(Mis)Adventures In Retail

I had written another blog post this evening and took it down because it seems that my idea wasn’t so original after all.  A reader commented that he recently used the same metaphor.  I don’t want to publish anything that even looks like I hijacked the idea from someone else.  So, here’s my second attempt 🙂

Lately, I’ve done some (translation: too much) shopping, both online and at brick-and-mortar stores.  Not all of it has been holiday shopping, and I have to confess that some purchases were emotional ones made soon after an upsetting event in my life.  Fortunately, I’m a bargain shopper and (used to) have fun doing it.  However, my luck over the past two weeks may have cured my penchant for shopping.  During this time:

  • I found out that a toy we bought at the end of October for one of my sons for Christmas is now $10 less than what we paid.   (Message:  procrastination rules)
  • We had bought a gift for our younger son to take to a friend’s party next weekend.  We bought a girly gift bag, because we don’t have any of those laying around, only to get home and find it was too small for the gift. (Message:  take measurements or buy a gift card)
  • I bought my husband a 2011 pocket planner for a stocking-stuffer.  Yesterday, he got a better one as a gift from someone else.  (Message:  I can’t win…I have yet another return to make)
  • I ordered a label maker for my Christmas gift but four days later, I got an email that it’s on backorder with no ETA.  (Message:  I probably don’t need it anyway; handwritten labels have worked this long)
  • Part of my kids’ Christmas gift is stuck in Kentucky likely never mailed, but the retailer won’t resend until 12/14.  (Message:  I should have been writing instead of shopping)
  • We bought a 40-pouch box of juice (four boxes of 10 pouches each) from a warehouse store.  I removed the thick plastic wrap and discovered the boxes soaked with juice and the beginnings of mold growth.  (Message:  kids should just drink milk or water.  Alternate message:  If I can’t even get juice right, I should probably quit shopping altogether)

I’ve got great news, though:  I’m done shopping (for anything except absolutely necessary food items, like milk, eggs and chocolate) for a while.  So, I’d like to thank the circumstances of the last couple weeks for planting an aversion to shopping, which will reduce the clutter in my house, but will have the pleasant side effect of more money in our bank account.  I’m a little slow, but I’ve taken the hint 😉

How do you handle the days (weeks/months) where nothing seems to go right?  Do you laugh, cry – or both?

16 thoughts on “(Mis)Adventures In Retail

  1. Artswebshow December 9, 2010 / 2:11 AM

    I never shop unless i absolutely must do so.
    Then its a fast as possible. lol

    • jannatwrites December 9, 2010 / 10:15 PM

      Your way seems to be fairly common…especially with the men-folk that I know. That’s one way to curb spending 😉

  2. Lynsey May December 9, 2010 / 4:25 AM

    hehe, your post made me feel a little better about the various shopping failures that have befallen my family recently – Scotland cannot deal with snow it seems, therefore countless packages have gone amiss.

    I think laughing through your tears has to be the way to go, good luck with your essential shopping!

    • jannatwrites December 9, 2010 / 10:18 PM

      I’m sorry that snow is tripping up your deliveries – that’s frustrating. I do hope they turn up sooner than later.

      Keep laughing and you’ll certainly beat the frustration. Chocolate will help me along 🙂

  3. Aligaeta December 9, 2010 / 8:19 AM

    I hate shopping, probably for all of the reasons above or simular ones. As for the pot roast story… I wrote a story last week that was the same subject and message as a featured post. I’m not sure which came first, her’s or mine. My point… I’m glad I had the chance, as your stories come into my email, to read your pot roast story because I found it quite helpful. Thanks Janna!

    • jannatwrites December 9, 2010 / 5:47 PM

      I’m glad you liked the pot roast story and found it helpful, Aligaeta. The only reason I removed it was that the comment about the metaphor use duplication was from a blog that I do read regularly, though I don’t remember his post (and I couldn’t find the post to verify if mine was a different take on it). So, I figured I’d just take it down to be safe.

  4. Bill Greeves December 9, 2010 / 10:44 AM

    I avoid shopping unless absolutely necessary, which unfortunately means I’ve been doing a lot lately. I am geek I suppose – I go in with a list and actually map the fastest route in my head before I get there.

    And like Aligaeta I liked the pot roast post too. With so much written word, it is inevitable from time to time that stuff will be repeated! I like the analogy, although I’d say it doesn’t bode well for us aspiring writers who still manage to mess up toast!

    • jannatwrites December 9, 2010 / 5:50 PM

      My husband isn’t into the shopping thing either. Maybe that’s why I am? Who knows!

      About the pot roast story: If it the comment would’ve been from someone’s blog that I don’t visit regularly, I would’ve left the story up. In this case, I figured it was easier just to take it down. My mind’s playing tricks on me, I guess 🙂

  5. nrhatch December 9, 2010 / 1:33 PM

    Ever since reading Simplify Your Life, our holidays have become less and less focused on shopping and more and more on staying out of the malls (on-line and off).

    Tis the season to stop shopping . . .

    Hope your holidays are Merry and Bright!

    • jannatwrites December 9, 2010 / 5:52 PM

      Less shopping does simplify life (and you can get the added side effect of more money in the bank). I’m going to strive to get there…as much as I can, at least. With a family, some shopping is inevitable.

      Wishing you happy holidays also, Nancy 🙂

  6. Ollin December 9, 2010 / 9:26 PM

    Oh no! You didn’t have to delete the post. I didn’t mean to say I thought you stole it or that I was mad about it. I thought that it was just a coincidence, but to be honest I thought you wrote it better than I did. It made realize that I wasn’t original either, I’m sure there are TONS of writers who have used that metaphor. Hope you don’t feel bad about it. 😦 Looking forward to your guest post! 🙂

    • jannatwrites December 9, 2010 / 10:12 PM

      Hey Ollin- I don’t feel bad about it at all. I couldn’t find the post you did, so I didn’t know how closely mine related to yours, so I just took it down to be safe. I didn’t get the idea you were upset about it – I removed it for me, because I started wondering if my subconscious mind was messing with me and I rewrote your idea without realizing it. That wouldn’t be cool 🙂

      I’m looking forward to your guest also. Finishing up my stuff to send you is my Friday night project 🙂

      • Cities of the Mind December 13, 2010 / 12:07 AM

        If you’re really sneaky, you can submit the blog you just removed as the guest 😉

        • jannatwrites December 13, 2010 / 7:14 PM

          Too bad I’m not sneaky….never have been able to perfect that skill. Oh well, guess I’ll have to play it straight!

  7. Cities of the Mind December 13, 2010 / 12:06 AM

    You should try being totally flat broke, works like a charm! “You think, ooooh I must have that _____!” and then after a moment of longing you think, “But I might also be hungry at some point in the next week.”

    At which point you simply wipe away the tears and go figure out which brand of rice you want this week.

    • jannatwrites December 13, 2010 / 7:14 PM

      You’re absolutely right – if I had to choose between food and ‘stuff’, food would definitely win. As for the brand of rice? It would have to be the least expensive off-brand I could find 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

