Sweetness

For Christmas, I received the perfect gift, and I didn’t even know that I wanted it.  I can see and feel it, but I can’t touch it, and I can only describe it as… “sweetness.”

A couple days before Christmas, I came down with a cold.  My stuffy/runny nose threatened to kill my holiday spirit (and I LOVE the holidays), but that cold was no match for “sweetness.”  On Christmas Eve morning, after my husband left for work, my kids tried unsuccessfully to get me out of bed for nearly an hour.  Finally, my older son tugged on my arm and told me I had to get up.  This time, he wouldn’t go away and I was forced to get out of bed; he stood there just to make sure.

I shuffled out of my room, into the hallway, and turned the corner to the family room/kitchen area.  The kids yelled “surprise!”  At first, I thought the surprise was that I actually got out of bed, but my older son ran to the table and said, “look, we made you breakfast!”

For the first time, I noticed the table full of dishes.  At my seat at the table, I saw a plate of cream cheese toast, apple sauce, mixed berries, chocolate milk and string cheese.  With pride in their eyes, they informed me that it was my Christmas present.  The sweetest thing of all?  Their plates sat uneaten, even though both of them were hungry.

I just woke up, couldn’t breathe through my nose, and I didn’t really feel like eating.  But I sat down and ate my cold toast anyway (it sat for nearly an hour waiting for me to get out of bed.)  As I finished breakfast, I thanked God for the gift – not the breakfast itself, but for the sweetness that appears dormant most of the time, but is obviously in them.

It makes me wonder, am I here to teach them – or is it the other way around?

P.S. I felt bad for being lazy and messing up their plan, so I shared a few phrases that would get me out of bed – fast:

“(Younger son) is playing with knives.”

“There’s a fire on the stove.”

“A cat just ate ribbon off a present.”  (We don’t use ribbon because of this, but if I’m sleepy enough, I could forget that.)

“My fish isn’t swimming.”

I hope you received the gift of sweetness, too.  What is your best sweet, funny, or exciting holiday memory?

* Image by boomerinvegas via photobucket.com

14 thoughts on “Sweetness

  1. Carol Ann Hoel December 27, 2010 / 10:24 PM

    How kind of your children to make you a sweet breakfast when you weren’t feeling well. I hope you feel better soon. Blessings to you.

    • jannatwrites December 27, 2010 / 10:28 PM

      I am feeling better, thank you 🙂 Good thing, because Monday and work happens whether I feel like it or not! They are very sweet…and they fixed us breakfast again yesterday, too.

  2. nrhatch December 27, 2010 / 10:54 PM

    That’s darling . . . especially since they waited for you to join them.

    Glad you’re on the mend.

    • jannatwrites December 28, 2010 / 5:52 PM

      Thanks, Nancy! Yeah, I was shocked they didn’t eat because they sure don’t wait on me at dinner 🙂

  3. Aligaeta December 28, 2010 / 6:27 AM

    I’m glad to hear that your feeling better. It is so wonderful that your little men gave of themselves and then did it again! “Sweetness” what a wonderful way to express their generousity.

    • jannatwrites December 28, 2010 / 5:54 PM

      Just when I think they’re never going to get it, they go and do something sweet…twice 🙂

      I am feeling better, but I’m still tired, though. Or that could just be normal, I don’t know.

  4. Artswebshow December 28, 2010 / 5:04 PM

    Wow, what a sweet gift to receive.
    I think children and parents are always going though a learning curve as we forget some of the innocent wisdom we possess as children.

    • jannatwrites December 28, 2010 / 5:56 PM

      I agree, we’re all on a learning curve. I don’t want to be a child again, but I do miss some of their ways. I don’t know how they can make me feel so young and so old at the same time!

  5. brownpaperbaggirl December 29, 2010 / 5:43 PM

    What a marvellous gift. Sweetness. I think children have a lot of good sense that us adults tend to forget.

    • jannatwrites December 29, 2010 / 7:46 PM

      I agree. Sometimes I wonder what’s so great about becoming an adult 🙂

  6. Ollin December 29, 2010 / 6:32 PM

    Thank you for sharing your sweetness with us. All I can say is: Awwww….

  7. Ollin December 29, 2010 / 6:32 PM

    Thank you for sharing your sweetness with us. All I can say is: Awwww….

    • jannatwrites December 29, 2010 / 7:47 PM

      Thanks, Ollin! I just have to think back and remember this on the days (like today) when they fight every moment they are together and won’t listen to a thing I say 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

