Feeling 100

Okay, I don’t feel like I’m 100 years old, but I am feeling my 100th blog post.  In the posts leading up to this “big one”, I’ve gone through a period of reflection.  (Much like I imagine one would do when nearing a 100th birthday) as well as thinking of the future.  After all, just because the 100 milestone has passed, it doesn’t mean I have to slow down!This blog began as a place for my writing world.  My personal self was supposed to stay far, far away.  Of course, I discovered that I couldn’t extract my personal self from my writing because I am wrapped around every word on this blog.  I am a flawed person with hopes, fears, dreams, and insecurities that are constantly in conflict – battles that provoke many of my posts.

Over the last several months, you have followed a bread-crumb trail of my life.  You’ve learned about why I hate my birthday, struggles with the query process, my guilt over taking my own snacks into a movie, the death of my son’s fish and my thoughts expressed in poetry.

But getting here is more about the people that regularly read and comment on my blog.  And believe me, I’m still surprised at how many people actually do come back to read it.  If it weren’t for the interaction, I might have gotten bored and given up a long time ago.

Enough about me, this is about you.  I’ve sifted through hundreds of comments and pulled out some from many of my frequent commenters.   I couldn’t pick favorites because I like them all 🙂

First words of encouragement: BrownEyed Mystic

Reads like an interesting concept to me. I wish you luck with the novel. Shall visit more often.

First published author to comment on my blog:  Lisa at MilkFever

Hi Janna, loved the image of the pig and lipstick. It probably comes down to finding the right colour to match the pig’s skin tone. But then I’m no expert.
Many a page has blurred before my eyes like the one above,until the words become a foreign language and the brain is pulp.
Make yourself a cuppa and rest the eyes. But don’t give up on the publishing dream whatever you do. My favourite saying is: “you can not fail, unless you quit.”
So hang in there my fellow writer,
Lisa

Best Confession:  Barb at Creative Barbwire

I’m guilty of comma splice. Which means I have to re-read everything and hunt them down… if I can find them! I’ll have to ask my beta-readers to point them out to me… hopefully from now on I won’t use them anymore – I discovered this sin last summer, so anything written before then might have some…

Biggest Cat Lover: Maimoona Rahman

Your poem is so moving, especially the cat’s meow being a blessing I love cats. I love cat people

Most Consistently Inspirational:  Three way tie between  BrownEyed Mystic, Ollin and nrhatch

Best Post-It Note Quote:  Cities of the Mind

In response to Mr. Vonnegut I say: A writer chooses; a slave obeys.

Best Advice From a New Author: Alijayd

So next time you want to put in an adverb think of a good descriptive verb instead.

Newest Subscriber:  Bill Greeves   (welcome to the party 🙂  No, don’t leave yet…it’ll get better…or not)

 

Confidence boosters: (most comments are, but I picked out a variety for this post)

2blu2btruLove the posts. I’m adding you to my blogroll, one of the first writing centered ones on it. I tend to find them tedious, but your blog is well done

Lua Fowles  – But seeing how creative you are- now I can’t wait to read your novel!

Chlost – You obviously don’t suck, because this blog has great writing.

Lisa at MilkFever– I don’t need to see a picture of you JannaT to know you are beautiful. And will still be that way in twenty, or more, years from now

Smander – This is absolutely beautiful. I dont have kids but this made me think of my mum. I remember walking off bravely towards a first day and turning briefly to wave…wanting to run back to her but knowing that I had to soldier on! Thanks for sharing this beauitful moment.

Kavita Your poems here were very sharp!!! Cliché was superbly worded and rhymed! Pain was like WOW!!! And Broken was sad and echoing in my head!

Jpcabit –(on part 1 of Kharma’s Way) Your descriptions are superb, as well as your setup of this girl trying to get a “New You!”

Miss Rosemary This was so touching. I love the last two lines and the one “What age is it they disown you?” You’re really bringing out real mommy emotions. If you were going for bittersweet tearjerker, you got it!

nrhatch – Love the poem. The last line is PERFECT!

Darksculptures – I love it! The story and the way you molded it into a great post about writing. You have a clever way about you that makes all of your posts a joy to read.

BrownEyed Mystic – I loved it Janna. It’s one of the everyday things that happens to most of us, but you have the ability to make it into something special! Loved the descriptions.

 

Best Typo Hunter:  Charlene Ang  (Sorry, the rest of her comment was so lovely, I had to include it too)

I love your post. It’s interesting, witty, and I didn’t feel the usual urge to close the browser or skip to the next blog. I just kept reading all the way till the very end.  Congratulations on your query success and I hope it all turns out well!

P.S. I think you meant: I recently received a response back that caught ME by surprise.
Hehe, I just have a thing for typos.

