No Query Zone

The query thing has been dragging me down, but I’m happy to report that my positive thinking is gaining ground and I’m emerging from the Query Cave.  To help the progress, this post is a “query free zone”, which means that nasty Q word won’t appear for the remainder of this post.

Woo-Hoo! No Query Friday!

Have you ever used a word in conversation that reminded you of someone else because it was “their” word?  Yesterday, I said “literally”, which made me think of a friend who uses this word often – even when the situation can’t be literal (like, “I was so embarrassed, I almost died.  Literally.”)  Being a person who is regularly embarrassed because I say and do dumb things, I relate to how stressful it is.  Even so, I have never, on any occasion, come close to dying.  Unless the person ends up in the hospital ICU as a result of embarrassment, I just don’t buy it.

There are a few other words that I can’t use, because they don’t belong to me.  A past co-worker loved to use the word “mortified”.  Every experience was mortifying (I can totally relate), but now, I can’t use this word.  My older son regularly uses the word “sweet”, only it’s said with a few more e’s, like “sweeeeeet”.  I can’t use this word because I would look like an old person attempting to be young and hip (which would be ‘mortifying’). 

My husband told me that I use the word “anyway” frequently.  Since he so kindly pointed this out, I have noticed I use it – especially to halt my rambling when I realize I’ve yammered too long.  It’s a perfect break for the other person to take the conversation and run with it!  A friend mentioned that I also use the word “seriously” quite often.  Seriously?  I guess I don’t believe what people are telling me so I need them to affirm they aren’t liars.  I don’t know.  Anyway…

What words you find yourself saying a lot?  Do you recognize words that others use frequently?  Please share.

8 thoughts on “No Query Zone

  1. Brown Eyed Mystic June 12, 2010 / 12:11 AM

    Bwahahaha

    Well, mine would be “apparently”.
    Apparently, I am using it often these days!

    -BrownEyed

    • jannatwrites June 13, 2010 / 8:57 PM

      Apparently is a good one that I like to use it too. Thanks for sharing your pet word!

  2. Cassandra Jade June 12, 2010 / 3:18 AM

    Working with a lot of English minded people we tend to share words around like a packet of chips and when one of us hears a good word we immideately pass it on to the others and for a week or two we get stuck until someone brings a new word to the party. As a direct result I don’t find that a word belongs to anyone. Though I have to agree with Brown Eyed Mystic in that I tend to say apparently a lot. I also find myself overusing exemplary lately.

    • jannatwrites June 13, 2010 / 9:00 PM

      Exemplary is a good one. I can’t say I use that one too often. But who knows, since you mentioned it, maybe I will now!

  3. 2blu2btru June 12, 2010 / 2:50 PM

    I use seriously a lot as well. One word I know someone uses frequently but it’s not really a word: irregardless. There’s also “conversate.” Real words?

    • jannatwrites June 13, 2010 / 9:04 PM

      Yay! I have seriously company! Curiosity got the better of me, so I had to check: Dictionary.com notes conversate is a slang term and irregardless isn’t really a proper word, but is used in casual writing.

  4. Lua June 14, 2010 / 1:58 AM

    Haha love this post! I do associate words with people- it’s a weird thing!
    I use the word ‘really’ a lot…
    But I mean really, who doesn’t? 😉

    • jannatwrites June 14, 2010 / 8:30 PM

      Lua – As long as you don’t use ‘like’ before ‘really’, I think you’re okay! I really like the word really too 🙂
      Sometimes I use it as a question instead of ‘Seriously’? to shake things up a little.

Got an opinion? Share it!

