Saturday Morning Serial – Kharma’s Way – Part 5 (Change of Plans #1)

It’s Saturday again, so that means the next part of Kharma’s Way is here.  (Well, it’s half of the next part at least).  If you missed any of the other segments, the links are under the Saturday AM Serial tab.  Happy Saturday to all!

~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~

“Shhhh,” the man ordered.  “Unless you want Gill to find you spying on him, you’d best be quiet.”

He removed his hand from my mouth, but I already knew the man’s identity.  I turned around and confirmed that Rodney Fletcher sat behind the bushes with me.

“What the hell are you doing?” I whispered, glaring at him.  I flinched when a bee flew past my nose.

He raised an eyebrow.  “One could ask the same of you.”

I almost forgot that my right hand still held the revolver inside my purse.  I released my grip and casually slid my hand out.  “I’m just, uh…well, I…” I stammered.  “Oh, you know what I’m doing!” I snapped.

“Give it to me.”

“What?”

“You were about to off Gill.  Give me the gun.”  He held his hand out expectantly.

Dang it.  I felt like a high school student who just got busted by the principal for smoking cigarettes behind the school.  I reluctantly pulled the small revolver out of my purse and dropped it in his hand.

He tucked it in his waistband.

“Why do you pass judgment on others? We will all stand before the judgment seat of God.”

I rolled my eyes and broke eye contact.  His scripture quoting made me feel nervous and inadequate.  “How did you know I came to Arizona?”

“I heard about Gill’s travel plans and rightly assumed you wouldn’t be far behind,” he whispered.  “For eight hours, I followed you; for over five hundred miles, on three Interstates and the appreciation I get is ‘what the hell are you doing?’  I may have saved your soul from the hungry arms of the devil.”

My eyes narrowed.  “What makes you think you’re not too late?”

He smiled.  “I just know.”  He swatted a bee away from my face.  For the first time I noticed how red his light brown hair looked in the sunlight.  The freckles dotting his cheeks made him look like a mischievous child.

“You’re full of crap,” I muttered, turning my head toward Gill and the two women standing outside. 

“He’s innocent, you know.  The investigation concluded that Michelle’s heart attack was due to natural causes.  I know Michelle was your best friend, but going after Gill won’t bring her back.  They cleared his name, why can’t you let it go?”

I turned my attention back to Rodney and gave him a nasty glare.  “The lead investigator was Dennis McForrester.”

He shrugged.  “So?”

“So, Dennis is a long-time friend of Gill’s family.  The friendship between the Arnold and McForrester families goes back three generations.”

“Big deal.  He doesn’t have enough pull to get charges dismissed.”

“Gill’s brother, Gary, is also a lieutenant.”

“So?”

I frowned, irritated that I had to spell everything out for Rodney.  “Gary has his sights set high for his career.  It’s impossible to tell where his nose ends and the Chief’s butt begins.”

Rodney’s expression conveyed disbelief.  “The medical examiner’s report didn’t come back with any chemicals in Michelle’s body.”  He whispered with a sarcastic tone, “Do you think Mary Anne Varney is sleeping with the Chief to keep it under wraps?”

“No!”

“Shhhh,” Rodney warned, looking to make sure we didn’t draw Gill’s attention

Continued next week…

6 thoughts on “Saturday Morning Serial – Kharma’s Way – Part 5 (Change of Plans #1)

  1. Lua September 5, 2010 / 6:34 AM

    I don’t care what that man says, I think Gill is guilty! 🙂 Great part Jenna but the suspense is killing me!

    • jannatwrites September 5, 2010 / 9:39 AM

      I’m glad it’s keeping your interest, Lua. Of course you’ll find out more in the coming weeks!

  2. Kavita September 7, 2010 / 10:40 AM

    Till now I was VERY SURE Gill was the culprit… but now, I have doubts…this is just getting better and better! Arrgghhh ….5 days to go, for the next episode!!! 😦

    I am already in contemplation mode… working out possibilities for the next part of the story.. hehehe

    • jannatwrites September 8, 2010 / 7:23 PM

      Ha, ha! Your comment made me smile. I am happy that it keeps you guessing because it seems so obvious to me (of course, right?)

      We’ll see if your guess is right….I don’t know, because I’m not done writing it yet!

  3. Jingle September 8, 2010 / 4:34 PM

    beautiful thoughts.

    keep writing,

    • jannatwrites September 8, 2010 / 7:25 PM

      Thanks for stopping by, Jingle. I will do my best to keep writing!

Got an opinion? Share it!

