Pounding On My Keyboard (Query Song)

Last week, I was singing (I use this term loosely) along to Taylor Swift’s song, Teardrops on my Guitar, as it played on the radio.  For some reason, the words for a query rejection song came to me during the chorus.  That’s when I got the idea to write them down and make up a couple of verses too.  Most of the time when I change words to songs, it’s to make it about my kids and something we’re doing at the time because it makes them laugh.  (They think I’m crazy and weird, so I have a reputation to live up to.)  There’s just one problem with this whole process:  I don’t sing very well.  I sing anyway because I like to, but not in front of people.

In honor of the rejections I received today, the words to the query song are included below.  WordPress requires a space upgrade with a yearly fee to add audio, so you’ve been spared the pain of listening to it.  *Whew*

Pounding On My Keyboard

(melody of Teardrops On My Guitar by Taylor Swift)

Query rejections, I try to laugh so I won’t scream

And breakdown, or hit “reply”, or something else embarrassing

Then there’s the chosen few, the represented ones

Oh, do they even know how lucky they really are?

Query rejections, I pour my heart out in email

Say a prayer, then click send and get a bunch of “not for me”s

I always hope for “yes”, but so far get a “no”

And still I try again, another agent even though

     CHORUS

     My rejections cause the pounding on my keyboard

     Still hope remains and keeps me

     Waiting on my email guard

     I see mail in my box, can’t avoid it – I click anyway

Tomorrow’s a new day, a chance to finally shine

When I could get my break, with any hope before I cry

     CHORUS

My resolve shaken up, now I think that I suck

Yet this dream that I chase will see me through…

Query rejections, I try to laugh so I won’t scream

5 thoughts on “Pounding On My Keyboard (Query Song)

  1. jpcabit July 20, 2010 / 6:13 AM

    OH YES, THAT IS SO TRUUUUUE!!!

    I feel the same way. When an email shows up in my box, I pray, then dive into it and click it. My eyes involuntarily scan down sometimes, until they hit that word—“unfortunately.” UNFORTUNATELY, I DON’T FEEL AS EXCITED ABOUT THIS AS I SHOULD. UNFORTUNATELY, I DON’T THINK I’M THE BEST AGENT. UNFORTUNATELY, YOUR MANUSCRIPT DOES NOT SEEM TO FIT OUR NEEDS RIGHT NOW.

    When will they say yes?

    Why do guys get to hear yes
    when they offer a girl a diamond ring
    but I keep hearing too many no’s
    when I ask this one simple thing

    • jannatwrites July 20, 2010 / 8:05 PM

      Too funny…I’ve noticed ‘unfortunately’ on most of them too. I got one back that just said ‘not for me, thanks.’ I think I like that better than the bunch of garbage they put in there to soften the blow. (Although, there are several that are no reply = no; I like this the least). I guess I can’t be pleased, now can I?

      • jpcabit July 21, 2010 / 5:37 AM

        I got one that was literally one line long too! And yes, it was the “Not for me, thanks,” kind. I guess it gets to the point better than, “Thank you for your recent submission…” and dragging it out…

  2. Melissa January 25, 2011 / 7:57 AM

    This made me laugh out loud – but in a good way?

    I’m still attempting to cruise through my second novel (first was NOT queryable. Query ready? Query approved?), so I have yet to hit this phase – but now I’d like to save these words for that very day I hit send.

    • jannatwrites January 25, 2011 / 7:40 PM

      I’m glad you liked it, Melissa. It’s funny because when I first queried, I was on edge. Now, I just don’t care 🙂 (Well, I care, but I’m just not wasting energy worrying about it.)

      Thanks for stopping by!

Got an opinion? Share it!

