I’ve Gone Revision Mad

I’m compiling a list of agents to query.  It’s a nice break from the rounds of revisions on my manuscript while a friend is reading it.  Crossing my fingers she’ll still be a friend when she’s done 🙂

Speaking of the manuscript, it’s good I’m taking a little time away from it.  You see, we were spending so much time together; it was beginning to strain our relationship.  I felt like I couldn’t go anywhere or do anything without the guilt and the questions.  You know, “shouldn’t you be polishing right now?” or “do you think the plot is twisty enough?” or “are you sure you combed all of the typos out?”

I couldn’t take the pressure anymore, so I had to get away.  You can still be committed and have time apart, right?  I’ll be honest:  we’ve spent so much time together, I was starting to get tired of the manuscript and my mind wandered to other ideas.

 I didn’t mean for it to go this far so fast, but now, I’m a couple chapters into a new idea.  I’m sorry, but I think I need to explore other manuscripts.  No, it’s not you…it’s me.

8 thoughts on “I’ve Gone Revision Mad

  1. Lua June 2, 2010 / 6:33 AM

    Best of luck with querying! And I know exactly what you mean by ‘guilt’- I’m revising my manuscript right now and whenever I’m not revising I feel terrible… We’re at that point in our relationship where any moment we spend apart is a moment gone to waist! 🙂

    • jannatwrites June 2, 2010 / 7:59 PM

      Lua- thanks for your response. Strange, but oddly it helps just to know someone else totally gets where you are!

  2. 2blu2btru June 2, 2010 / 1:02 PM

    I’ve not finished my novel, but I’ve done several revisions on short stories and poems. It always makes the work feel fresher, and I have enough distance from it to really see some of the glaring holes/mistakes I kept auto-correcting in my mind when I was still actively working it.

    I sometimes struggle with moving on, but I don’t want to let a good idea wither on the vine either. If the story is more or less complete and someone else’s eyes are on it at the moment, dabbling elsewhere brings back my enthusiasm for writing.

    Love the posts. I’m adding you to my blogroll, one of the first writing centered ones on it. I tend to find them tedious, but your blog is well done 😀

    • jannatwrites June 2, 2010 / 8:01 PM

      2blu – I actually have a notebook where I keep my ideas on life support until I get to them, but sometimes I can’t wait…

      I’m glad you like the posts, and thanks for adding me to your blogroll; that’s a real compliment.

  3. chlost June 2, 2010 / 1:57 PM

    Moving on can be good for both of you. Don’t beat up on it for a while, and you may feel differently about it after you have tried another.
    Truly, best wishes on the query and the new project!

    • jannatwrites June 2, 2010 / 8:02 PM

      Chlost – Thanks for your thoughts. As always, you have kind words that encourage me to keep at it.

  4. milkfever June 3, 2010 / 6:06 PM

    A little break might be just what you both need. You’ll come back to it with a fresh perspective and grow to love each other again. 🙂

    • jannatwrites June 3, 2010 / 9:52 PM

      Milkfever- thanks for the words of wisdom (possibly from someone who’s been here??)

Got an opinion? Share it!

