I’m Not A Contest Winner, But My Blog Still Likes Me (I think)

Since my last post, a few loose ends have been tied up.

My query hook got another positive response.  I didn’t win the contest, but two encouraging responses do outweigh the one luke-warm one.  I think I’m on the right track with my query, but just lack the motivation to move full-speed ahead.  In due time…

Patience is a trait that escapes me, so yesterday I registered for the manuscript writing community college class.  The plan was to do it tomorrow, but my schedule cleared up enough so I did it last night.  It’s been a while since I’ve done a college class, but some things never change:  the text books are outrageously expensive! 

Finally, for my last bit of news:  I’m taking a cue from two bloggers that I read, and have decided to try my hand at a weekly serial story entry.  Poetry and novels are all I’ve written before, so a short story is foreign to me.  Posting segments of a story that I haven’t already completed and edited makes me a little uneasy because it won’t be polished nice and pretty.  I also run the risk of ending up with a novella if I’m longwinded, as I tend to be 🙂

So, my Saturday Morning Serial (inspired by Lua and JPCabit) will begin on Saturday.  Lua runs her story on Monday and JPCabit has Tuesday covered.  If you’ve got time for a weekend story, I hope you’ll stop by.

6 thoughts on “I’m Not A Contest Winner, But My Blog Still Likes Me (I think)

  1. jpcabit July 30, 2010 / 5:42 AM

    Ooooh, yaaaay!!! Another serial! This should be interesting!!!

    I haven’t gotten a single personalized, positive response yet. 😦 Consider yourself lucky enough to get even that. 🙂

    • jannatwrites July 30, 2010 / 8:12 PM

      Here’s hoping it’ll be interesting. I know the rejections get depressing, but just hang in there!

  2. Lua July 30, 2010 / 11:52 AM

    Oh YAY!! This is such a great news, a story for Saturdays 🙂 I’m so happy you’re doing this Jannat, it’ll be great to begin our weekends with your stories!
    And also- congrats on registering to the writing class. I always find it stimulating to be interactive with fellow writers, published or aspiring… I’m sure it’ll be fun and very beneficial.
    Well, can’t wait till Saturday 🙂

    • jannatwrites July 30, 2010 / 8:14 PM

      Thanks for your encouragement (as always). I’m a little nervous about the story, but we’ll see how it plays out – this is my adventurous side…more adrenaline than skydiving here!

  3. Smander August 2, 2010 / 1:26 AM

    Ah I’m impatient too. I am VERY impatient for my book to write itself at the moment. Why do I even have to be involved?! I wish it would just appear! My problem is I can see it in my mind but it takes toooo loooong for the words to come out!

    I loved your comment about uni books being expensive. I remember that!

    • jannatwrites August 2, 2010 / 7:44 AM

      Now there’s a perfect idea – a book that writes itself in less than a week. It would also help if the book were so wonderful that the literary agents came to us and we had to interview them to choose which one we thought worthy to represent it. Yeah, right!

Got an opinion? Share it!

