Saturday Morning Serial – Kharma’s Way – Part 5 (Change of Plans #2)

Today, I’m posting the second segment of the 5th part of Kharma’s Way, my Saturday serial story.  I know, it’s confusing, right?  I’ve been thinking about the story dilemma for several weeks, and I’ve decided to suspend new segments for a couple weeks, so my posts on Serial Central will catch up.  I hope this doesn’t frustrate any of you who are following the story, but I think it’s the best choice.  On 10/2, part 6 of the story will be posted and continue from where this post leaves off. 

If you missed any of the other segments, the links are under the Saturday AM Serial tab.  Enjoy your Saturday!

~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~

“Shhhh,” Rodney warned, checking to make sure we didn’t draw Gill’s attention.

After several seconds, I continued in a whisper.  “Mary Anne is honest and I don’t think she intentionally covered up anything.  But think about it; cardiac arrest is caused by a surge in adrenaline, which can be administered in an overdose of epinephrine.  That wouldn’t show up as abnormal on a toxicology report.”

Rodney shook his head.  “Circumstantial.”

I persisted in pleading the argument.  “Gill said that Michelle just got back from jogging and didn’t feel well.  The problem is she didn’t exercise, much less jog.  And, he didn’t call 9-1-1 until she died.”

“Maybe she just started jogging and her body couldn’t handle it.  Michelle was young and generally healthy, so he may not have realized her life was in danger.”

Rodney’s defense of a murderer angered me.  I wanted to yell at him or hit him, neither of which I could do quietly.  I managed to calmly whisper, “Do you remember that Gill works for a pharmaceutical sales company?  Don’t you think he has access to contacts that could get him epinephrine?”

For several seconds, Rodney sat silent with his forehead furrowed, indicating he pondered the plausibility of the argument I presented.  I smugly waited for him to agree with me.  To occupy myself, I watched the bee that landed on my denim-covered thigh, wondering if it could sting through thick fabric.  I decided it could; if it wanted to.

“Compelling,” he conceded.  “But I don’t understand why he would do it.  Their wedding was less than two months away.”

“I just know he did it.  I feel it.”

Rodney shook his head.  “You can’t take that to court.”

“I guess that’s why I’m here.”

“Forgive whatever grievances you may have. Forgive as the Lord forgave you.”

I’m certainly no expert on bible quotes, but it sounded like another one to me.  I didn’t have a response, so I watched the front of the store.  I didn’t see them out front anymore, so I stood to get a better view.

Before I got completely upright, Rodney yanked my elbow, tumbling me into his lap.  “Are you crazy?” he asked.

I contemplated giving him an honest answer, but instead grumbled, “I just wanted to see if he left.”  I started to slide off his lap when Rodney tightened his grip around me.

“Shhhh,” he whispered in my ear.

Rodney’s warm breath on my ear momentarily left me in a daze, but I pulled myself together and focused on the front of the store.  Gill had exited and stood alone out front, staring in our direction.  My lungs refused to allow any breath to enter or exit when Gill started walking toward us.

Got an opinion? Share it!

