Kharma’s Way – Part 13 on Serial Central, Are You Superstitious?

If you’re keeping up on my short story, Kharma’s Way, part 13 (Lying in Wait) is now up on Serial Central.   Thanks to ALL who have provided opinions so far 🙂

For those who are new to my blog and have no idea what this is about, you can click on the Serial Central link to go to a multi-author blog where we each tell our stories on a given day of the week (I’m Saturday).  All parts are posted under the Kharma’s Way category, so it’s never too late to read it. 

I’m not superstitious, but after working to get part 13 of Kharma’s Way posted on Serial Central, I’m beginning to think there’s something to the idea that 13 is an unlucky number.  For 12 parts, I have been able to format the top section and copy and paste the story text in without any problems.  And then, there’s part 13.

Every time I tried to format one thing, it knocked the rest of the text out of whack.  I’m not exaggerating when I tell you that I spent nearly an hour trying to get it perfect.  I deleted it eight times, and eight times I tried again, each time, seeing how far I could go before the whole thing messed up.  And it’s still not perfect.  And it REALLY bothers me.  (Yeah, I know…I need to get over it!)

All I have to say is:  thank goodness I wasn’t posting part 13 on Friday the 13th  – it may have committed me to a life of looking at improperly formatted text.  I have hope for tomorrow, and next week’s post 🙂

Are you superstitious about anything?  Please share in the comments box.

2 thoughts on “Kharma’s Way – Part 13 on Serial Central, Are You Superstitious?

  1. Barb November 23, 2010 / 10:55 AM

    It looked good enough to me!
    And 13 is the LUCKY number in Italy (from when we could win by right-guessing 13 soccer matches in a row – that “state contest” has been closed down for more trivial lotteries). We skip all the #17 instead (Friday 17 is very bad luck this side of the pond). I’m not superstitious, but I thought I’d share this different view! 😉

    • jannatwrites November 24, 2010 / 1:49 PM

      I finally got it working okay, but as of Monday, still had trouble with links. Oh well!

      Thanks for the 13 and 17trivia – I didn’t know that about Italy. Maybe I can stump some of my friends and they’ll marvel about how knowledgeable I am (or not)!

Got an opinion? Share it!