 

Just for laughs:

Jpcabit – I have ADOTED—Aggravated Disorder Of The Em-Dash. I use them all the time. I also have a very strong case of HODOTE…which is Hyper Obsessive Disorder Of The Ellipse. I love these punctuation marks. They are so great—I use them all the time! When I can at least…

Rissa Watkins – You know, I’ve read that whenever you use a semi-colon in your book a cookie is stolen from a child somewhere or a puppy is kicked or some such evil nonsense.

I think as with anything, except chocolate, moderation is key.

Amanda:  Tranny hermaphrodites, huh? That makes me want to use them even more! I love all forms of pausing punctuation, and no amount of bullying will get me to stop.

DISCLAIMER:  This post has like a bazillion links.  If you find any that are incorrect, chalk it up to me feeling 100 🙂

16 thoughts on “Feeling 100

  1. T.S. Bazelli October 28, 2010 / 9:21 AM

    Congrats on your 100th post! It’s a big milestone 😀

    • jannatwrites October 28, 2010 / 5:30 PM

      Thanks, Tessa. I wonder if I’ll have enough ideas to make it til 200? I guess we’ll see…

  2. nrhatch October 28, 2010 / 11:44 AM

    What an awesome way to celebrate reaching mile marker 100!!! Blogging is ever so much fun when we interact with each other in positive ways.

    BTW: I love 3-way ties . . . 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 28, 2010 / 5:32 PM

      Hmmm…mile marker. I like that because this blog is like a journey. The thing is, I just don’t know how far my destination is! I guess I’ll know it when I get there and in the meantime, I’ll just enjoy the scenery.

      P.S. Glad you liked the 3-way tie…I couldn’t pick just one of you!

  3. Brown Eyed Mystic October 28, 2010 / 2:26 PM

    First of all: Congratulations J!! YAY! Happy 100th Post Anniversary. Muah!

    Secondly, I am so glad my words made any bit of a difference. Hey, I was just telling the truth, but sometimes you are too stuck to realise your own greatness 🙂 So it gets important for me to keep making you realise that you totally rock! Rock oh-so-totally! Totally rocking! OK you get it already.

    But I sincerely love you 🙂

    You keep doing what you are doing here now, OK? OK. Good.

    Love,
    BrownEyed

    P.S. Yay!!

    • jannatwrites October 28, 2010 / 5:36 PM

      Well, I’m blushing now. Good thing it doesn’t show up in black and white. I still don’t think I’m that great, but I certainly appreciate all the kind things you wrote. (Besides, if I lived up to your comments, I’d have to hire someone to carry my ego. What a pain.)

      As always, I’m delighted you stopped by 🙂

  4. T.A. Olivia (aka) Darksculptures October 28, 2010 / 5:18 PM

    Happy Birthday! Congrats! and Yippee!

    Taking time from my blog to write has left a substantial hole where community should be. It is definately a worth while undertaking.

    • jannatwrites October 28, 2010 / 5:38 PM

      When things get busy, I wonder if the blog should be the thing to go. But when I think about, it’s always “no” because writing about nothing in particular actually clears my head so I can write stories and novels. Strange, huh?

      I know your schedule is crazy, but selfishly, I hope you at least post once a week 🙂

  5. Bill Greeves October 28, 2010 / 6:14 PM

    Congrats on the major milestone! I feel like such a noob with my measly 57! ; ) And I echo all the comments about community. I try to separate book writing time from networking time, but I consider them both very valuable. The networking helps me get my name out there, it lets me write about tons of different things (kinda like your list up there) and it helps me connect with others on the same past for wisdom, feedback and perhaps even sympathy! So in other words, keep up both and we’ll keep reading and writing back!

    • jannatwrites October 28, 2010 / 8:32 PM

      Thanks! Don’t feel bad; 57 ain’t too shabby! You’re more than halfway to 100 (yeah, I know…I’m a math genius. I figured that out in my head.)

      I’ll do my best to keep the topics interesting, but if you find them getting stale, please feel free to tell me so I can change it up 🙂

  6. Maimoona Rahman October 29, 2010 / 12:54 AM

    Whoa, 100th post? Congrats. Wait… I spy Sammy and Lizzy 😀

    You’re truly amazing. So keep going, and we’ll keep reading 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2010 / 8:57 PM

      Thanks, Maimoona! Glad you stopped by…the kitties will always be here 🙂

  7. Ollin October 29, 2010 / 9:04 PM

    Ah! Thanks! Congrats on your 100 posts! We’ll be hanging around for those 100 more! 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2010 / 9:45 PM

      I’m looking forward to the next 100. Thanks for stopping by, Ollin 🙂

  8. jpcabit October 30, 2010 / 12:57 PM

    Congratulations on your century of posts!

    Ooh, I got quoted! 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 30, 2010 / 7:21 PM

      Thanks, Seph! Of course you were quoted, that response was hilarious and could become a classic 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

