Kharma’s Way – Part 12 on Serial Central, Call For More Writers & Secret Feelings (Poem)

If you’re keeping up on my short story, Kharma’s Way, part 12 (Distraction) is now up on Serial Central.   Please let me know what you liked – or didn’t like.  I do take the comments to heart in hopes of improving my writing, so a HUGE “Thank You!” to all who have helped me so far.

For those who are new to my blog and have no idea what this is about, you can click on the Serial Central link to go to a multi-author blog where we each tell our stories on a given day of the week (I’m Saturday).  All parts are posted under the Kharma’s Way category, so it’s never too late to read it. 

Speaking of Serial Central, we’re looking for more authors to join so we can do rotations and take breaks.  If you have a longish story or a novella that wouldn’t fit into magazine requirements or is not long enough to go out to publishers and agents, why not put it out there and start spreading your name? Be brave, join us. It doesn’t have to be forever!

If interested, contact us at serialcentral (at) yahoogroups (dot) com

I hate to break my tradition of posting a poem with the Kharma’s Way posting announcement, but I didn’t write any poetry this week.  So, I decided to share a blast from the past instead.  Keep in mind that I was seventeen when I wrote it 🙂

Secret Feelings

A glimmer in the night,

A diamond in the sand;

Dreams held tight,

Cupped in my hand.

Tucked away to hold safe-

Looked upon only by me.

Because of words I didn’t say,

I could never let you see:

The glimmering diamond-

Dreams I could not pursue-

All were far beyond

What I should feel, my friend, for you.

4 thoughts on “Kharma’s Way – Part 12 on Serial Central, Call For More Writers & Secret Feelings (Poem)

  1. nrhatch November 13, 2010 / 8:32 AM

    I am reluctant to comment further on Kharma’s Way . . .

    Although you invited readers to tell you what they liked ~ and didn’t like ~ about the story, you subsequently admitted that their collective suggestions about ways to improve Chapter 10 sent you into a tailspin of self-doubt, sprinkled with tears.

    What that says to me . . .

    Readers are encouraged to provide you with glowing praise and accolades about what they like, but should otherwise bite their tongues.

    Since I don’t see how that would assist you to improve your writing (or develop a thicker skin), I’m reluctant to read further.

    • nrhatch November 13, 2010 / 3:33 PM

      Reading my comment over, I’ve decided it sounds “mean.” I don’t mean to be mean. I mean to be kind.

      Too many writers on WEbook asked for “honest feedback,” when they were NOT really looking for honesty. Once bitten, twice shy.

      Fiction and Poetry are very “personal.” Readers can dislike a poem or short story for reasons completely unrelated to the quality and caliber of the writing itself ~ so you’ve got to learn to please yourself and TRUST that your intended audience will find you.

      Write on!

      • jannatwrites November 13, 2010 / 4:46 PM

        I’m not sure how to repsond to this. I was honest with my struggles in my post and I want honest feedback on my writing. Your previous comment seemed like your honest opinion. A little harsh, yes – but honest, and I can respect that. This follow up dilutes your views as you orignally expressed them and is not necessary.

        You are right that writing is personal, and I do want to get stronger when it comes to critiques. That’s not going to happen with fluffy comments which may or may not be truth. I know some people say they like stuff because they don’t want to be mean, or don’t say anything at all for the same reason. That does me no good. So yes, when a lot of ‘critical’ comments came on multiple projects, I got overwhelmed. Then I got over it and I’ve gotten stronger.

    • jannatwrites November 13, 2010 / 4:38 PM

      And this is why I am always reluctant to post about the “down” emotions that I go through as an aspiring author. There was a combination of things (the least of which was Kharma’s Way) that led to my recent issues. My blog is the one place where I feel like I can be me and not put on a fake happy face. I’m sorry this made you feel like you can’t read or comment further.

Got an opinion? Share it!

