Hidden Talent

It’s always a pleasant surprise to find that I have an aptitude for doing something and I haven’t spent countless hours studying or practicing to get there.  To discover a natural God-given talent, especially after so many years, is amazing to me.

Are you curious about what this special talent might be?  (Hint:  it has nothing to do with writing.)

Well, here it is:  on Saturday, I discovered quite accidentally, that I can strip the sheets off the bed without disturbing my cat, Cybil as she napped.  Yes, I slid the fitted sheet off the mattress and pulled the sheet out from under the blanket and comforter without her moving (I checked – she was breathing).  Now, I didn’t do it with a quick, snapping flourish, like the people who can whip a table cloth off the table without messing up the dishes at each place setting.  My maneuver was more delicate, similar to extracting a child’s elbow from between slats in the back of chair.  Or dislodging bread stuck in a toaster.

You may be wondering why I didn’t just pick her up and put her on the floor.  It’s simple:  she was named Cybil for a reason.  Her full name is Cybil the Psycho Cat.  She bites, she scratches and hisses if she’s moved from a comfortable spot.  In fact, she can do all of the above even if she isn’t moved.  Afraid of her?  Ha!  Of course not, that’s silly…she’s just a cat.  I mean, I’m so much bigger; why would I be afraid–oh, all right.  Yes, I am a little scared of her. <hang my head in shame.>

My bubble burst later in the evening after I pulled the clean bedding from the dryer, all hot and cozy.  I walked into my room and Cybil was still curled up on the comforter.  She raised her head up and narrowed her eyes.  I stood several feet away, my arms wrapped around the laundered sheets, holding her gaze.  We kept eye contact for over ten seconds.  I felt like we were preparing for an Old West gun battle.  I blinked first.  She had the upper hand.

I stepped forward, hoping, she’d retreat and run under the bed.  She didn’t move a muscle.  I dropped the sheets and stood inches away with my hands on my hips.  She meowed at me (a warning, I soon discovered).  I reached out for her, it was her last chance for her to run.  She did not.  I picked her up.  She meowed a high-pitched battle cry, bit me, hissed and growled.  I set her on the floor and she stalked away with her back twitching.  I didn’t move until she disappeared under the bed.  As I pulled the sheets over the mattress, I kept my toes away from the edge of the bed…just in case she had revenge on her mind.

Do you have any hidden talents or interesting quirks?  Don’t be shy; I’m sure you can do better than my sheet removal trick 🙂

18 thoughts on “Hidden Talent

  1. jpcabit November 15, 2010 / 9:40 AM

    Lol! This was awesome. She really does look kind of evil in the picture on the sidebar. 🙂

    I have a knack for figuring out random acronyms, and deciphering vanity plates…I think that counts for something

    • jannatwrites November 15, 2010 / 7:27 PM

      Now, now…she’s not evil – she’s just crazy. She scares my family, but lets the kids bother her. It’s kind of entertaining.

      Acronymn deciphering is a talent. I can’t stand it when I see a vanity plate and I can’t figure out what it means. I should send those on to you so you can make up something to put me out of my misery 🙂

  2. nrhatch November 15, 2010 / 1:00 PM

    Cybil and Tigger are twins . . . identical markings and parallel behavior patterns.

    Loved your Old West showdown. I also keep my toes out of sight at times. 🙂

    What a fun read! Thanks.

    • jannatwrites November 15, 2010 / 7:29 PM

      Uh-oh, you have an off-the-wall cat too? I’m so sorry 🙂

      Glad you liked the stand off. We have to watch our backs (or feet) at all times!

  3. chlost November 15, 2010 / 4:25 PM

    Well, we don’t ask for our talents, we take them as we get them. What a great cat story!

    • jannatwrites November 15, 2010 / 7:30 PM

      If I asked for a talent, it wouldn’t be stealthy sheet changing! Good to hear you enjoyed the cat story 🙂

  4. Brown Eyed Mystic November 15, 2010 / 5:13 PM

    LOL. This gave me the chuckles. Lovely, quirky incident, Janna.

    I could imagine you standing there like you said you did. Hands on hips and waiting for her to retreat. That must have been quite a sight! Oh, I am glad I can write all this about her w/o her noticing me. Ha! I am safe 😉

    -BrownEyed

  5. jannatwrites November 15, 2010 / 7:33 PM

    Cybil is a little deranged. One time, my Aunt came to our house to watch the kids and when we came home, she was standing up at the edge of the room. We asked her why, and she told us that Cybil approached her, meowed loudly and just sat there staring at her. It made my Aunt nervous so she stood up to keep from getting attacked.

    Oh well, she’s still my kitty 🙂

  6. Ollin November 16, 2010 / 6:10 PM

    Oh, I’m jealous! I so wanna be able to do that. Please teach! 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 17, 2010 / 6:51 AM

      Really? I’d love to teach you, but I don’t even know how I did it…I may never be able to do it again (which makes me a little sad.) I’ll have to try it again next week and find out 🙂

  7. T.A. Olivia (aka) Darksculptures November 17, 2010 / 3:53 PM

    Do you think it will work on my 90 lb dogs?

    I love this story. I can just see this happening. I used to have a 14 y/o cat that wouldn’t move if you threw a salmon on the floor next to him.

    • jannatwrites November 17, 2010 / 7:20 PM

      I just don’t see how this would work with that much poundage 🙂

      Love the mental image of the cat giving you a “do you seriously expect me to get that?” look.

    • jannatwrites November 19, 2010 / 11:05 PM

      I just love my four-legged friends. I have one crawling around my keyboard right now 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

  8. nrhatch August 18, 2011 / 9:41 AM

    Love this post . . . “step away from the cat.”

    Or as my Scottish Clan motto say . . . “Touch not the cat bot a glove” ~ don’t touch the cat without gloves. 😉

    • jannatwrites August 18, 2011 / 8:36 PM

      I like that Scottish saying – I’ve not heard that before. My Cybil is certainly a 2-glove kitty cat 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

