Proper Planning and New Days

We just got back from an overnight trip to the Grand Canyon.  It was over three hours in the car each way with a night sleeping on a lumpy bed in between.  (I can’t wait to crawl into my own bed, but I just hope I can wake up and go to work tomorrow)!

We crossed our fingers for a cool down so we didn’t have heat stroke and we got our wish – and then some.  Unfortunately, I didn’t pay attention to weather reports before we left, after all, it was in the nineties in Phoenix, and how cold could it be in June, right?   I think it was in the 50’s yesterday and it rained – a lot.  Being a desert rat, anything in the fifties may as well be -30; it’s all freezing to me 🙂

My husband and older son did a six mile round trip hike into the canyon (I may never get the red clay out of their clothes), but I got to use my younger son as an excuse.  Not a good idea to hike into the Grand Canyon with a four year old.  There was still enough mischief to be had though.  I found myself saying, “No, don’t stand on that ledge,” “I know the squirrel is cute, but you can’t pet it,” and “No, it wouldn’t be cool if we saw a mountain lion.”  That’s in addition to the 20+ times I got to say, “No, I’m not going to buy you an ice cream.”  By the end of the day, everyone was tired and cranky. 

We woke up this morning in better spirits and blessed with more sunshine.  We ventured back to the Grand Canyon and enjoyed a couple more hours checking out different views of the canyon from various spots.  (Since it wasn’t at least eighty degrees, I did have to wear my jacket, though.)  What a difference a day can make. 

I learned a couple things from this trip that I can apply to my everyday life:  (1) Proper planning makes life easier (and more comfortable) and (2) If you have a bad day, no worries, tomorrow is a new day with a new outlook.   I guess I did learn one more thing:  if you’re going to the Grand Canyon, bring more money…and your own snacks because everything is expensive!

In case you’re curious, the kids had a wonderful time at the Grand Canyon.  They liked it so much, they recreated it in our family room (see picture below).   I love to watch their imaginations at work, but it always brings some amount of sadness because as the body ages, creativity wanes.  I pray that as they grow up, they don’t grow out of their imaginations.

Grand Canyon - Kaibab Plateau

I’m quite tired and not ready for a new week yet, but tomorrow is a bright new day…

2 thoughts on “Proper Planning and New Days

  1. milkfever June 14, 2010 / 8:29 PM

    Wow, I can not believe how STUNNING that place is. It must have been breathtaking to actually be there. Great post and photos.

    • jannatwrites June 14, 2010 / 8:39 PM

      Milkfever – Thanks! It really is pretty; I think everyone should visit once because the pictures don’t do it justice. Nature makes even my mediocre photography look good. One of these days, I want to get to the bottom and take pictures looking up. The only problem is that I have to get back out 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

