Query Tone Deaf?

This post is sponsored by FRUSTRATION…and DETERMINATION

I’m convinced my query is going to drive me crazy.  That is, if it hasn’t already.  For the last week or so, I’ve been writing and revising my query based on peer review comments.  (I’ve actually been working on it since February).  I want to stay upbeat, but right now, I’m losing the battle.  It’s hard to maintain a positive outlook when two words sum it up:  I suck.

No voice, too clinical, too much info, not enough plot – I’ve heard it all and rewritten in an effort to fix – breaking something else in the process.  A dog chasing his tail on a freshly waxed floor makes more progress than me.

I think I might be query tone deaf.  I thought all of my drafts were good, now I’m to the point I wouldn’t recognize good if it pinched me on the cheek.  I’ve read many “successful” queries online and some leave me shaking my head because I don’t think they’re that great at all.  Some have rhetorical questions (which, by most accounts, is a query “don’t”), others are long and rambling, still others are just a bunch of vague cliché-ish statements that leave me without a sense of what the story is about.  But, they are successful because someone liked them enough the represent and eventually sell the book. 

This one thought is the single shred of hope that keeps me going:  even though I suck, someone out there might give me a chance anyway.  (Then, at least for a fleeting moment, I can think I don’t suck…as bad).

2 thoughts on “Query Tone Deaf?

  1. chlost June 11, 2010 / 7:42 PM

    You obviously don’t suck, because this blog has great writing. I don’t know you….but your comments here sound as though you are thinking it to death. Sometimes it is a leap of faith. I haven’t done it, but I did send in a short piece to a literary magazine. Haven’t heard back,and likely will hear nothing or a reject. But that’s not the end of the world. I got it to the point that I just said “Im sending it.” I don’t know if that will work for you or not.

    Good luck!

    • jannatwrites June 11, 2010 / 9:24 PM

      Chlost – you don’t know be, but you nailed it, all right! I AM overthinking it, because that’s what I do about everything. It drives me nuts! I’m afraid I’m striving for perfection and that’s a goal that cannot be obtained on such a subjective piece. I’ve got a couple of friends looking at what I hope will be “the one.” If they don’t find obvious flaws and I still like it when I read it a few days from now, I’m going with it. Thanks for your support and advice. I appreciate it!

Got an opinion? Share it!

