It’s all in how you look at things

I’m tired today because I stayed up too late last night catching up on neglected tasks.  I don’t function well on 4 hours of sleep.  Aside from nearly falling asleep at my desk during the after lunch lull, I was (am) a bit cranky.  I found myself thinking “whatever” several times today.  To me, “whatever” signals that I’ve stopped listening and the person needs to go away.

After an eleven hour day (from the time I left this morning to when I got home after my son’s gymnastics class), I should’ve been happy that my husband had dinner ready.  Instead, I was annoyed because he used an entire box of pasta and a whole jar of alfredo sauce.  If we were having a block party and planned to invite 10 of our closest neighbors, this would’ve worked out great.  Instead, we’re going to be eating pasta for the next two days because I don’t want to waste it. 

Even more frustrating is the fact this was an encore performance and the same thing just happened a few months ago.  Grrrrr.  Don’t get me wrong, even when I’m not tired, this type of thing really annoys me.  But it’s been 3 hours and I’m still dwelling on it.  That tells me I need a nap 🙂

 There.  Now that I’ve got that off my chest, I can be happy that I got to eat and didn’t have to cook or clean tonight.  While I’m looking on the positive side, I can report that he has learned something after 13 years of marriage:  he didn’t dare ask me if it was “that time of month”.  (no, it’s not) That’s a good thing, because I just don’t have time to plan his funeral right now.

3 thoughts on “It’s all in how you look at things

  1. 2blu2btru June 24, 2010 / 7:48 AM

    You are lucky; Mr. Perfect still dares to ask, as if we can only be out of sorts at that time of the month! Yet they can just bw having a bad day…

    I am the over-cooker who cooks for a family of four, even though I’m usually alone. I should invest in tupperware stock and recoup some of my money!

    Hopefully you’re more well rested today;I’m not.

    • jannatwrites June 24, 2010 / 11:19 PM

      Ha, ha. If you keep around long enough, I have confidence he will eventually learn…all it takes is him asking on the wrong day 🙂 I do feel better today, but it may be just the good vibes coming from Friday approaching! Maybe the weekend will bring you some rest??

  2. Lua June 25, 2010 / 6:28 AM

    OHG I’m still laughing at your cute story!! 🙂 Poor husband, I’m sure all he was trying to do was help but they always end up making matters worse. And then there is the “what is going on?!” look on their faces…
    “he didn’t dare ask me if it was “that time of month”. (no, it’s not) That’s a good thing, because I just don’t have time to plan his funeral right now.”
    He sounds smart. 🙂 My last boyfriend had to attend to his own funeral because of the this 😉

Got an opinion? Share it!

