Boy, Am I An Idiot

I do most of my writing late at night, after hubby and the kids have gone to bed (and when I should be sleeping.)  I do get tired and get to the point I can’t think straight, but I know when I start nodding off at the computer, it’s past time to pack it in.  I need to go to bed.  This explains a lot about my blog posts, right?

A week ago Sunday, it appears that I ignored all the signs of fatigue and remained determined to soldier on.  At 10:46 that night, I overwrote one of my short stories with another one.  I didn’t discover it until last Thursday, when I went to print it so I could fill out the weak areas.

Here’s how it happened.  I had 2 versions of “Story 1” – one for my class assignment and one for the writing contest.  (There were some minor formatting differences.)  I discovered more changes after I read the printed copy, so I updated my class assignment version.  I decided it would be easier to do the formatting changes on the writing contest version than to make the various text changes, so I did a ‘save as’ on the assignment copy and chose what I thought was “Story 1 – writing contest,” for the file name in but instead, I chose “Story 2 – writing contest.”

There are no older versions to retrieve, I didn’t have a printed copy and I efficiently shredded my notes, which were written on scrap paper.  Since Thursday, I’ve been trying to piece it back together again.  Yeah, I know – too dumb to deserve sympathy.  Take my advice:  don’t EVER do this 🙂

Even an idiot (like me) can overcome adversity.  At first, my inner optimist was frustrated and berated my careless self.  But since stewing about my error can’t rewrite the story, so here are some things I thought of to cheer myself up:

  1. The contest deadline for the story that got wiped out is 12/1 – the other contest deadline was 11/1.  I have a month to recreate the lost story.
  2. I ended up with THREE copies of the story for the 11/1 contest deadline, so I managed to get the story submitted.
  3. I copied all of my files onto a thumb drive and will back up changed files every Sunday.
  4. Instead of using scratch paper, I’m using a spiral notebook when I’m putting stories on paper.  The contents of the notebook will not be shredded.  (I prefer to use my laptop, but there are times when it’s inconvenient or impossible to do it.)

I’d like to say this was the only dumb move I’ll make, but I’m afraid there will be more lurking in my future.  I’ll look on the bright side:  my mistakes give me something to blog about 🙂

13 thoughts on “Boy, Am I An Idiot

  1. Artswebshow November 1, 2010 / 4:19 AM

    lol, that must have been so frustrating

    • jannatwrites November 1, 2010 / 7:29 PM

      Frustrating is an understatement 🙂 My family steered clear of me for about fifteen minutes…and then I realized it could’ve been worse!

  2. Brown Eyed Mystic November 1, 2010 / 5:15 AM

    Hmm . . . Sometimes, we learn the hard way. But Boy, do we learn (I tweaked your post-title a bit ;))

    I understand it must have been tiring, but at the same time am sure you are going to reproduce the piece even better this time!

    -BrownEyed

    • jannatwrites November 1, 2010 / 7:30 PM

      So far, it’s not there, but I haven’t been able to get back into the ‘zone’. I’m sure I’ll get there eventually (I have 30 days to do it!)

  3. T.A. Olivia (aka) Darksculptures November 1, 2010 / 1:50 PM

    Eek! What a moment of panic that must have been. On the bright side, better a story than a full length novel. And as BrownEyed said, I’m sure you will be able to recreate it and quite possibly it will be even better than the first.

    • jannatwrites November 1, 2010 / 7:32 PM

      Yep, I was in a panic. I closed all of my files and tried again before I realized that I really did do something that dumb! You’re right – it would’ve been far more devastating if it was my novel. Compared to that, a 1500-word story is nothing!

      • jpcabit November 4, 2010 / 6:14 AM

        Oh my goodness, what a nightmare if it were a novel!!!

        • jannatwrites November 4, 2010 / 5:28 PM

          Yeah, it certainly could’ve been worse. I still haven’t finished reconstructing the story, though 😦

  4. jpcabit November 4, 2010 / 6:14 AM

    Well like you said at least you have something to blog about. 😀

    Dont you hate it when that happens? I used to write on an old PC. I had a bunch of stories saved up. But one day, some people cleaning the room decided that the computer was useless, and goodbye ‘puter, goodbye archives. 😦 😦 😦

    • jannatwrites November 4, 2010 / 5:31 PM

      That’s just awful! I think my blood pressure went up just reading what happened to you. I would’ve needed medical attention (or the people who cleaned the room would have…I don’t know). I hope you’ve recovered from the trauma 😉

    • Brown Eyed Mystic November 4, 2010 / 5:36 PM

      OMG. That’s would’ve hurt bad!
      Sorry about that jp 😦

  5. Miss Rosemary November 8, 2010 / 5:48 PM

    Sometimes these things happen. Such is the life of a writer.

    • jannatwrites November 8, 2010 / 9:24 PM

      You’re right. Despite my best efforts, I’ll probably end up doing something careless again in the future.

Got an opinion? Share it!

