Killing Trees – I’m So Sorry…

Well, I’ve finished another read through of my novel.  I’d love to tell you what number I’m up to, but I’ve lost track.

This time, I reviewed a paper copy (this is my second time printing).  I’m a little disappointed in myself because I thought it looked good…until I saw it on paper.  That’s when the good ‘ol red pen got a workout.  There may have been a handful of pages that survived unscathed.  I had missing quotes, bad sentence structure and odd punctuation.  I also noticed that some of my chapters had similar first sentences, which is easier to find on paper because I can flip back to check without losing my place.  All disturbing, since I thought it looked good.

While I’m not a fan of wasting paper (or anything else, for that matter), for me, it’s necessary when working on my manuscript.  I did expand the margins and print single spaced to ease my conscience.  For some reason, I don’t see errors on a computer screen. 

 Is it just me, or does anyone else have this problem?  Have you been able to give up paper copies?  If so, please share your secrets!

3 thoughts on “Killing Trees – I’m So Sorry…

  1. Cassandra Jade May 28, 2010 / 11:40 PM

    No – I have to have a paper copy. After the first draft I print it and scribble all over it. That’s when I decide if it is worth a second draft or whether the whole project needs to be rethought. I also print a paper copy once I’ve done about three more edits/rewrites and think it is ‘done’. Paper is jsut easier to work with, less hard on the eyes, and the red pen can be very satisfying – far more so than highlighting on screen.

  2. 2blu2btru May 29, 2010 / 5:41 AM

    I have to print it out on paper. I breeze right by mistakes in my own writing on the computer (which is why my blog is often littered with them!). Putting it away and going back to it later helps, but not as much as paper.

    The company I work for (my day job) uses Shred-It, a company that recycles confidential documents. Maybe investing in a shredder and recycling once you’ve finished with one of these drafts would make you feel better about the trees.

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2010 / 10:08 AM

      Whew! I feel better now knowing that I’m not too wasteful and am not the only one that needs paper. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts.

Got an opinion? Share it!

