Fiction Scene Idea – Stolen from Real Life

Lizzie (not Borden, I hope)
Blood thirsty attack cat

Scenes in a novel, or even an idea for a novel, can stem from everyday life.  For the following example, I would like to thank my son’s cat, Elizabeth (Lizzie) for trying to kill me this morning.  (Okay, I exaggerated that accusation; she only aimed to break my neck.)

This assault came at a time when I’ve been thinking about scenes in my next book – mainly things that could happen to someone having an awful day.  

Lizzie weaved between my feet as I walked to the kitchen.  I sidestepped her each time, until she introduced a new maneuver:  she stopped and laid down!  To avoid crushing her (and subsequently having to explain her demise to my son), I stumbled over myself and fell into the wall, muttering something about a “stupid cat.”

Here’s where the light bulb came on.  My character (Lee) tells her friend about her bad day, where several things go wrong, including the admission that even her cat tried to kill her.  Of course,  when  Lee gets to the part about the cat’s murder plot, the friend thinks she’s crazy,  which is another part of the story.*  

I have to go now.  Lizzie is staring at me with a smirk on her face, and I’m sure she’s ready to finish what she started this morning…

* I can’t say why this is important to the story, or hint at what the story is about, because I’m paranoid that someone will use my idea and do it better!  And of course I’m sane and rational because I’ve figured out my son’s cat is out to get me.

4 thoughts on “Fiction Scene Idea – Stolen from Real Life

  1. chlost May 25, 2010 / 7:03 PM

    Hey- I thought of you this evening. I was at a presentation by an author, who spoke about her writing process, getting published, etc. I heard her speak a few months ago, too, but this was in a much smaller group setting. She is very funny. Her style is quite different from what I would do…..if I ever wrote a novel, that is. Anyway, she was talking about query letters, and it made me think of you and your 6 months of query letter drafts. Hope it is going well.

    • jannatwrites May 25, 2010 / 8:20 PM

      Thanks for the thoughts! Right now, the writing roller coaster is on a high; I hope to have my latest manuscript revision done by Friday. If my brain works, I’d like to have my synopsis done by the end of the weekend because next week, I want to submit samples for critique from other writers. If I survive that process, then I’ll try some querying. I hope I get there before the roller coaster goes down and I lose my nerve 🙂

  2. 2blu2btru May 29, 2010 / 5:47 AM

    Life does indeed give us so many things to use in writing. I don’t share overmuch about my ideas and how they fit into my stories, either; I’ve had a poem stolen by someone who passed it off as their own. Luckily, it wasn’t a very good one, lol, but I learned my lesson. This is why my blog is about everything but my writing ideas. Hope your idea works out well (and Lizzie stops trying to kill you!).

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2010 / 10:12 AM

      Hey…there’s an idea, you can riddle your blog with really bad ideas just to see who runs with them. At least your best work didn’t get stolen and you’re careful so it doesn’t happen again.

Got an opinion? Share it!

