Giving Thanks

Since it is Thanksgiving, it’s natural to remember and be thankful for the obvious things:  family, friends, food (the 3 f’s) and, in this economy, a place to live and a job.  I think of these things daily anyway, so I wanted to take a different approach on this day made for giving thanks.  I’ve made up a short list of not-so-obvious things I am thankful for.

  • Worries and troubles of others.  Of course I am thankful for the friends and family who share their burdens with me (that’s an obvious one.)  But I am thankful for the chance to share compassion and empathy with those people – and reap the reward of feeling like I made a difference in someone’s life that day.
  • The Obnoxious Driver (this is a type of person rather than an individual, because I encounter them nearly every day.)  I am thankful for these people because they give me an opportunity to practice patience and forgiveness; two things that I can never practice too often.
  • Those with differing views and opinions.  I am thankful for the people who are not like-minded because they remind me that I don’t always have to agree to get along.  It’s okay to have a different opinion, listen to each side’s argument, still disagree, but then shake hands and move on.
  • The smile or “hello” from a stranger.  I am thankful for the brief, but still special encounters with people I don’t know because it gives me hope that we’re not a hostile society (yet).
  • Pain of loss.  I am thankful for the excruciating pain of losing someone dear to me because I appreciate those I love who are still with me even more.
  • Yesterday.  I am thankful for yesterday because if I look closely enough, it will give me clues about my tomorrow.  I will find hints about how I can make someone else’s day a little happier.
This might be a turkey (compliments of younger son)

Feel free to add to the list with a comment.  Happy Thanksgiving 🙂

10 thoughts on “Giving Thanks

  1. Brown Eyed Mystic November 25, 2010 / 5:43 PM

    What a lovely perspective of things Janna! I am glad to have met you 🙂

    So thank YOU for posting this and making my day even better 🙂

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    -BrownEyed

    • jannatwrites November 25, 2010 / 8:25 PM

      Thank you, BrownEyed. Your comment made me smile. I like to think that I made your day better 🙂

  2. jpcabit November 25, 2010 / 8:16 PM

    #3 speaks to me especially. Yes, the views of others challenge our own opinions and beliefs. They also help us to see that there are other opinions out there! Aren’t we all here for a reason? To strengthen and work with each other?

    How about this:

    Thankful for how fast fashion moves. Because once you find something you like, just wait a year or two, and people will leave it behind. Then, it can be all your own style, and it will cost half as much!!! 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 25, 2010 / 8:30 PM

      I like your addition. Fashion is ever-changing, and sometimes that is a good thing! The cost reduction is a bonus.

  3. nrhatch November 26, 2010 / 8:47 AM

    Our “adversaries” are our teachers . . . and recognizing that paves the way for real wisdom to arise. 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 26, 2010 / 11:06 AM

      We just have to keep our eyes open, I suppose 🙂

  4. Cities of the Mind November 27, 2010 / 12:52 AM

    Good list! And creative. I’m also thankful for obnoxious drivers, but only because they give me someone to aim for if I ever have to choose between unavoidable collisions.

    • jannatwrites November 27, 2010 / 9:06 PM

      Uh-oh. I hope I never accidentally turn out in front of you 🙂

      Just messing with you….glad you liked the list!

  5. Ollin November 27, 2010 / 2:13 PM

    That was awesome Janna. I think you just made me appreciate things I had not appreciated or had been grateful for until just right now that you mentioned them, and explained why you were grateful for them. I am grateful for you, and this post, for opening my mind a little wider.

    I’m excited for your guest post! 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 27, 2010 / 9:13 PM

      Thank you, Ollin – your comment means a lot to me. I am so glad that the post helped you see things differently. I am also looking forward to the guest post…and for a few extra moments to actually write it 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

