Kharma’s Way Part 9 on Serial Central & I Can’t Say Goodbye (poem)

If you’re keeping up on my short story, Kharma’s Way, part 9 (The Unexpected) is now up on Serial Central.  I don’t want to ruin the mystery, so I won’t give away what happens in this segment – you’ll have to check it out.  If you have been following it, then end of this part just may be…well, unexpected.  (If you do read it, I’d love to hear your opinion – did you like it or hate it – and why?)

If you are new to my blog and have no idea what this is about, you can click on the Serial Central link to go to a multi-author blog where we each tell our stories on a given day of the week (I’m Saturday).  All parts are posted under the Kharma’s Way category, so it’s never too late to read it. 

In keeping with my weeks-old tradition (can it be a tradition after a few weeks?) of posting poetry with my Saturday announcements, I’m sharing a poem I wrote on Friday morning – the day after I found out my grandma may be nearing the end of her battle with Alzheimer’s (and other physical ailments plaguing her.)   It’s safe to say I’m not handling it well yet.  Of course, after several years of watching her decline, I knew it would come to this, but I’m still not ready.

I apologize for  the ‘down’ post, and I will make an effort to be more upbeat on the next round 🙂  Enjoy your Saturday!

I Can’t Say Goodbye      

Childhood bike rides

And picnics at the park-

Up the hill, I whined

But you urged me on.

Doors always open,

A fridge full of food.

A song in the morning

To spread your good mood.

Church every Sunday,

League bowling with the girls –

I always complained

When they pawed at my curls.

There sits on a shelf,

A Swiss jewelry box;

A token of your travels

And warm, loving thoughts.

These times bring on tears

And a dull, empty ache

For all those spent years-

Forever, I’m changed.

I pray you don’t know

Your worst fear is reality-

As Alzheimer’s dark shadow

Swallows your memories.

I feel sad for the future

And struggle with longing

For things as they were;

When your mind was free.

You sit before me,

Distance in your eyes

Body frail and weak,

But still, I can’t say “goodbye.”

 

P.S. I know God will take you,

With my blessing or not,

When the time comes,

Give Grandpa my love…

4 thoughts on “Kharma’s Way Part 9 on Serial Central & I Can’t Say Goodbye (poem)

  1. darksculptures October 24, 2010 / 1:46 PM

    Your poem literally gave me goosebumps. Powerful emotion coming through right at the end. ::clapping:: Now, I must go get a tissue.

    • jannatwrites October 24, 2010 / 2:18 PM

      I wasn’t in a good place when I wrote it, but just writing it helped because I’m doing better now. Thanks for your comment 🙂

      • T.A. Olivia (aka) Darksculptures October 24, 2010 / 2:41 PM

        Poetry can have a liberating effect. I know when I’m having a difficult time dealing with something, I turn to poetry as my escape.

        I’m glad you hear writing this helped and that you are doing better. 🙂

        • jannatwrites October 24, 2010 / 7:17 PM

          Thank you…you are very kind 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

