Friendship & Poetry

I spent most of yesterday with my best friend.  We’ve been friends since we met in an Abnormal Psychology class in college, commiserating our lousy scores on the latest assignment.  Because we live on opposite sides of the city (it takes over an hour on the freeway to travel between our houses), we only get together about once a month, sometimes longer depending on our schedules.  I look forward to our visits because I get a few hours off from being a wife and a mother (although I almost always get several phone calls from the kids asking when I’m coming home—my answers range anywhere from “later” to “tomorrow” to “next week” depending on how many times they’ve called). 

I love my family, but I also love the opportunity to just be a friend.  It’s also good to have a meal without having to say any of the following standard phrases:  “Don’t blow bubbles in your water,” “please use a napkin instead of your shirt,” or “the silverware isn’t on the table for decoration; it’s meant to be used.”  (Yes, if a pull-string Mom Doll is ever made in my likeness, it would have to say those things.) 

My friend and I just went out for lunch, went to Target, watched several episodes of Joan of Arcadia (a TV show that I have on DVD), ate chocolate chip cookies with ice cream, looked at jewelry and laughed…a lot.  It was a good day!

I took the day off from writing anything, so I thought I’d share some poems that I wrote during the week.  I’m still rusty on writing poetry, but I think it’s starting to come back to me…or not – you be the judge!  

Cliché (poem posted as a comment on jpcabit’s blog – July 16th entry):

She didn’t look before she leaped

And forgot that love is blind-

Quickly falling head over heels

Because a good man is hard to find.

She hung on every word

And held a glimmer of hope,

But left no stone unturned

When she reached the end of her rope.

He thought the grass was greener

On the other side;

But come hell or high water,

She couldn’t let sleeping dogs lie.

Nothing ventured, nothing gained-

But now he’s gone too far.

There’ll be hell to pay

Because all’s fair in love and war.

Pain

I see pain-

A collection of falling drops

Much like rain,

Steadily drumming on the soul.

Broken

Tiny fractures

Unseen by the eye;

Undetected by touch –

The surface smooth and flawless.

Damage underneath

Expertly concealed;

Tirelessly polished –

But broken from the inside out.

6 thoughts on “Friendship & Poetry

  1. Lua July 26, 2010 / 10:38 AM

    You never fail to make me smile- reading your posts always make me wish that one day I’ll get to have a family life as wonderful as yours and hopefully your humorous attitude towards it as well 🙂
    There is nothing like spending some quality time with an old friend, it recharges my batteries!
    And I love those poems- especially Cliché. Such beautiful words…

    • jannatwrites July 26, 2010 / 8:20 PM

      Lua, I know that one day you will have a family that will provide tons of material for you to blog about. And I, for one, can’t wait to read it!

  2. Kavita July 27, 2010 / 1:08 AM

    Hope you get to enjoy such lovely times with your friend more often!! But then you will begin to miss your family 🙂 Either ways, hope you have loadsa fun!! And the look-alike doll, hehehe…CUTE!

    Your poems here were very sharp!!! Cliché was superbly worded and rhymed! Pain was like WOW!!! And Broken was sad and echoing in my head!

    So I would say, poetry is definitely coming back to you alright… I don’t think it ever left you at all 🙂

    • jannatwrites July 27, 2010 / 6:50 PM

      Kavita, thanks for your comment. And the fact you liked my poems? Wow! They are not nearly as powerful as yours, but thank you for the kind words,,,

  3. jpcabit July 27, 2010 / 11:42 AM

    Great cliché poem. It’ll get you kicked out of the bad poetry society…but honestly it’s a great poem!

    • jannatwrites July 27, 2010 / 6:50 PM

      If this does get me kicked out, I’ve got plenty of other suitable material 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

