I Am Who I Am, Because I Am

The last few days have consisted of a whole lot of working and reworking my query and synopsis.  It’s such a frustrating process for me!  The only reason I didn’t call it quits is I hate to waste anything – especially time.  I’ve come this far, so I can’t quit now.

I usually only write at night after everyone’s in bed, but his weekend, I did some writing during the day (I’ll be honest:  my brain and late nights really shouldn’t go together).  My husband was almost as bad as the kids in his demands on my attention.  He doesn’t get why it’s taking me so long to “do my book thing.”  He doesn’t understand the concept of writing and rewriting, changing sentence structure and checking punctuation until a phrase gets the right rhythm.  It’s strange to him how I focus on the little details and my brain won’t let it go until I get it figured out.

Whether you call it determination, persistence, perseverance or just an attraction to fix things that aggravate me, it’s the same trait that dragged me through physics in high school, even though I still don’t understand half of what they tried to teach me.  It’s the characteristic that made me work for hours on end to get the Rubik’s cube back where all the sides were solid colors again (okay, I never did get that one…I finally peeled the stickers off and moved them).  He doesn’t realize it, but it’s also what keeps me from writing him off as a hopeless case when he does his thoughtless “man” things.  He should be grateful, but I’m sure he hasn’t a clue (that’s one of the “man” things I’m referring to). 🙂

2 thoughts on “I Am Who I Am, Because I Am

  1. Brown Eyed Mystic June 7, 2010 / 8:45 PM

    Lol, I had a good laugh when I read you.
    Okay, not in a mean way though. I do understand the perseverance, beady-eyed and detailed aspect of yours, really.

    Ditto in my case: husbands never get it, do they? Mine will start almost throwing kiddish little tantrums if he comes from work and sees me with my writing (or reading). I have to leave everything aside to be with him :), and make room for the left-overs in the last awake hour of my day (after he is asleep, of course!) 😉

    -BrownEyed

    • jannatwrites June 7, 2010 / 11:10 PM

      BrownEyed-

      We do seem to have a lot in common! It’s almost like they’re jealous of words. Weird. I get a lot of the “Are you made at me?” or “Why are you not talking to me?” when I read. Of course, I have no clue what he’s talking about because I’m absorbed in the book. That’s okay though…he doesn’t understand my passion with writing and I don’t relate to his passion for golf!

Got an opinion? Share it!

