Kharma’s Way Part 6 on Serial Central

If you’re keeping up on my short story, Kharma’s Way, part 6 is now up on Serial Central.  If you are new to my blog and have no idea what this is about, you can click on the Serial Central link to go to a multi-author blog where we each tell our stories on a given day of the week (I’m Saturday).  If you haven’t read the story at all, or if you’ve missed a section, it’s not too late – all parts are posted under the Kharma’s Way category. 

Here’s the ending of part 5 (posted last week) and the beginning of part 6:

Rodney’s warm breath on my ear momentarily left me in a daze, but I pulled myself together and focused on the front of the store.  Gill had exited and stood alone out front, staring in our direction.  My lungs refused to allow any breath to enter or exit when Gill started walking toward us. 

“Don’t move,” Rodney whispered.  His lips brushed my ear as he spoke.

Finally, my paralyzed voice and body broke free from the fear.  “Give me the gun,” I demanded.

“I can’t do that.”

“Are you ready to die?”

“It’s okay.  Though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod–”

I’m not ready, so give me the damn gun,” I gritted between clenched teeth.

“Shhh,” he scolded.

Read More

Got an opinion? Share it!

