Where’s the Excitement? (Adulthood Killed It)

Just to let those know who check my blog regularly, I may not have posts for the next week or two because of vacation and family visits.  I haven’t given up blogging, but can’t commit to posting when my schedule is out of whack.

I like the idea of vacation, but invariably, I get stressed out and cranky because everything is so much more difficult away from home.  In the spirit of trying to get everything pulled together for vacation, I thought I’d list a few things my kids are excited about, followed by my not-so-enthusiastic takes on them.

Kids say:  “Yay!  We get to sleep in a hotel”

I think:  Great.  We have to sleep in a hotel bed.  I’m bringing my own pillow.  I hope they don’t have bed bugs – and, please, let the bed be comfortable.  Oh yeah, I’ll choose to believe they really did wash the sheets.

Kids say: “Sweeeeet, we get to stay up late!”

I think:  Oh, no.  They will probably miss bedtime, but they will still wake up at the crack of dawn.  Looks like the vacation forecast calls for mostly cranky with a chance of pouty.  And the kids might be fussy too 🙂

Kids say:  “We get to eat at restaurants every day!”

I think:  I’d better pack my loose pants because after eating out every day, I’m sure I’ll bring home at least five extra pounds.

Kids say:  “I can’t wait to fly on an airplane!”

I think:  I can.

What are your thoughts on vacation?  Do you have child-like enthusiasm or is it just another chore?  Or are you somewhere in between?

10 thoughts on “Where’s the Excitement? (Adulthood Killed It)

  1. 2blu2btru June 25, 2010 / 9:16 PM

    I have child-like enthusiasm. This is hardly surprising, as I have no children and I’m the size of a preteen (almost five feet tall :D). I love Doubletree–big comfy bed, nice flat screen, mahogany furniture. I love being able to see new things and explore. A change of scenery is always nice. Since I usually go alone, however, I guess it’s different.

    • jannatwrites June 25, 2010 / 10:14 PM

      That’s so cool! I wish I embraced it that much and could be more adventurous.

  2. Lua June 26, 2010 / 11:27 AM

    I couldn’t agree more about the hotel beds- they are uncomfortable! And eating at a restaurant every night means five extra pounds that I can definitely live without 🙂
    But vacation also means having all this time to just read & write! My friends get a little annoyed, but they are used to it by now…
    Enjoy your vacation and be safe! 🙂

    • jannatwrites June 26, 2010 / 8:48 PM

      Thanks, Lua. I am bringing my laptop and chapter summaries in case I can steal some time to write.

  3. milkfever June 27, 2010 / 9:28 PM

    I’m hopeless at holidays. I forget what to pack. But a couple of years ago, my son grew up and told me how to erect the tent, he told me not to worry, mum, when I forgot the cooking stuff, the sleeping bags, a torch and he told me not to stress when our hour and a half car journey turned into a three hour episode of lost. It was the best camping trip ever. These days fun is top of the list, the rest doesn’t matter too much.

    • jannatwrites July 7, 2010 / 11:29 AM

      I like the story. It just goes to show that the kids are a lot more forgiving of mishaps than adults are. I’m glad it ended up well despite the things that went ‘wrong’.

  4. chlost June 29, 2010 / 8:34 PM

    My husband and I weren’t able to afford much of a vacation for the kids for many years. Finally, we did a relatively local vacation week, and “STAYED IN A HOTEL!!!!”. They were so excited. We could only see the shoestring that we were on. The hotel had fleas-which we found out after we left and were all itching-and the car lost an exhaust pipe, and we made it a short week. When we talk about it now, when they are adults, they don’t remember any of that. They just remember a fun trip, their first hotel (although they do still call it “the flea motel”)and first real vacation. It’s the doing that is important. Have a wonderful trip, and I’ll keep my fingers crossed for no fleas-or bedbugs-for you!
    But again, it is always fodder for a story line!

    • jannatwrites July 7, 2010 / 11:32 AM

      Oh my, that doesn’t sound like a fun vacation, but at least it’s good for a lifetime of stories! Our vacation wasn’t perfect, but I’m glad to report it appears we’ve all escaped the itchy creatures. (Yay!)

  5. Smander July 3, 2010 / 1:44 AM

    I have to admit I have childlike enthusiasm. I am a terrible morning person usually. I have to hit the snooze button about a million times before I get up UNLESS I’m going on a holiday and then I’m up at dawn, packed and ready to go in a heartbeat. I love hotels (but I can relate to your need to bring your own pillow) and I love adventures! Yippy!

    • jannatwrites July 7, 2010 / 11:34 AM

      I like your enthusiasm! I’m usually up early too, but I’m obsessing over what I’ve forgotten to pack. I thought the pillow thing might have been a little strange, but I’ve heard from enough people that feel the same that I’m feeling a bit normal now.

Got an opinion? Share it!

