to stay up to see the precise moment midnight rolls around to a new year since…well, way before children.  It’s not like it provides a clean slate, because the only real fresh starts you get are the day you were born and the day you die – everything else is just scribbles on the board of life that will have to be dealt with whether it’s January 1st or September 23rd.

Really, I’m not a negative person (though I’m aware those unconvincing words are usually uttered by those denying who they really are.)  I just see things a little differently, that’s all.  I don’t need champagne, party hats, confetti, or to watch a sparkly ball drop over Times Square to have hope for change in my life.  To be honest, I’m still coming off the holiday high (and I’m planning my son’s birthday party, which is in less than 2 weeks) – the last thing I need is to jump into a change commitment.  That would be like bumping into an old acquaintance and suggesting we “do lunch,” even though I never intended to see her again, much less share a meal with her. 

yummy (evil) Oreos

I don’t make it a habit to set myself up for failure – or make commitments I cannot keep.  I’ve tried the resolution thing before.  One year, I decided I would ditch the sweets (cookies and chocolate, mainly.)  I did well.  For two days.  On the third day, I bought a package of Double Stuff Oreo cookies. 

Poor things didn’t stand a chance; they never saw the second week of January.  Folks, it doesn’t get much lower than that.  (Unless I were the drinking type and had a bottle of coconut rum stashed in the cabinet.)

Now if I naturally had will power and motivation, I might feel differently about resolutions.  Although, I doubt I’d need a resolution then, because I’d already have myself together.  There are areas in my life, such as writing, where I discipline myself.  So, I know for sure that if I want something to change badly enough, I will make it happen on my own terms – not because the calendar says it’s time.

Just so you know that I hold no animosity toward the new calendar year:

 

Tell me, what’s your view on resolutions?  Do you make them, break them – or fake them?

14 thoughts on “2011 Calendar? (check); January Budget? (check); Resolutions? (Not Quite!)

  1. duke1959 December 31, 2010 / 7:32 AM

    As Barry Mainlow says ‘Its a Night Like all The Rest”!

  2. nrhatch December 31, 2010 / 10:10 AM

    Wonderful post, Janna. I agree with you. Each day is the start of a new year . . . filled with infinite possibilities.

    My resolution: To be the best “me” I can be . . . while allowing the path to unfold before me.

    Have fun tonight ~ there’s a package of Double Stuffed Oreos calling your name!

    • jannatwrites December 31, 2010 / 5:32 PM

      Well, Nancy being the best ‘you’ is a good goal. Okay, I’ll share a secret: I’m cheating on the Oreos and I bought a box of Famous Amos chocolate chip cookies from Costco. There are 36 snack-size bags in there, so at least I’ll burn a few calories ripping them open! (I’ll burn a few more guarding the box to keep my kids out them.)

  3. Tim Weaver December 31, 2010 / 11:34 AM

    “Poor things didn’t stand a chance; they never saw the second week of January. Folks, it doesn’t get much lower than that. ”

    You’ve obviously never been around a box of Nilla Wafers and my MIL. Turn your “weeks” into days (at most) and you’ll get the idea. She got a box the second day she was here. 3 days later, there was a new box on the counter and the empty in the trash.

    Tuesday cannot come fast enough.

    • jannatwrites December 31, 2010 / 5:40 PM

      I can relate to it (my Oreos lasted 2 days – saying they didn’t see the 2nd week in January made it seem a little less shameful) so I certainly can’t judge her. But your MIL needs to get smarter with the trash; I like to bury the evidence so it stays my little secret (and doesn’t remind me that I at least one artery is probably clogged with Oreo fat.)

      I haven’t compared them, but I suspect Oreos are probably higher in sugar and fat than Nilla Wafers (I’m guessing this is the case because they taste so much yummier.)

  4. Carol Ann Hoel December 31, 2010 / 2:07 PM

    Happy New Year to you, too. I like to think of my New Year plan as an intention that goes beyond a vague thought in my mind. Call it intention or resolution, I’ve failed in the past to accomplish my goals. Nevertheless, I’m going to throw up another target and see what happens. Ha! It won’t ruin my day or my month or year if I mess up. If I’m very serious about it, I’ll start over if I mess up. I hope I’m serious. I think I am. As you point out, you discipline your writing. I guess it boils down to agreeing with you wholeheartedly. Resolution or not? Doesn’t really matter. We do what we do. Blessings to you…

    • jannatwrites December 31, 2010 / 5:46 PM

      I hope you succeed, Carol. I think you’ve got a good attitude about your ‘intentions’ because you won’t abandon it because of a slip-up after the new year. I think the problem comes when a pledge to change is tied to the new year and approached as if the change will happen overnight. Then, when it doesn’t go smoothly, it’s easy just to call it failure and forget about it (instead of giving it another shot.) Best of luck to you and your resolution/intention!

  5. JoDee Luna January 1, 2011 / 9:44 PM

    Janna, great post. Your fresh perspective got me thinking.

    I do like the concept of stopping to reflect over my past year. Kind of like taking a personal inventory so I can make adjustments. With that said, my will power for any diet or exercise resolutions would fit into a thimble.

    • jannatwrites January 1, 2011 / 9:59 PM

      I agree that reflection is definitely beneficial, JoDee. If we don’t, then we miss opportunities to improve our lives.

      My problem is that I regularly reflect (read: obsess) over my past day, week, month, etc. (If I were one to make resolutions, easing my over-reflection would be an excellent choice.)

      By the way, we could add MY will power for diet and exercise to that thimble and there would still be room. (My idea of exercise is sitting on a balance ball while I type on the computer. Sad, very sad…)

      Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Brown Eyed Mystic January 1, 2011 / 11:29 PM

    Like I last posted, I believe in making resolutions as and when the need be. So if there’s a need every day, I’d make short, bite-sized resolutions every day. Like you, I don’t see that we must resolve when the calendar turns to January 1st.

    However, I do believe we can treat this day as a fresh start or a new beginning, if that works for us. Alternatively, if making an effort toward something we desire works on Sep 23rd, then so be it. The date really should resonate with the person doing the work, nothing more than that. 🙂

    -BrownEyed

    • jannatwrites January 1, 2011 / 11:50 PM

      I think we are in sync on this one. My issue with January 1st is the significance the world seems to place on this date – as if some sort of magical life-change can occur just by making a resolution, or that this date somehow makes the change more attainable.

      Maybe I should make daily resolutions. I know I could find at least 365 personal change projects. I’ll make that 364; I’ll be a rebel and skip January 1st 🙂

  7. Barb January 3, 2011 / 9:13 AM

    “I don’t need champagne, party hats, confetti, or to watch a sparkly ball drop over Times Square to have hope for change in my life.”
    Me neither, but I did open a bottle of sweet champagne approximately at midnight – to celebrate my creative New Year’s Eve and my little (unpublished, but stay tuned and you’ll eventually see it!) book trailer! 😀
    Those New Year’s Resolutions I call them Priority Lists and revise them throughout the whole year… so it’s not something for December 31st, know what I mean? 😉
    Have a wonderful writing year!

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2011 / 4:11 PM

      A book trailer sounds like a worthy cause for celebration! Good luck keeping up with your “Priority Lists,” but I suspect that you won’t need luck because your motivation and determination will serve you well 🙂

      You have a wonderful (and creative) writing year also, Barb!

Got an opinion? Share it!

